We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£145
Breakfast included
Priceline
£136
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
£131
Breakfast included
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
316
285
88
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
316
285
88
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount etna lovely hotel amazing views cakes overlooking the sea walk up large terrace cold meats steps town balcony cheese mattresses lido ceramics eruption coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Wonderful view and lovely balcony where you can relax and enjoy watching the boats pass by. Cosy atmosphere with nice breakfast and a warm friendly bartender who serves drinks in the late afternoon. Very basic no-frills rooms which are fine but lack nicer details, i.e. Shampoo/conditioner, decent cotton towels and bottled water. Overall a nice charming place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 625anneliseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I am in love with this hotel and the view. Staff was so friendly. Mr Gawin Peiris was the best <3 If you plan your trip to Taormina and want to enjoy the sea/Etna views I cannot imagine a better place than this one. The breakfast was delicious. Yummy!!!!! Thank you!

Room tip: If you want to enjoy the view, that's the right place.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AgnieszkaS933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 July 2017

This hotel is absolutely charming. Its like stepping back in time to an Agatha Christie novel. Everywhere you go in this hotel there is a view to die for. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. I wanted to book a return visit before we left!
This hotel only serves breakfast (which is continental, fresh and on a par with what we have been offered all over Italy), sandwiches are also available.
This is not a problem though as you are about 15 minutes walk to Taormina where restaurants are good and plentiful.
Be advised though that the walk to the town is all up hill but well worth it!

Room tip: All rooms have a wonderful view with a balcony or terrace
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Snoopydoopydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This really is a beautiful hotel. Rooms are decorated in what I would imagine to be typically old world Italian style, iron bed heads, wooden shutters etc. We booked a suite as it was to celebrate a special occasion and were allocated a nice big room. It had a double bed, sofa, 2 armchairs, a small dining table and 2 chairs. There was also a small fridge which was very handy for drinks. There is NO kettle provided in the room.The bathroom was quite nice, the only criticism being that the shower water pressure was very poor at times but still completely useable. Rooms have air-con. Double doors opened out on to a HUGE balcony which was shared with 3 other rooms. It felt very private even when all 3 room occupants were using the balcony. Each room had it's own table, chairs and parasol and 2 sun loungers. There are lovely views of the sea and Mount Etna from most balconies that we could see

Breakfast was quite nice I thought with mainly breads, cheese, tomatoes, cereals, fruits and pastries. Water, juice, teas and coffees etc were also available. My husband would have liked to have the option of some hot food, bacon etc but that was just personal choice. The 2 men who look after the breakfast room were terribly nice and helpful. There is no restaurant as such in the hotel. I believe they do snacks such as sandwiches etc after 4.00 pm but we did not try these. There is a bar but it is serviced by whoever is manning the reception desk so it involves a short walk to reception if you do want to order a drink. The bar was very quiet when we were there with just a couple of people there at times. Again the reception staff were very nice and helpful, especially the gentleman who worked nights.

There is NO pool in the hotel. We knew this when booking but would not make the mistake of staying somewhere with no pool again. We stayed early June and whilst it was not unbearably warm we would have liked the option to chill out now and again by the pool. A bus/transfer can be booked at reception to bring you to the "La Dolce VIta" beach. I can't remember the cost but it was roughly €10 per person for bus, lounger and parasol. The drive there takes about 10 minutes. It appears to be a man made beach with more of a gravel than fine sand. There are big stones and pebbles once you enter the water which makes it quite hard to walk.

Taormina is an extremely hilly area and so the walk up to the main square can be quite taxing! It's mostly uphill for 10/15 minutes and does involve 59 steps at one point! It took about 3 days for our calf muscles to acclimatise and we would consider ourselves reasonably fit!! I would imagine it would be a MAJOR issue if you had walking difficulties, bad knees etc.

The last thing I will mention is a major downside in our books. There is a hotel in front of and below the Bel Soggiorno which caters for weddings and parties. They seem to be either outdoor events or held in a marquee which is definitely not sound proof! A couple of nights the music finished at midnight which was not an issue for us but one night it didn't finish until 2.00 am.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 144Lolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Such a wonderful experience,fantastic hotel very clean with a definite sicilian touch.
The staff were great and nothing was too much trouble.We could not fault the breakfasts there was so much to choose from and the morning views across the bay towards Mt Etna made it so much better.The visit to Etna to watch the sunset was fantastic and was followed by a 5 course meal included in the price,be aware it is very very cold and windy you can hire jackets at €3.00 each.The restaurants in the town are plenty full and very reasonable in prices,the easiest way to town is turn right outside hotel onto the main road and about 25 yards cross over and take the steps to the top at the top turn left and straight on,the first restaurant you come to opposite the wonderful public gardens is very good and ideal on the first night if you are late arriving,we could go on but must leave some things to the adventure.The evening meal in the hotel restaurant which is only on a Friday is very very good and the owner plays the piano for your entertainment
Have a great time

Room tip: All rooms have sea views we were allocate a terrace which was fantastic
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews