We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bel Soggiorno Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$479
US$457
Hotels.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Panoramic Hotel(Taormina)
US$209
US$199
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Diodoro(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$221
US$209
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Caparena Hotel(Taormina)
US$226
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sirius Hotel(Taormina)
US$246
US$239
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$972
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$160
US$135
Official Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Baia delle Sirene(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Schuler(Taormina)
US$367
US$346
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Continental(Taormina)(Great Value!)
US$505
US$448
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveller rating
185
202
48
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
202
48
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewsup hillmount etnaapprox minute walktraditional hotelbeautiful breakfast roombalcony or terracelovely hotelagatha christiesteps involvedsun loungersuphill walkcable cardouble doorsrooms are spotlessly cleantraditional stylecakes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 444 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Just back from a wonderful holiday in beautiful Sicily. The hotel is in a superb location with fabulous views of the coastline, Etna and extensive gardens. All rooms have a seaview and terrace and have all the basic amenities. The hotel was built in 1904 and retains all its original featues and traditional style. The staff are very attentive and welcoming. We shall definately be planning a return trip.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a week stay at the Bel Soggiorno. We chose the hotel mainly because of the reviews we read, value for money (many other hotels we looked at were extremely more expensive), and the wonderful views.
I had expected the hotel rooms and amenities to be basic, and they were, so no surprise there. True, they are in need of an overhaul, but then you would probably then pay the Taormina price tag. We had a room on the side of the hotel that overlooked the bay of Giardini Naxos and Mt Etna. The views are fabulous! The room and bathroom were tiny, but this didn't bother as too much since we hardly spent any time in there, but there were kept clean and tidy. The only thing that really bother me was the bed - I have never slept on a bed so hard and woke up every morning a bit sore and achey.
The Hotel's location is great and benefits from not being overlooked by any other hotels. It is a short walk into town uphill, so be prepared for some exercise, and it is also a 10 min walk to the bus station and the cable car down to the beach.
The staff are extremely friendly and will always be willing to help, even if service could be a little slow at times.
We did eat dinner at the hotel one night (they prepare a set meal only on wednesdays I think), however I would not recommend these as there are better restaurants within the town.
I would recommend this hotel, if you were not looking for luxurious accommodation (especially as Taormina is very expensive to eat and shop) and for the views from the rooms alone. The only sticking point is those uncomfortable beds!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldTraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

Stayed a fantastic seven days at the Bel Soggiorno. We had a lovely little room with its own terrace overlooking the garden and the the sea. Within a few paces there was also a great view of Mt Etna in all her glory. The hotel is a short (10 minute) walk out of town. There is a flight of steps to climb, so it may not be the first choice of those with mobility issues but it was great for us. Close to town but with the added benefit of absolutely fabulous views. The breakfast was a buffet-style affair with plenty of choice of the continental variety (meats, cheeses, pastries etc) and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. When the trip we arranged to go up Mt Etna was cancelled due to heavy cloud on the volcano, the hotel assisted in arranging a visit on another date with a local tour company. The photos on the web-site are absolutely accurate (not always the case!) and I would recommend this hotel for its location, views and friendly service

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 31songs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

My review of Hotel Bel Soggiorno

Pros - The amazing view of Mt. Etna and the sea from our balcony, the charming garden, free breakfast, clean throughout, free parking, acceptable level of service.

Cons - Low quality beds, basic rooms, tiny bathrooms, non working wireless internet despite it being an advertised feature, not many modern amenities.


My wife and I were deeply drawn to the lovely images associated with this property. The backdrop of both the sea and Mount Etna make a lovely view indeed. Upon arrival we found our room had a balcony with a stunningly beautiful view of the Taormina skyline. And I think stunning may be an understatement: Mount Etna, charming seaside villages, and the sea all just outside the door.

This hotel has some positives going for it aside from the views, like free parking, cleanliness, and free breakfast. Additionally, if you get a competitive price from the right booking website, the value can be good.

The parking area is adequate but a pain to get into since it's built into a hill and very tight space wise. But it's nice to have the option of parking so close for no fee. The level of cleanliness throughout was impeccable, the rooms, public areas and even our balcony were spotless. Regarding the free breakfast, it's a pretty good assortment of breads, cheeses, spreads and so on. But, the coffee is instant only (a crime in a place like Sicily) and the service is slow (15 minutes to bring out food when there was no one else in the dining room). Regardless, it was a great way to start the day when it actually was served, in particular because you can eat and drink on a terrace overlooking the most charming garden and the sea. Excellent hotel feature.

So, it's safe to say that all the basics were covered fairly competently; we had a wonderful view, good breakfast, and had a clean environment. But truth be told, there were a few issues.

Here are the downsides as we saw them:

The rooms are tiny and in need of some upgrading. Judging by the outdated amenities and poor design, it looks like they last got an overhaul about 10-15 years ago. The rooms are a great place to sit on the balcony and look outside, but the room itself doesn't have much living space or practical extras. For example, the air conditioner was useless for heat even after being on for hours, and the TV's were tiny with most channels filled with static.

The beds were really worn out and on the poor side. We asked for a double and got 2 twins pushed together (standard in many places in Europe, that's true) but the mattresses were terrible and uneven in quality. Both were thin and old and one was higher than the other, so it made for an uncomfortable sleeping experience for 2 people.

Also, the bathrooms are very small. In this small space they crammed a stand up shower, sink, toilet, stool, and yes, bidet. If they lost the bidet they probably could have put an actual comfortable tub in there, but they cut corners on thoughtful design and everything on the bathroom suffered to the point of near unusability. If you are over 6 feet tall, good luck squeezing into the showers tiny doors.

Regarding the internet service, it was a mixed bag. The wifi did not work, but they did have a hard wired public computer.

When I tried the wireless, there was a constant "limited or no connectivity" error, so we couldn't do any surfing. I believe it's basically a problem with the router but the owner was unable to rectify it in my stay here, he just kept asking me if it was OK which it wasn't. Also, the signal doesn't extend to the rooms, it just reaches the dining room. So if you have a laptop you have to use it there.

Additionally, while there is a workable PC there, it can potentially be hard to get to it, especially if the hotel is crowded - i.e. be prepared to wait in line. Also, just a minor point, the Windows OS is set up is in Italian, so for a non Italian speaker, it adds extra effort and time spent doing simple things like searches and so on since copy, paste, search and all Windows commands are in Italian.

In the end, I'd recommend the hotel based largely on it's wonderful views and grounds. As for everything else, you will have to deal with the basics and keep your expectations on the ground.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purewaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We experienced a magical stay at Hotel Bel Soggirono. The ambience was one of serenity & beauty, the views were breathtaking & the hospitality was warm & welcoming. Breakfast was delicious & generous and taken on divine terraces overlooking Naxos. You will spend much time on your balcony simply gazing at the beauty before you. The crowds in Taormina were extraordinary but Bel Soggiorno offered an oasis of calm.
We had some of the best pasta we’ve ever eaten at al Giardiano & the staff were wonderful - it's opposite the gardens on the walk into the town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Joan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews