We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel - poor feeling”
Review of Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The hotel sopposed to be 4 stars but the value is as 2 stars hotel.
the breakfast is very basic, I asked for umlet but the waiter said that there is no esss in the menu.
the room was very small but it has a huge balcony.
the bath room is very old and need innovation.

Room Tip: To qualify the hotel as 2 stars hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eitans111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed 3 nights st the Bay Palace. The location is good if you want to visit Taormina and at the same time be able to go to the beach for a swim. Parking is a little tricky, there is not much space. The cable car up to Tormina is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The restaurant has a beautiful view, food is ok, but not that exciting. We had rooms with large balconies and enjoyed the stay. This place is a good choice if you want value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Ok, so Bay Palace Hotel doesnt have a 5 star standard as i've read that many people seem to expect. The hotel itself is clean, with all the basic ammenities such as air con, safes in the room, tv's (yes they are small but nevertheless who comes on holiday to watch tv, let alone to watch full screen 32" bbc news if that is what other guests expected), a small fridge in the room (and although it has a note on it expaining that we were strictly not to use it for our own purchases, we did anyway and no-body took any notice), a nice clean shower, bath, sink and b-day! which was great to put the swimming costumes in and a lovely balcony big enough to fit two chairs, a table and extra space for a washing line with the most amazing view right across the sea and beach line. The holiday itself was more expensive than the previous holiday we had taken as a couple in Greece but Italy is more expensive anyway and it was worth it for the amazing views, Taormina town is definately a must, we went every single day, we spent most of our time by the pool (as my boyfriend doesnt wake up til around 2pm so i spent the morning by the pool) but we did go to the beach a few times and it was lovely. The road is windy with no pavements but if youre wary and careful you wont have any problems with it, however the driveway to the hotel is very steep so perhaps not recommended for the elderly, disabled or lazy. Overall, a great place to sleep for the night, and to laze by the pool in the day. Recommended.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for double sea view room - breakfast only
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anneliese_444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Myself and my partner stayed at the Bay Palace hotel for 5 nights which we were incredibly happy with. After reading some of the negative reviews we were initially a little apprehensive but on arrival we were instantly reassured we had booked the right one. We were given a room with a spectacular sea view and happily enjoyed our free breakfast every morning which consisted of lovely rolls, salami, cheese, cereals, fruits and beverages. The beach was a short walk away and we were more than happy to stay at the bottom of Taormina and take the cable car up to the town for dinner in the evenings. The town is beautiful and very romantic. We had some excellent meals in which our highlight was mussels followed by cannoli which is Sicilian cake - you must try! Our only slight problem we encountered, was the impatient / slightly crazy driving by the Italians!!! On the first night we were police escorted through the narrowest street imaginable in our not so practical convertible. We now realise why Italians have such small cars!!! So all in all, this is definitely a big thumbs up.... you might even get to sample a fine Sicilian peach as a departing gift by the owner of Bay Palace Hotel too, if your lucky ....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Monkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel during half term week at the end of May/beginning of June. We were on a half board package holiday. We arrived about 9pm and although we had paid for 7 nights half board, we were told that we were too late for dinner but a "cold plate" would be served to us. This consisted of rock hard bread rolls, a couple of slices of Italian cold meat and a couple of slices of cheese and a few olives. There was no dessert and no coffee or tea.

Breakfast consisted of almost the same and stayed that way for the whole week with no variety. Dinner was usually inedible and after 2 nights, we decided to eat out to sample some real Italian cooking. Most people around us left their food and those that we got friendly with all complained about the poor quality of the food.

The female staff in the restaurant were surly and unhelpful, and the owner of the establishment was rude and ignored us when we said buona serra or bon giorno to him.

The room was very basic with the smallest tv ever and no tea or coffee making facilities. There was a huge fridge with a notice on it that it was strictly forbidden to put anything in it - it was for the hotel's drinks only!

From the brochure the hotel looked like it was in an idyllic setting, but it was actually on an extremely busy road and you took your life in your hands when you went out at any time of the day or night. There were no pavements and cars parked on both sides of the road, which meant that you were walking out into the traffic.

On the plus side there were wonderful views from the hotel, and a nice pool which was always very clean but unheated.

When we went to settle our bill, the owner was very reluctant to accept card payments (even from a debit card in euros) and wanted cash. We told him we didn't have enough cash so he had to accept the card!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Picasso7745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

the hotel is located on the hill in taormina-mazzaro. 2km from a funicular railway to the Taormina, 3,5km to nice beach isola-bella, all a distance to these places you must cover by really busy street. there isn't posibility to go with small child or trolley. there isn,t highchair in the hotel restaurant. i think it is unimaginable in twenty first century :) in terrace where is placed a swimming pool is very dangerous for adults, so for children even more. the space between loungers and edge of swimmingpool is smaller then 0,5 meters.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Agniek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2010

This hotels only saving grace is the location view. It overlooks the bay & the view IF you have a sea facing room is very nice, with Italy just across the water.

The hotel itself is almost Fawlty Towers in both decor & management..........................hot water appears infrequently and when this is queried you are told impossible.................hot water is available all the time.

The rooms are small, poorly lit & laid out with the smallest TV's I have ever seen in a hotel & it took several requests before we could even get an extra pillow. No tea or coffee making facilities in room & the breakfast was extremely limited & they have no idea about boiling water & tea!! Noise was also a problem, with furniture being moved at all hours, the chambermaid even let herself into our room at 7.45am!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The car park is on an EXTREME slope & is also very narrow...................if you are a nervous or inexperienced driveryuo will not like this place................

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timjoe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#49 of 87 in Taormina
170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#65 of 87 in Taormina
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Borromeo Resort
Borromeo Resort
#61 of 87 in Taormina
88 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#32 of 87 in Taormina
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#63 of 87 in Taormina
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palace Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 114, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £49 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palace Taormina
Hotel Bay Palace
Bay Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing