We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ipanema Hotel
Ranked #54 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Rooms with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel is dated but that does not distract from the superb position overlooking the bay in Taormina Mare. We kept expecting Hercule P to waddle by it was that sort of place. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble particular Christina in reception, Santos and Vincenzo in the restaurant. They were all friendly and helpful which made up for what at times was extremely poor food. Towards the end of the stay the food did improve but it was never particularly hot throughout the week. We got particularly tired of being offered fruit salad for dessert and tinned fruit at breakfast. Usual continental breakfast was adequate but possibly it needed to be covered especially the ham and cheese but not all of us in Europe are under the thumb of the EU.
The rooms were comfortable with large beds, bed linen changed regularly and plenty of wardrobe space. What made it special was of course the view from our own small balcony we were reluctant to move.
The sun deck and pool area when we arrived on Sunday looked as it hadn't been cleaned for months but the following morning it was glistening, whether they were running down as the hotel was due to close this week and were short of staff. The owner needs to stop resting on the reputation of his staff and get with it particularly by getting the food back up to scratch or change the chef.
The hotel was a 5 minute walk to the cable car and 10 mins to the steps which took you up to Taormina but be warned its strenuous but we did it both ways and it took us 15 mins.
The beach club closed end of September so we just used the facilities of the local beach. Plenty of activities await if you are inclined or you can just relax and watch others. Water is clear and good for snorkeling.
Despite the poor food we would return to the this hotel at the same time of year, when the resort is quieter.
I read reviews before we travelled out and some mentioned the noisy plumbing but it didn't bother us as we chose a room on the 5th floor. There were guests from all over Europe particular Germany and everyone was extremely friendly towards one another which made for a much more pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upper floor room around 302/402/501/502/503
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suesutcliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    64
    40
    11
    19
See reviews for
28
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was a disappointing hotel that has seen better days. On the plus side the staff go out of their way to help and to cover for the proprietor's lack of vision, the location is good, evening meals are good and rooms are comfortable. There are, however, just too many negatives, most of which result from poor management. Staffing is at the bare minimum so that they are over stretched and not able to provide the services advertised ( bar not open in the morning for coffee and closing early each night for example). While the rooms are clean, the sun deck and pool area are not, during our week the bins in public areas were not emptied, toilets in public areas had no soap or towels and were far from satisfactory.
It would be very easy to condemn this hotel totally but that would be unfair on the staff, it would however be justified for the proprietor who has no vision of customer care and exceptionally poor interpersonal skills,
Would we go to Taormina again? Definitely. Would be stay at this hotel again? Certainly not.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andyjlNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Not a boutique hotel, and far from a luxury hotel..this old run down turn of the century flop house offers nothing in terms of modernization and comfort. Although the rooms are clean, the plumbing can be heard throughout the bldg....very noisy and stuffy as well... Vincenzo in dining room was excellent. Bar mgr a miserable person...puss on at all times...seems this hotel caters to German travelers and all others ignored... TV in room is size of an American hamburger...radio was not working... Air conditioning fine...location fine. We actually stayed there because we booked late and all 5 star accommodations sold out...breakfast was fine and then1 meal we ate was also fine...as an American tourist we were not made to feel welcome or comfortable... Actually couldn't wait to leave.... Went down to isola Bella beach daily and had a super time with Carmelo and crew... Beso grazia and his boat reminded me of Gilligans island.... Also super restaurant in Taormina center called l'Incontro was fabulous. All restaurant owners should take a cue from Antonio the proprietor, on how to run a business and interact with their customers...A++. Mike & Gina

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Mike Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Sussex UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is in a good location. The rooms are fine with a nice view although rather noisy. it was as if every time anyone in the corresponding room on any of the floors above us used the bathroom the water pipes came through our room. We could also hear the showers of all the surrounding rooms somehow amplified - sounded like torrential rain. The pool is ok also with lovely view, although it is a bit cracked as is the tiling floor on the terrace. So this hotel is very average and no way a 4 star. The staff, especially the receptionists, are friendly and very helpful almost as if they are making up for everything else. Often there were only a handful of people on the sun terrace/poolside but we were told there were no towels as they were being washed. Compared with any other hotel (I travel/ holiday a fair bit) the breakfast was lamentable - poor choice and undrinkable tea and coffee. Think tablespoonful of instant (yes really) coffee in a cup. I asked for it weaker but was told it was not possible. It was pre- made in an urn I think. In a so-called 4 star i expect also to have coffee making facilities in the room. We did not eat any other meals there as there are so many lovely restaurants and bars to choose from up in the town. We would have had snacks and drinks during the day but amazingly there is no facility for this - just a bar which doesn't open until 4pm. I don't mind the overall faded gentility but so much could be better with just a little effort and the staff deserve it. Finally, although we slept with the windows shut and air con on (not a mosquito is sight) we got bitten a lot in bed. Hmmm...

Room Tip: Stay room-only and breakfast out
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fannygladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Before we went on holiday I looked at the reviews on here and we approached it with a few concerns. However, we feel all the negatives listed are petty, nit-picking or unfounded. We had a superb time in the Ipanema. The staff are absolutely fantastic and go the extra mile (kilometre) to make your stay special. The food is outstanding especially, on 'Ferragosto' night (15 Aug) when they laid out the most sumptuous buffet I have seen in a hotel in a long time. Yes the rooms are a little 'rustic' but, they are well maintained, clean and comfortable, the view of Mazzaro bay is beautiful. We did not use the beach club as we are not 'beach people' but, those who did reported that it was well-appointed and suitable for purpose. However, if you want to save money then we found the Sun Terrace and pool on top of the hotel was more than adequate for tanning and cooling off. Would we stay here again, definitely. Thanks to all the staff; Christina, Marianna, Santos, Alfio, Tino, Mario, the Chefs and the other 'behind scenes' staff for making our holiday memorable.

Room Tip: A room toward the back of the Hotel would probably be quieter. We were on the second floor at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable with good facilities. As all the other reviews state the staff make the place. From our lovely waiters Vincenzo and Alfio; the efficient restaurant manager Mario, the effervescent and efficient bar manager Mario and the receptionists. We were lucky enough to be on the 5th floor which seems to be the best. Our bathroom was fine; the beds comfy, a superb view and we always looked forward to meal time. The starters and sweets were always the best. The main course was on the whole very good - especially the Friday night buffet.
The beach club is good value at 8 euros per person (it is 10 euros on the town beaches) as it includes transport, sun beds, a pool, bar facilities and the sea water is clean. We visited Taormina a lot using the funicular railway which is 6 euros per person for a return journey.
The hotel pool is well situated on the 5th floor on a roof terrace. A good place to cool down!
On the whole a very enjoyable holiday with good memories.

Room Tip: Ask for the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

Okay.....it's an old hotel and I really don't understand how it's 4 stars. The location is good and the staff are better than some others in Italy and Sicily. The food at breakfast is okay. We were going to eat at their Friday night Buffet but after a drama with our aircon over night and having to change rooms then being offered no compensation we decided we didn't want to drop any more money in the place and cancelled, so I can't comment on that. Our initial room had possibly the smallest shower ever and u had to literally step over the bidet to get in, ridiculous. The second room was okay. The staff that speak english are okay, the Italian ones, rude. This is what I mean by my review, this place is ok. Definitely not 4 star, italian standards are weird, i would call this an old 3 star hotel. I wouldn't stay here again. Taormina however is beautiful, the beach is perfection and shopping and food are great. The hotel has a private beach club which again is okay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkpinkann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Bianca Resort
Villa Bianca Resort
#78 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Esperia
Villa Esperia
#4 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Palace Hotel
Bay Palace Hotel
#70 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Hotel

Property: Ipanema Hotel
Address: Via Nazionale 242, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ipanema Hotel Taormina, Sicily
Hotel Ipanema Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing