We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
250
249
73
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
250
249
73
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount etna charming hotel rooms are basic steep steps isola bella overlooking the bay spectacular views terrace town computers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one week as we visited Taormina for a friends wedding . This hotel is charming beautiful and looks like a scene from a romantic film set in days gone by . The gardens are stunning and the views are among the best in Taormina .
We had a side terrace over looking the bay and mount etna .

There is a round communal terrace too that looks out to sea .

The dining room is gorgeous very Art Deco and simple yet beautiful .

The hotel only serves evening meals once a week , we didn't stay for that, however the breakfast is varied high quality and delicious , especially when eaten on the terrace .

The staff were polite and helpful .

The minus points of the hotel is it is on a hill and quite a trek up to the town , there is a short cut over the road and up 60 steps then you can walk up the hill , but it's still a 15 minute walk .

Our room was really small and our air conditioning was inefficient as the room was hot , bearing in mind there was a heatwave the week we were there with temperatures of 100 degrees .

The bathroom fittings have seen better days , our sink had a crack as did the shower tray .

All in all if you are looking for a charming boutique style hotel with old fashioned charm , polite well mannered staff and stunning gardens and views this is perfect even though it would have been lovely to have a pool .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank beetlenanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The view is to die for! Bel Soggiorno hotel got that glorious old world charm and you really feel like stepping in an old novel. Warm and friendly staff made us feel special. Already missing having drinks in our terrace while enjoying the view of mount Etna and blue sea. I wanna go back!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Henriikka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This hotel was a recommendation of a friend. We stayed for 1 week in July and our room was No 41, which was separate from the main hotel, down lots of steps. However, the advantage of this was that we had our own private terrace with table and chairs, parasol and 2 sun beds - not overlooked by anyone and no neighbours to make any noise!! Because we were lower down than the main hotel, our views of sea were not quite so spectacular at being higher up. Our room had air con and a fridge, which was a welcome bonus. The bathroom and bedroom were spacious with very high ceilings. Despite other reviews, we experienced no problems with our shower or water supply. This hotel would not be suitable for the elderly or those who are not very mobile. It did involve lots of steps!!! From our room, it was 85 steps to breakfast, 31 more steps to Reception, 29 steps to the road, and then across the road and a further 19 steps, a slope and then 36 steps to another road. From here you could either turn left or right for approx 10/15 minute walk to the main area of Taormina. Turning left takes you via the local gardens. Turning right takes you to the bus station, and the cable car to the beach. We also visited the Belle Bleu restaurant next to the cable car, on numerous occasions.
The hotel itself was lovely, with very friendly staff. Breakfast was served either inside or outside, under parasols with amazing views. Breakfast included lovely homemade cakes, fruit, cereal, breads, juice, tea and coffee. There was also yoghurts, cheese and ham and sometimes peppers/eggs/omelettes.
Whilst there were lots of steps, this is very much the case in Taormina, and most hotels seem similar, particularly on the level we were (between the beach and main town) - do not let it put you off, this hotel was lovely.

Room tip: Room 41 - no neighbours, very private
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaStanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Wonderful view and lovely balcony where you can relax and enjoy watching the boats pass by. Cosy atmosphere with nice breakfast and a warm friendly bartender who serves drinks in the late afternoon. Very basic no-frills rooms which are fine but lack nicer details, i.e. Shampoo/conditioner, decent cotton towels and bottled water. Overall a nice charming place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 625anneliseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2017

I am in love with this hotel and the view. Staff was so friendly. Mr Gawin Peiris was the best <3 If you plan your trip to Taormina and want to enjoy the sea/Etna views I cannot imagine a better place than this one. The breakfast was delicious. Yummy!!!!! Thank you!

Room tip: If you want to enjoy the view, that's the right place.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AgnieszkaS933
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews