We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
250
249
73
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
250
249
73
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount etna charming hotel rooms are basic steep steps isola bella overlooking the bay spectacular views terrace town computers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We went for a week in June and at first thought we had made a mistake. The coach couldn't get down the slope so we had to wheel the cases down and then we were shown up a faded red stair carpet and wondered what else was in store. It turned out to be a Brilliant choice, views spectacular, staff charming and quirky, room basic but fine, good bar service with the ring of a bell. We had a garden room with large terrace although view slightly obscured by the garden but very peaceful. Somehow this hotel gets you in its spell! A couple in the room next to us were moaning about minor things at first but within a day or two they were the same as us and had fallen in love with the place. It was like going back to the 1930s like you were in an Agatha Christie story. Everyone we met felt the same. It was an uphill walk 15 mins to the charming town with huge choice of restaurants but some folk got a taxi. We discovered that you could book a shuttle to a private beach club from the hotel, it cost 16 euros for two people including transport there and back and 2 loungers and a brolly. Nice spot with good food served and friendly staff. Overall don't expect luxury but be prepared for an unforgettable stay. We will definitely return one day.!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank anniecm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Old world charm in a stunning location. The rooms were basic but clean, bed comfortable, good shower if not a little small and the room had plenty of storage space. Balcony overlooked the sea along with a great view of Etna. The staff were very attentive and someone was always on hand if required. Location wise was good for us as we do a lot of walking etc but it takes about 10 to 15 minutes to get into Taormina and this is uphill. Some people may have a problem with this. Overall a great little hotel with lots of charm and character.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nutzy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel; close to the center of Taormina, which can be reached in 5-10 min via stairs/small streets. Also ok distance to the Beach - we walked down to Isola Bella in app 20 min (25 the way back)
Nice breakfast at the hotel with a huge selection of cake.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank pnoertoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2016

A fantastic hotel which is unique, with a lovely atmosphere and very friendly welcoming staff. The room we had was the best in the hotel and apparently the most romantic, it gave us amazing views of Mount Etna from our bed and our terrace. Personally can’t fault anything with the room, or the hotel. The hotel garden with its many colourful plants and flowers, added to the beauty of the hotel. The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice and we would recommend their Wednesday night dinner and entertainment, with very good local speciality food and great entertainment from Luigi, which continued into the early morning, a lovely evening which we would recommend. We found Wi-Fi not too much of a problem as we were able to get Wi-Fi on our terrace. A superb holiday for a week in May and we would most definitely recommend the Bel Soggiorno Hotel.

Room tip: Rooms on corner of the hotel facing Mount Etna and the sea !
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile


We stayed here for 6 nights mid July and had a wonderful stay.

The hotel is situated in a great spot on the side of the main road leading up to Taormina and faces the ocean giving the most spectacular room views. From what I could gather, most rooms had either their own or a shared balcony, or a patio, all of which had the same brilliant view of the ocean, the bay below and Mt Etna as a backdrop - gorgeous!

The staff here are so lovely! The two Luigi's in reception and Sebastiano at breakfast were just so friendly and really made our stay special.

The breakfast is lovely with lots of choice! We didn't stay for the evening meal (which is either a Wednesday or Thursday) but the menu looked great and we did return in time for some music which was Luigi on reception playing guitar and singing - he was fantastic! Definitely make sure you pop down for that if you're staying during the week...

Taormina town is about a ten minute walk, a short distance on the road and then up some steps and into the town. We were blown away by the town itself, so beautiful with so much choice of restaurants, bars and shops.

Our room at the hotel was huge with a lovely bathroom, air con was great and the balcony was just gorgeous. We could regularly here Mt Etna rumbling away which was brilliant!

We would definitely recommend staying here - great rooms, location, wonderful people and great value for money. We will definitely be back! Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Kate_Callum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews