We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly loved it!!”
Review of Bay Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Palace Hotel
Ranked #75 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I must write to say that my stay at Bay Palace was brilliant. The hotel is near to Isola Bella which isan incredible cove where you can watch the fishing boats. You only have to walk a little way along from the hotel and you can take the Funicar (funicular) up to Taormina (the town). The town is fantastic and if you stay in the town until late you can always take a taxi back to the hotel. I think it is better to do half board as you get a chance to sample local dishes. The pool is lovely at the hotel and I found the staff to be great. The room was clean and looked out over the bay. There is a train that runs along the front and it is a shame that I ran out of time to take the train as it must be amazing scenery. Bay Palace is truly lovely and not really a place to take children but as I do not have any it is a great place for me.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DorsetBakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2010

I’m writing this as I had read some of the reviews on here before I went, I don't think they fairly represent the hotel.

We arrived v late at night, and yes the hotel carpark was tiny and full, so we parked on the road, but bear in mind where Taormina is and you can see why. Most of the hotels are built into the cliff, on a narrow road, and that also applies to the 5* hotels on this road too.

The room we were given on the 1st night was on the side of the building (lateral sea views), and was pretty small, but we said we'd sort it out in the morning. In the morning the manager was happy to provide us with a much bigger room at the front of the hotel with a lovely big balcony for only 10 euros extra a night, which I think was fair (the initial price we paid was pretty cheap anyway).

Breakfast was basic but plentiful and typical of continental hotels, bread rolls, meats, cheeses, jams, the only criticism was it could do with more fruit. But the coffee was delicious!!

The pool was really clean when we where there (July) and there is a small bar by the pool, which was run by pleasant staff, you can get drinks, icecream, some snacks and the most delicious watermelon every for v reasonable price. We never ate in the restaurant, but why would you, when you can go up to town and enjoy the lively atmosphere up there.

It took about 10 mins to walk to the cable car that takes you up to the centre of Taormina (all the beaches are where most of the hotels are, and you have to get a fun cable car up the hillside to the town), and 10 min walk to the nearest beach.

To sum it up, the hotel is a great base for your holiday in Sicily, if you’re looking to go to Sicily and sit in your hotel all day, then this is probably not the hotel for you. If you want reasonable hotel with a beautiful view, that is close to the beach and town then I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Always_need_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Agoda Traveller
Reviewed 31 August 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank An Agoda Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Just got back from The Bay Palace and after reading the positive reviews on the site I thought it would be OK. The hotel is in a good location and has an amazing view BUT is on the most dangerous road, you dread the journey back there when you leave it. There's no lights on the road so once it turns dark you just hope that the mad Italian drivers see you walking in the road. The rooms are very basic, the staff really rude and unhelpful, the breakfast unedible and that was just a coffee and croisant. One morning we saw the chef having a cigarette while cooking something up..The pool was'nt cleaned in all the time we were there and had dangerous water filters in that were not covered, so they sucked you in if you leant back on one of them. In the rooms the towels are changed and thats it - nothing else cleaned, and the cleaners knock on the door to come in at 9am so they can get it over and done with.

Everything about this hotel has been done on the cheap. Never written a review before but had to for this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WestLondon Brac... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We have stayed in Italy many times and wanted to try Sicily for a change.
If you want peace and tranquility, this is the place, the pool area is lovely and quiet, no boom boom, just quietness, beautiful views and nature.
Taormina is a short distance away, by the fun cable car.
The rooms in the Hotel are clean, food fine, and the staff are very welcoming.
We had great fun and entertainment in the evenings with Luciano and his antics out on the terrace. The Manager Giovanni was very friendly and made our holiday so memorable.
All in all, one of our best holidays, only one problem, the road outside the Hotel is quite a death trap to cross , you need eyes everywhere, but apart from that ! a great holiday. Mel & Lu , Southampton U.K

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvaSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

First trip to Sicily but been to Italy lots of times including getting married in Sorrento. Bay Palace is a good albeit basic standard hotel, clean with friendly staff althought the food is not the best in quality,volume or variety. Fruit was in short supply too. We loved the views from our balcony & the dining room. Maintenance was variable, lots of dud or missing lights about the Bay Palace so it can be a bit dark as the nights draw in. Walking to the cable car is a challenge as there are no paths for most of the way. So watch out for the cars & buses. Non the less we loved it helped of course by two weeks of non stop sunshine.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prlblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Bay Palace Hotel. The staff there are friendly, extremely polite, and very hard-working. The rooms were an average size, simply decorated and extremely clean and cool. Each room has a colour TV and free air conditioning. Most rooms have a terrace, although ours on the ground floor at the back of the hotel only offered views of other rooms. One of the hotel's best features is the pool, which is a perfect temperature and always clean. The pool area offers numerous sunloungers, so you never struggle to find one. The view of the bay is fantastic. There is a clear view of Italy across the sea.

The food at the hotel was nothing special, but offered a good range of dishes. It was definately to a 3* standard. The starters tended to be a lot nicer than the main courses; traditional pasta dishes etc. I would not reccommend this hotel to a vegetarian guest, as the only meat-free option each night was an omlette. The fish is delicious.

It became apparent to us during our stay that Taormina was not built to cater for the tourism it recieves each year. A lot of the roads do not have footpaths. The main road leading from Taormina Mare to the hotel is the same - you have to walk facing oncoming traffic, which at night can be quite scary. I would not recommend this hotel to the less-mobile, or families with young children for this reason. It's not that bad though - drivers know to look out for you, and it only takes about 10 minutes to walk along the stretch.

Overall, we found this hotel to be very satisfactory. The location is good, the views magical, the staff extememly polite and helpful, the food OK, and the housekeeping brilliant. The majority of guests were Italian, but the staff all spoke English very well, and didn't laugh to much when we tried to speak to them in Italian! Beware the hotel manager too - he is a bit of a joker!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LauraPYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.7 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#22 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
406 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#41 of 87 in Taormina
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#63 of 87 in Taormina
238 reviews
0.4 mi away
Borromeo Resort
Borromeo Resort
#61 of 87 in Taormina
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#66 of 87 in Taormina
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Palace Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 114, 98030, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £64 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Palace Taormina
Hotel Bay Palace
Bay Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing