We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
DebsnMark1967
Bolton, UK

Beautiful authentic Sicilian hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Aug 2017via mobile
Just arrived home this morning from a weeks stay, we stayed in room 38 low down apart from the main hotel lovely and private with sun loungers and table/chairs and canopy and lovely and private, no fridge in fact didn't meet anyone who had a fridge am beginning to think it's an urban myth ha ha met people staying in different rooms and nobody had one, it would have been lovely because service at the bar was very sporadic and often we had to hunt round the hotel and go to reception to get someone to get us a drink.
The walk up the steps to breakfast and the road outside does get wearing as the week goes on and I must admit to feeling glad to be coming home as no more steps (tip it's easier to walk up the slope outside the hotel rather than the steps) but the walk to town only takes 15 mins and isn't as bad as we thought there's 55 steps and once you get up them the rest of the walk is fine. Breakfast is lovely as is service and the views and the beautiful dining room made it a lovely experience every morning and it's 8-10am but they will do you an early breakfast if you are going out early on a trip. Check out is 11am despite Thomson telling you it's 10am. If you want a trip to la dolce vita beach it's €8 each for transport (3 times to choose) and you get a welcome drink 2 sun beds and a parasol excellent value sea was choppy and pebbly but there is a shower for cooling down and a lovely beach bar that serves good food. Choice of 3 times for return home 4pm 5pm or 5.30pm highly recommend just book at reception and pay at beach. Rory our Thompson rep was fantastic gave us loads of info and tips, we went on the etna sunset trip (fantastic will do separate review) and the godfather tour great fun again will do separate review. Can highly recommend the Bella Blu restaurant fabulous food and service. Loved the hotel it was a unique stay and the staff were lovely and welcoming and the views were stunning and although rooms look old they are kept lovely and clean and fresh towels every day but I probably wouldn't stay here again because of all the steps and lack of pool. Taormina itself is very hilly and lots of steps generally and the tours involve lots of walking/climbing steps too in fact my legs are aching now I'm home and we're reasonably fit (climbed Ben Nevis last year) so we are used to walking etc but everywhere you go there are steps ha ha that's the only reason I haven't given 5 stars, if you like a mini workout every day on hols then go for it!
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
£304
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    £257
  • Expedia.com
    £262
0.1 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£424
  • Priceline
    £391
  • Skyscanner.com
    £378
  • Hotels.com
    £424
0.3 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
£398
  • Hotels.com
    £443
  • Official Website
    £312
  • Expedia.com
    £410
0.3 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Free parking
NH Collection
£708
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    £607
  • Expedia.com
    £677
0.5 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£636
  • Priceline
  • StayForLong
    £560
  • Hotels.com
    £636
0.7 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Pool
Beachfront
Booking.com
£90
  • Priceline
    £100
  • Vio.com
    £85
  • Hotels.com
    £96
0.6 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£107
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    £87
  • Hotels.com
    £106
0.3 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
£204
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    £175
  • Expedia.com
    £215
0.6 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
£1,026
  • Priceline
    £847
  • Vio.com
    £832
  • Hotels.com
    £1,025
0.6 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Beachfront
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
    £475
  • Agoda.com
    £461
  • StayForLong
0.4 miles from Hotel Bel Soggiorno
Free Wifi
Beachfront
View more hotels in Taormina
Reviews (716)
Filter reviews
716 results
Traveller rating
319
286
88
8
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
319
286
88
8
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mount etna lovely hotel amazing views cakes overlooking the sea walk up large terrace cold meats steps town balcony cheese mattresses lido ceramics eruption coast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 716 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Spent two weeks in this lovely hotel. Staff are lovely and breakfast was better than I expected. Variety offered every day.
Views are amazing.
Some rooms are better than others, did not understand room allocation, we had a balcony room and were staying for 2 weeks, others had less nights and had better rooms with terraces and deckchairs.
Walk to town was better than I expected, the climb was steeped and easily achievable when we paced it.

Room tip: We had 4, not good for long stay
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one week as we visited Taormina for a friends wedding . This hotel is charming beautiful and looks like a scene from a romantic film set in days gone by . The gardens are stunning and the views are among the best in Taormina .
We had a side terrace over looking the bay and mount etna .

There is a round communal terrace too that looks out to sea .

The dining room is gorgeous very Art Deco and simple yet beautiful .

The hotel only serves evening meals once a week , we didn't stay for that, however the breakfast is varied high quality and delicious , especially when eaten on the terrace .

The staff were polite and helpful .

The minus points of the hotel is it is on a hill and quite a trek up to the town , there is a short cut over the road and up 60 steps then you can walk up the hill , but it's still a 15 minute walk .

Our room was really small and our air conditioning was inefficient as the room was hot , bearing in mind there was a heatwave the week we were there with temperatures of 100 degrees .

The bathroom fittings have seen better days , our sink had a crack as did the shower tray .

All in all if you are looking for a charming boutique style hotel with old fashioned charm , polite well mannered staff and stunning gardens and views this is perfect even though it would have been lovely to have a pool .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank beetlenanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The view is to die for! Bel Soggiorno hotel got that glorious old world charm and you really feel like stepping in an old novel. Warm and friendly staff made us feel special. Already missing having drinks in our terrace while enjoying the view of mount Etna and blue sea. I wanna go back!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Henriikka R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

This hotel was a recommendation of a friend. We stayed for 1 week in July and our room was No 41, which was separate from the main hotel, down lots of steps. However, the advantage of this was that we had our own private terrace with table and chairs, parasol and 2 sun beds - not overlooked by anyone and no neighbours to make any noise!! Because we were lower down than the main hotel, our views of sea were not quite so spectacular at being higher up. Our room had air con and a fridge, which was a welcome bonus. The bathroom and bedroom were spacious with very high ceilings. Despite other reviews, we experienced no problems with our shower or water supply. This hotel would not be suitable for the elderly or those who are not very mobile. It did involve lots of steps!!! From our room, it was 85 steps to breakfast, 31 more steps to Reception, 29 steps to the road, and then across the road and a further 19 steps, a slope and then 36 steps to another road. From here you could either turn left or right for approx 10/15 minute walk to the main area of Taormina. Turning left takes you via the local gardens. Turning right takes you to the bus station, and the cable car to the beach. We also visited the Belle Bleu restaurant next to the cable car, on numerous occasions.
The hotel itself was lovely, with very friendly staff. Breakfast was served either inside or outside, under parasols with amazing views. Breakfast included lovely homemade cakes, fruit, cereal, breads, juice, tea and coffee. There was also yoghurts, cheese and ham and sometimes peppers/eggs/omelettes.
Whilst there were lots of steps, this is very much the case in Taormina, and most hotels seem similar, particularly on the level we were (between the beach and main town) - do not let it put you off, this hotel was lovely.

Room tip: Room 41 - no neighbours, very private
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaStanmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Wonderful view and lovely balcony where you can relax and enjoy watching the boats pass by. Cosy atmosphere with nice breakfast and a warm friendly bartender who serves drinks in the late afternoon. Very basic no-frills rooms which are fine but lack nicer details, i.e. Shampoo/conditioner, decent cotton towels and bottled water. Overall a nice charming place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 625anneliseg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews