We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, reasonably priced.....”
Review of Hotel Isabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isabella
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonably priced.....”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly...... they spoke better English than we spoke Italian! The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and warm shower. The continental breakfast was nice, although the same for the entire week. The location of the hotel on the Corso Umberto was excellent and the proximity to the piazza, which is fantastic for people watching, was just a few footsteps away. This hotel was above and beyond our expectations, particularly considering what we paid, and we would definitely book a return visit. The only drawback is the fact that parking is some distance away in a pay and display car park, however, Taormina is a medieval town and so this is the norm wherever you stay. A plus point of this is you will never be disturbed by traffic noise at night.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C41GBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    151
    75
    27
    14
See reviews for
54
160
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is right in the middle of the action on the Corso Umberto. That said, I had no trouble with noise. The room was clean and decently sized. Breakfast was ok and the staff was helpful when asked. I booked this as part of a conference and chose it because it was at the cheaper end of the scale. It was about what one might expect given that.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ronbdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Hotel Isabella sits on the main pedestrian thoroughfare of Taormina in the center of the town. The reception staff simply couldn't have been more... hospitable, nor ready, willing and able to offer whatever assistance could render your stay more enjoyable. When we checked in our room was somewhat warm and the staff immediately brought us a desk-top oscillating fan to make us more comfortable {we'd had a long journey from the Midwest of the USA}.
My wife and I were treated to a more than adequate room on the top floor of rooms; ours was equipped with a king-size bed and balcony overlooking the sea in the back of the hotel. I'd likely recommend a back of the building room - if possible, as the Corso Umberto can be rather... loud at night. Our room was clean and comfortable, as well as a good value. The morning breakfast buffets on the roof-top terrace provided a more than adequate assortment of meats, cheeses, fruits, juices, breads, cereal, yogurt and the coffee was most pleasantly served. If you're looking for a central location, superior service, cleanliness and a highly good value, look no further than the Hotel Isabella, Taormina. If you intend to be out and about during the days and into the evenings there's no reason to look for more than this lovely/charming hotel on the Corso Umberto.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SavyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked this hotel to stay 1 night in Taormina. The location is good and the breakfast is ok. But the so called manager ruined our stay with his rudeness. We had booked a superior room and paid extra for this. When we got to the room there was no AC on, we switched it on and waited and waited……… The “manager” came to the room with some glasses we had asked for and we told him that the AC was not working. He said it took at least a couple of hours before it would work and he was sure it was ok because in was centralized and no one else had complained. We left the room and came back after 4 hours and the AC was still not working and we told the “manager “ again, and said this had to be fixed otherwise we could sleep there as it was a very hot day. We came back around midnight and the AC was still not working and to make a long story short, we told the night receptionist about it, and he did not do anything. As the town was fully booked we could not go to another hotel.

The next morning the “manager” was back and said among other things when we complained again:
- You could have walked away…… (the town was full and he knew it)
- What is the problem; I keep my room at 27 degrees…..
- It is only one day of your holiday that has not been good……

After a lot of arguing we got a 40 % discount on the room rate, he started at 10 %. So if your are in for an expensive bad night sleep choose this hotel with small rooms and bad light in the even smaller bathroom.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanneVetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for couple nights and staff were very friendly and polite, rooms very clean and decent size and fantastic views from the rooftop breakfast area.
Can't get past the location, right in the middle of the main street, and could hardly hear any outside noise.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VictorV89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIAMI
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great location, excellent service, if you can, ask for a room with a view. Breakfast is good, they even prepared a breakfast bag for me because I had an excursion early in the morning. They make you feel like you are at your house. It is a beautiful place and very clean. Next time in Taormina, I will definitely stay at Isabella.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laly78Miami D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived and checked in to this small welcoming hotel, perfectly set in the heart of this busy and charming resort. The friendly staff told us we had been upgraded to a superior room, the balcony gave fabulous views over the rooftops, you can see the greek amphitheatre down to the sea and mount etna. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely. The hotel also lay on a shuttle bus for 4€ u can hav a return ticket and entry to a private beach at its sister hotel. I would recommend this to those who like the bustle of this lovely resort. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
536 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#24 of 87 in Taormina
636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabella

Property: Hotel Isabella
Address: Corso Umberto 58, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isabella 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 stars hotel in the historical center. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Taormina
Hotel Isabella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing