We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal if you don't have a car.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 28 October 2013

About 1000ft above the blue sea perched at the top of the town's high street this is an excellent hotel. Taormina doesnt do cars but there are buses and trains and a cable car down to the sea and station.
A long low beautifully furnished hotel from 1904 the front roooms overlook Etna but have no balconies, the back rooms have balconies and sea views, the shorter end facing the sea has larger balconies.
We saw the recent eruption clearly from our room. (We were also on Etna when it occurred)
Small adequate supermarket 50 yds. Excellent shopping. Lots of good restaurants although food in hotel is good.

Room Tip: If you want a view of Etna ask for a front room, all rooms appear to have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizandianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Great hotel except the food. Staff superb and the views from our room at Etna brilliant. We would recommend to book on a B&B basis and walk out for food. The evening fare was very poor.
Rooms to a good standard and the cleanliness could not be faulted in our experience

Room Tip: we paid a supplement for a balcony with a view of Etna
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a lovely typical Italian 4-star - the service was great (in the absence of any Citalia reps, who have all gone to ground) and the rooms were comfortable. We had breakfast-only accommodation and the food was good and a plentiful choice of both cooked and continental. WE tried dinner one night and this was good too. Its a shame the swimming pool (which was in a lovely position) and the pool bar wasn't serviced in early October when we were there - the weather was warm (abeit sometimes cloudy, sometimes occassional showers - but always warm) so this is only criticism. We paid a lot of money to stay there in October, so why finish pool service in september?

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed there at the beginning of October for four nights. The Etna view room was large enough but the decoration was dull and the furniture sparse. Rooms need modernising. It took me two days to prise a bedside cabinet from them. Breakfast was good and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: The Etna room wasn't a big deal. The mountain was in the clouds all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

The outside, and the views promised so much. Our triple room was quite small, you had to shuffle sideways between beds. The most ridiculous is the minute shower cubicle. Bathrooms are in dire need of redoing. After travelling for two weeks and living out of a suitcase, there was absolutely no possible way of getting an iron or ironing board from this place, I will never understand how this was such an obtuse request. Therefore I did not find the staff particularly helpful. Two things excelsior does have going for it is the lovely bar area and it's location.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Cottone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel has the feel of an old fashioned hotel but the room had all the amenities you expect of a modern establishment. Rooms spacious and we had a view of both Etna and the sea. Food and service were very good. Gardens were lovely, as was the situation of the pool (although it was a bit of a walk to get to it!).location was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggie276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Four of us went to Sicily with Riviera Travel for a week which included 4 nights at the Excelsior Palace. We had requested rooms with an Etna view but Riviera Travel's small print states that this cannot be guaranteed and we got two rooms at the back of the hotel. We had a view of the sea but at least half of it also ovelooked the backs of other establishments. with waste bins and rattling air conditioning units. My wife and I had no complaints about the room itself but our friends' was consideably smaller, as was their bathroom, and one of the bedside tables was missiing-rectified on request. Riviera Travel charge a £75 per person supplement for a 'Side sea/Etna view, (no balcony)' and although you can express a preference no guarantee is given. When we complained the hotel said R.T. had not inform of them of our preference and then went on to say, patronisingly, that the previous week a couple had complained because they had the reverse, which only illustrated that someone needs to get their act together. In our opinion there is no comparison between an Etna view (which geography dictates must be at the front of the hotel) and our's at the back and charging the same supplement (£150 per room) simply cannot be justified.
With regard to the food, apart from the main course, the menus were virtually the same every day. Vegetables with the main course were overcooked and tasteless. The exception was a buffet by the pool one evening which was very enjoyable. At breakfast the coffee was very strong and not fresh (not what we have come to expect in Italy) and the water for tea not hot, let alone boiling. Coffee was not served after the evening meal but could be bought in the bar. One last thing the electricity tripped of regularly when the toaster was used!
In our opinion this is not a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Insist on an Etna view (front of hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Terry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#15 of 87 in Taormina
582 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
1.2 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#28 of 87 in Taormina
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via Toselli 8, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £88 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel even to day after more then one hundred years its building is considered one of the most appreciated hotel structure in Taormina.Its architecture draw its origin from a context cultural and natural,Greek,Roman and Medieval.The Excelsior Palace Hotel looks over one of the most beautiful wiew of the world:Etna and the Bay of Naxos, the Greek Theatre, and the immense space of the Jonian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Palace Taormina
Hotel Excelsior Palace
Excelsior Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing