We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Terrible breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Bianca Resort
Ranked #78 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location. Terrible breakfast.”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was spacious with a good sized wardrobe & bathroom. Shower was average. The view was perfect - overlooking the bay. The noise from the street was too loud. No chance for a sleep in. But why would you when you have a great breakfast awaiting. Or not. Fruit from a can. No fresh coffee - the waiter just walked away when we asked why they couldn't provide an espresso. Stale bread. Sugary muesli. The men at the front desk were very friendly & helpful (except for one). The guy at the bar was delightful & always had a smile for us. He made good coffee! The hotel is right next to the gondola which goes up to Taormina & across the road from the beach. Given the price the hotel was ok. Brekkie could be improved.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Taina988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    69
    42
    19
    28
See reviews for
37
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The view from our room was amazing! Overlooking the ocean and beach. Easy walk down to the beach and to local restaurants etc. The rooms were most comfortable and clean. Breakfast and Dinner were ample. Diner service was like silver-services.
Staff were most friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Troy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxos, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

room and half board for 2 nights was worst I have experienced

nothing good to say about it ---almost fawlty towers

steps up and down [in poor and some absent lighting] to get from room to reception and vice versa

Room Tip: not aware of one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lunchisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Pinner Middlesex
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The position of this hotel is well place being near bus stops and the Funivia for the main town of Taormina. The room on the third floor was a good size as was the bathroom/toilet. The housekeeper was efficient and effective and the reception staff pleasant and helpful.
What really lets down this hotel is the standard of the dinner food, it is, at least, very poor, who would expect such food in Italy? The only item they were really good at was Risotto which was well cooked and flavoursome and fortunately not served with vegetable which were always overlooked (murdered) clearly the kitchen staff need lessons from one of our British chefs. It seems that the same standard I'd adopted by some restaurants but that is heresay.
As for travelling around, we'll; the bus timetables are a work of fiction, the bus will get to the stop very early in which case you will miss it because you weren't there, or it arrive very late so if you were to connect with a train the train would have gone or the bus just didn't arrive at all. So often you are left with the choice of a taxi, not cheap and the drivers will not bargain, or you walk. If you are thinking of car rental, forget it! The standard of driving (and parking) is appalling, it seems that the local drivers have adopted the motto of the SAS " he who dares wins." The trains on the other hand are reliable, not to Swiss standards but acceptable.
Although, as s
Aged, the hotel is well positioned, an after dinner walk is very limited, you either turn left or right out of the hotel and walk along the main road to nowhere.
The hotel beach to gather with the pool is very pleasant but in common with most of the beaches in the area corse sand is thE norm but the sea is very clear and clean.
If you are intending a two week stay I would recommend a two centre holiday, there is not enough in this coastal town to maintain interest without paying 3 Euro each way on the Funivia to get to the main town of Taormina.

Room Tip: If you are in very good health and fit then floors 6 and above are the quietist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank De-ache-ess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

When you are on a budget trip, the conditions offered by Villa Bianca are sufficient, but it have nothing to enchant you. The fact that the hotel was full, confirm that the main criteria to choose this hotel is the best value for money.
The room was enough spacoius, but there was some annoying details, like the shower, which was pretty difficult to fix at the right temperature, or some broken tiles in the room and bathroom, the TV set with few programms (we didn`t used it), the bath which needs a general refurbishment.

The location is perfect to reach all you need in a max. 5 minutes walk, (Mazzaro Beach, Beach Isola Bella, the funicular to get you up in the town, small markets and bars).

As a tip, take only breakfast (which is relativ poor and repetitive), you have lots of good restaurants up in Taormina. And when you have a problem with the noise, choose the upper building or the side wing, it`s a lot of trafic in front of the hotel.

When you rent a car its perfect to get around, but difficult to park (the hotel parking lot on top of the hill is crowded and not always available), so you must park the car in the public parking at the side of the hotel where you are charged untill midnight.

We liked also the private beach where you get by shuttle bus and it `s not so crowded like Mazzaro and a little bit cheaper (16 Euros instead of 20 for 2 sunbeds and umbrella), but it is over 1 km away so you can`t get back to the hotel when you want, (you depend on the timetable of tehe shuttle bus).

in conclusion, when you don`t come with big expectations it`s a perfect located place with normal/average conditions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My fiancé and I stayed here for 8 days. The location for access to Taormina is excellent (cable car literally next door) and access to beaches is as good as it gets (all an unavoidable long walk down.. And up... Some fairly steep stairs). However, the breakfast is VERY poor quality, literally one of the cheapest set ups we've ever come across (everything was of the lowest quality available). The room was fairly average (view incredible but that option is probably available in numerous hotels). It had an awful bed (two twins on wheels pushed together which slid all over the place with any slight movement) and the staff were a bit hit and miss. Some VERY friendly and kind and some just outright rude. Also important to note the private beach and pool are 1km away from the hotel... Not actually on any of their properties... There is a shuttle bus that takes you which is reliable and frequent but it costs 8 euros per person per day to use the beach and facilities... Which we were not aware of and certainly adds up over time. We wouldn't stay here again, nor recommend it, unless you want convenient access to Taormina town and something very basic. Organise your own breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HoRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The only real problem with Villa Bianca is that it is spread over a variety of levels, not all of which are accessible by the lift. The view from our room was sensational, but it took 88 steps to reach it and for someone short of breath like me, that was a serious hike! We went with Thomson, and this company must – must – take into account access to rooms and people’s ability to reach them. If you are booking independently, be sure to insist that your room can be reached by the lift if you are worried about extreme climbing.

We found the staff to be pleasant and efficient. We stayed on a B&B basis, but they certainly spare every expense on breakfasts. If you are a muesli-cruncher like my wife, you’ll be fine, but otherwise the choice is extremely limited. There is nothing warm, not even toast, and the coffee more often than not was too strong, almost mud. They don’t even give you decent milk. What’s on offer is frothy skimmed milk and this does little to offset the bitter taste of the coffee.
Our room was liveable enough. There is no tea and coffee in the rooms or watchable TV unless you speak Italian, but the maid service was daily and she was very effective. Our sheets were changed every day and the bathroom cleaned to a high standard. However, for a hotel that claims to be a 3-star, surely a shower head with a wall fitting is not too much to ask? Having to hold the shower above my head reminded me of hostel travel back in my youth. Even so, the water was clean and hot.

Our biggest problem with the room was the lack of sockets for chargers. The hotel needs to realise that modern travellers come with a vast range of devices that blink and bleep through the night. We were lucky that we had brought a 4-way extension with us (pictured) and I strongly advise you to do the same!

Overall, Villa Bianca met our needs, but certainly did not exceed them. We were only a few yards from the cable car station, and the best café in town – the American Bar – is but a few steps away. The staff, the food and the draft Moretti beer in there were all superb. It rapidly became our place to be on returning from a day out, and a glass of Moretti in 100 degrees of heat is just sublime.

Taormina is expensive, so bring plenty of money, but living in Villa Bianca as a base is not at all unpleasant. Just be careful with those steps!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea-facing view and lift accessibility if you think you'll need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alanbrown489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Ipanema Hotel
Ipanema Hotel
#56 of 88 in Taormina
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel
#73 of 88 in Taormina
240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#58 of 88 in Taormina
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
378 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Vello D'Oro Hotel
#75 of 88 in Taormina
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bianca Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bianca Resort

Property: Villa Bianca Resort
Address: Piazzale Della Funivia, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#38 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Bianca Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Bianca Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bianca Hotel Taormina
Bianca Hotel Taormina
Villa Bianca Resort Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing