We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab holiday”
Review of Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #51 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Wonderful hotel, Location perfect, very friendly, professional staff especially Mario who is the bar manager, food has improved from last year and the sun terrace fab with beautiful flowers, will visit again next year.

Reviewed by Lance,Siobhan and Michael from UK.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

The rooftop pool and sunbeds and a fabulous private beach with the hotel's own shuttle made this a good swimming and sun enjoyment holiday. The food and the staff and internet access were all pretty good too. On the down side the rooms were a bit basic and walls thin. The evenings would have been better if I was a smoker (in the bar area there was no getting away from the smoke) and outside after dark was the home of many mosquitos. Sept 2011.

Room Tip: They were mostly a little aged with so-so AC and quite three star ish. The desk staff were very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Lovely food, lots of sea food, staff fantastic, nothing too much trouble. Stayed at hotel Sirius 4 years ago and this far outweighed it in the food stakes. Downside is you need to get the funicular up into Taormina. Positive of this is you can get amazing views on the trip up, and you are close to the sea. Loved it:-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinytinaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We booked through Citalia and had a great time - the location of the hotel is good, with plenty to see & do in Taormina itself. The room was absolutely fine and the air conditioning was still on when we left on 7th October (despite other travellers' comments that it went off after September). We took our own kettle and there's a mini bar in the room. We went half board, which is unusual for us as normally we're self catering - the food was fine, a good choice each evening and a wonderful buffet on the Friday with Sicilian music thrown in. Breakfast was fine, plenty of fruit, cereals, boiled eggs, breads,ham/salami/cheese and wonderful Italian coffee. The staff were very efficient and provided great service. We were also very lucky in the other people staying in the hotel. All in all, we'd recommend the hotel and will probably stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: If you are larger than average, ask for a room with a bath & shower - the shower cabinets are sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JBtravel1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

The hotel is in a good position in Taormina Mare, with the beach close by but also access to Taormina via the cable car (2 mins away). We had a good holiday at the hotel but like other reviewers I would say it is 3 star rather than 4. The rooms and public areas were quite dark and needed updating, although everywhere was clean. We did find our room noisey, with the sound from the rooms above and also the plumbing! The staff were very good and helpful. Food was good but the seating arrangements in the dining room could have been better (tables too close together and in a row). The Gala buffet was excellent and we enjoyed the local musicians who entertained us. We loved Taormina, which is very picturesque, it was quite busy in August. We were pleased to have visited the Roman Ampitheatre early and avoided the groups of cruise passengers on their organised visits. We went on two organised trips (through the Thomson rep)to Syracuse and Mount Etna. Both had Rosa as a guide, who was excellent, and we enjoyed both excursions. The trip was a good introduction to Sicily at a reasonible cost.

Room Tip: 4 th or if loucky 5th floor rooms would be quieter and also have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trichrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012 via mobile

We booked this holiday with Citalia as we have always had good holidays with them NEVER again this was one of the worst holidays we've ever experienced the hotel was more like a guest house the only good thing was the view from the balcony
The food was terrible as for the bread all we got was 2 slices which were as dry as cardboard,when we complained we were given 2 slices covered with kichen paper apparently to keep it fresh we couldnt believe it.We went to sorrento a few weeks ago in a 4* hotel there is no comparison to this one it put us off from ever going back to Sicily

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vlrsaracino8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at Ipanema Hotel for two weeks during August 2012. The hotel is in amazing location, really close to the beach and the cable cars up to Taormina. There are a few small shops that sell general supplies and deli type food and some nice restaurants nearby.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and there were a few members of staff that spoke very good English.

We didn't eat there every night even though we were half board but that was just because there were so many other options of places to eat. It is well worth trying out some other restaurants if your budget allows. The food in the hotel is good quality generally but as you'd expect the choice is narrower than you'd get in a restaurant. Buffet night is the best range of choice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
419 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#27 of 87 in Taormina
1,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Borromeo Resort
Borromeo Resort
#62 of 87 in Taormina
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Bianca Resort
Villa Bianca Resort
#78 of 87 in Taormina
194 reviews
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 242, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £86 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Hotel Taormina, Sicily
Hotel Ipanema Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing