We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing Hotel, superb locaton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Excellent in all respects, half board is very good value & the food excellent, 2nd visit as good as the first

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobT48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2010

The hotel looks stunning from the outside, and the location is amazing: great views of the bay and Etna.

But then: after crossing the beautiful public areas of the hotel, you arrive at the room, which is NOT a pleasure. The hotel was built in 1904 and probably last renovated in the 70s: browns and yellows all over, walls are completely bare (and high), beds are dodgy, bathroom is tiny and very unattractive.

But worst is the air-conditioning: it stops working "twice a day" - according to reception, because the hotel is so old and the system has to reset itself during "1.5 hours". This was not true: sometimes this lasted 8 hours. Temperature in the room rose to 26C, NOT recommended for a good night's sleep! Opening the window does not bring much relief, especially because of the highway outside.

As there was nothing that could be done about this, we changed hotels after 2 nights (2 nights early). Luckily our travel agent was able to find us a much better place quite quickly.

Excelsior Palace really needs to upgrade if it wants to present itself as a 4 star hotel!! (in spite of a fantastic pool - which is quite a walk from the hotel, and impossible to access if you are disabled or have problems walking)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I stayed in room nr 12. I say this, because I know that for example room 13 had a new bathroom.
My room was pretty disappointing for a 4* hotel. The size doesn't really matter but the room was too old.
I love the historic environment, but the room has to be new. My bathroom was horror. Old bathtub, with al leaking and lime showerhead.
If I wanted to use the toilet, my knees crashed to the toll roll holder and I'm not very tall. I bumped my head to the shelves. It was a big no no.

My view from the little terrace was not really nice. I think below my the hotel staff stayed, looking at the clutter.

Breakfast was no good for a 4* hotel. I reminded me at a very basic hotel that serves breakfast because the have to, not because they want to.

The staff was very pleasant and friendly.

The hotel looks great from the outside and had a very nice character, but I was not happy with the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chantal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

After reading some of the reviews our expectations were low, totally unfounded- what a place!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcfarrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Riviera tour of Sicily.
Booked an Etna view room with (small) balcony. Understand that many other rooms only have windows. Got partial sea view as well, and the changing light & clouds on Etna made the choice worthwhile.
Hotel was quite classy & seems to have kept its standards since opening in 1904.
Food was good & plentiful; a step up from the Della Valle in Agrigento where we stayed for the first 3 nights.
Drinks at pool area were pretty expensive, but offset by the view over the coast & Etna.
My wife had a dental problem on a Saturday, & the hotel promptly arranged an appointment with an English speaking dentist for 7.30 pm that night. That's care for the guest.
Ideally situated at one end of Corso Umberto, which was a delight to walk along at any time of day or night. Handy supermarket & Tabacchi.
Most of the sights in Taormina are within walking distance. Altogether a most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Location... location... great view, excellent structure, everybody loved this place. Next to the lifts, the main street (adorable) , the stores, restaurants. I will be back for sure !

Stayed: July 2010
1  Thank JundiaiTravelAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great location. No doubt in 1904 there wasn't the motorway spewing out of the tunnel, but there you go. Look higher and there's Etna.

The garden/park and the pool are just about the most magnificent you can find anywhere. Stroll down through the gorgeous park to the pool, lack back up and you can see Castelmolo high in the crags, look down at the end of the pool and there's a virtual cliff drop down to the sea below.

LOcation is also good in that you can be in the town by walking a 100 yards or so, although in the hotel you can't really notice this.

The downer is that dining is in the basement, although a well appointed room with good staff, and a pretty decent 4 course menu changing daily with some choice. I stayed in the Miramare a few years ago and there you can dine al fresco on their verandah high above the sea - great atmosphere although food there was not as good as the Excelsior.

Wine list very good indeed. I can't recommen highly enough the Tancredi from the Donnafugata estate. €28 a bottle, but sheer heaven.

Decor was absolutely fine and the hotel looked like an old well appointed palazzo (but obviously not like a Sheraton).

The aircon was indeed rather weird, shutting down at midnight or so. We are used to cool fresh air, so we always ended up awake when it shut down and had to open the window at that point, which increased noise from zero to noticeable, and allowed mosquitos to attack us.

Staff very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pierotlunaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,840 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#25 of 87 in Taormina
760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#34 of 87 in Taormina
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ashbee Hotel
The Ashbee Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 87 in Taormina
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Palace Hotel

Address: Via Toselli 8, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £91 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Excelsior Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior Palace Hotel even to day after more then one hundred years its building is considered one of the most appreciated hotel structure in Taormina.Its architecture draw its origin from a context cultural and natural,Greek,Roman and Medieval.The Excelsior Palace Hotel looks over one of the most beautiful wiew of the world:Etna and the Bay of Naxos, the Greek Theatre, and the immense space of the Jonian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Palace Taormina
Hotel Excelsior Palace
Excelsior Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing