We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old world charm and grandeur”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Old world charm and grandeur”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We had a 5 night stay here as part of our 2 week holiday in Sicily.
This hotel seems like a throw-back to the days of the Grand Tour. It occupies a superb position, just off one end of the main street of Taormina (Corso Umberto) and has excellent views of Etna and the bay of Naxos. Indeed the location could hardly be bettered as it was handy for everything but very peaceful.The public rooms are all spacious and elegant. Our bedroom had a balcony with an Etna view- unfortunately the wooden chair I sat on slowly collapsed, much to my wife's amusement and I was not brave enough to try its replacement. The bed was huge and comfy, the bathroom roomy, complete with bath, shower, toilet and bidet. The TV was flat screen with numerous channels, but the very few English speaking ones were news channels, This proved to be the case in each of the 3 hotels we stayed at in Sicily and is a relatively minor quibble as we may as well stay at home if the standard of TV offering is a big issue.
My wife thoroughly enjoyed the pool for its length and setting, but for some it would be sufficient exercise simply getting to it as it's quite a walk (150-200 metres) through the gardens.
Our only meals in the hotel were breakfasts and we thought they were first class, with ample choice of cereal, fruit, meats, cheeses and cakes, though the hot choices were limited to bacon and scrambled eggs. Service was very attentive.
Reception staff were friendly and very helpful and overall this was a very satisfying stay.
I cannot comment on value as there was no price-breakdown of our overall holiday cost.

Room Tip: Ask for an Etna view (may be more expensive though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikebutler46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    256
    110
    39
    14
See reviews for
102
303
34
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 3 days in Taormina at this Hotel after being transfered there by Il Piccolo Giardino and room was spacious, bathroom very nice but the staff was not smilling at all, the breakfast was horrible and the waiters complained every morning about work and food was cold unless you had fruit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marzia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have just come back from 7 nights at this lovely hotel with my fiance and before writing my review looked at the ones from the last 10 months. What struck me is that the reviews echo my views and those of my fiance (not identical in every respect) on this hotel. I'll try to untangle the threads here:

Room - lovely, spacious, amazing views, comfortable and very big bed, television, toiletries, dressing gown and slippers all provided. Pillows not very firm (asked for a further one in the end) and quite lumpy. One set of curtains wouldn't draw properly but the others were fine.

Staff - phenomenal. Nothing was too much trouble and they were always happy to help us with anything we needed. They made us feel so welcome.

Pool - great length (25m) for some proper exercise! Views from the terrace next to the pool (not the one mentioned below) were stunning. As someone else has said, not the hotel's fault but there were some building works being done in the valley below which interrupted the serenity of the poolside on one or two days. Towels were provided but perhaps not quite as good quality as those at other hotels we have stayed at.

Location - perfect. A stone's throw from the Porta Catania and the Corso Umberto I. Most comparable hotels were further out and down quite a steep hill. Great for walking into town for shops/restaurants and cafes.

Cleanliness - the hotel was spotless and the chambermaids did a brilliant job.

Terrace - the hotel had a separate terrace which did not really seem to be used as far as we could tell but would have been lovely for a live band and drinks every night. Instead the paved area immediately outside the hotel was used (no traffic passing - the path is the hotel's private road) which had great views over the Sicilian coast and out towards Mount Etna, but was not quite as 'special' as a proper terrace - although closer to the bar and probably used for this reason.

Bar - lovely staff, great selection and very reasonably priced. Extensive cocktail menu!

Breakfast - great selection but as another reviewer has said, the scrambled eggs/bacon did run out and were not replaced quickly. My biggest bug bear was that there were some flies in the room every morning which landed on the food - the room was not open to the outside other than via the open windows and it would have been much better to shut the windows or to put covers over the food. Admittedly, this is probably a problem in 4 out of 5 hotels in the Med, but it is annoying when some covers would inexpensively solve the problem.

I loved the hotel with its traditional style and excellent service and would happily return. It is a hotel with a lot of heart and I thought it was lovely. All the guests staying seemed happy and relaxed. My fiance compared it with other 4* and 5* hotels we have stayed at in Italy and Croatia and felt that things could be improved in light of the comparative cost - a better outdoor terrace/bar area, better pillows and more attention to the food at breakfast would be all that it would take.

Room Tip: It was well worth the upgrade to a superior sea view room from what I can tell from the professional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank northern_pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Taormina is a classy Italian holiday destination with views up to Etna and a wonderfully picturesque coastline. The Excelsior Palace has the best location of all the Taormina hotels for the views of both the coast and Etna. The terrace and bar are set out for relaxing and absorbing the calm, serenity of the landscape (largely) below the level of the hotel.

We had two standard rooms which do not have Etna views but as we weren't going to be in that much it didn't matter. The room was spacious and the bathroom a good size with bath, shower, loo and bidet. The room was air conditioned and indeed needed to be controlled down to prevent it becoming a little chilly. There was a mini bar which was fairly priced. We had no problems with noise from outside the hotel but the walls could have been a bit thicker to cut out the enthusiastic noises from the young couple next door.

The food in the hotel was fantastic and the waiters were really helpful, especially with the children. If there was not an option that they wanted on the menu, they could whip up simple alternatives with no fuss. Everything was fresh, delicious and plentiful.

The hotel pool is on a terrace below the hotel and accessed down steps, through the gardens. The pool area has plenty of shade or parasols with loungers. We had no problems getting loungers at any time of day (no towels on empty beds!!). There is a pool bar and lunch area beneath the trees. Changing rooms and toilets are accessed down a few more steps.

Overall this is a fantastic, old world charm hotel, 30 yards from the start of the main street but off the main track and quiet. We look forward to returning.....soon!!

Room Tip: There are 125 steps down to the pool area but the hotel did offer transport to some of the older gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stuart-Herritty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

For the first time, we stayed 14 days at Excelsior Palace Hotel, after have visiting Taormina every year since 2007 at another 4 star hotel. The room was spacious, very genuine old grand style (no modern standard box room) and no complains about the bathroom. Very clean everywhere. The grand style was at the restaurant as well. We had half board, breakfast and dinner. The food was very good (gourmet), much better than restaurants in town/city. The menu contained all specialities from Sicily. Big tribute to the chef at Excelsior Palace! Breakfast contains everything you could need and plenty off choices, nothing missing, and the very best taste. The bar has wonderful view and elegant stylish, quiet and full mood music at the background.
Way to the pool goes through a marvellous garden and the pool view is astonished. The pool is big and there are a lot of sun bed places. We had two balcony with view at sea and “san domenico”, even at town. All personnel were the best I ever had experienced during my 27 years of travel to Italy. Polite, professional, endless kindness and nothing could be trouble for them to help you.
We will certainly return Excelsior

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EEBergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a charming hotel in a location that can't be beaten. So close to the centre of Taormina but peaceful with views of the coast and Etna. The staff were friendly and helpful and room were very clean and comfortable. The pool is lovely with planty of shade (although the walk back to the hotel is pretty steep, but I didn hear some guests get a lift back to the hotel). A lovely hotel in a beautiful place that i hope to visit again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xjumeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

The hotel was born in 1904 and is slightly dated but this only adds to its allure. The staff are so kind and helpful, particularly Mauro and Salvatore the two wonderfully charming waiters who made our evening drinks on the balcony so much fun.
The views are extraordinary, both from the balcony and down at the lovely pool, you could not buy these. Add in the best location in Taormina and you have it all really. A slight oversight is the lack of an iron for use but as this was our only quibble, you can take from that the wonderful experience we had in the Excelsior,
Grazie mille

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DINGDONGDEMPSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,699 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Property: Excelsior Palace Hotel
Address: Via Toselli 8, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel even to day after more then one hundred years its building is considered one of the most appreciated hotel structure in Taormina.Its architecture draw its origin from a context cultural and natural,Greek,Roman and Medieval.The Excelsior Palace Hotel looks over one of the most beautiful wiew of the world:Etna and the Bay of Naxos, the Greek Theatre, and the immense space of the Jonian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Palace Taormina
Hotel Excelsior Palace
Excelsior Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing