We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hotel, lively location!”
Review of Hotel Isabella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Isabella
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel while attending a work conference nearby. Staff were all fantastic and the hotel is located in the heart of the town near many restaurants and shops.

The hotel's best feature was without doubt the roof top breakfast served every morning with stunning views over Mount Etna and Eastern Sicily.

My only problem was that being so close to the main street meant that sometimes I was woken up in the middle of the night by loud people outside.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms face the Eastern (sea) side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

We arrived by bus from Siracuse. After a short walk (5 min) we arrived at the hotel. It is located on Corso Umberto and we had a room facing the street, but you do not hear the noise from the street at all (if windows are closed). Breakfast was OK. We could not appreciate the view from the terrace because it was raining. The room was perfectly clean; the bathroom was OK. Staff was really helpful, they gave us useful directions to places to shop and dine and also printed the bus schedule for us. The only disadvantage to mention about this hotel is that this was the only hotel in our trip (that included 7 other hotels) that charged an extra fee for internet. We left the hotel and after a short walk we were able to take the bus to the train station below.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The staff were helpful and friendly...... they spoke better English than we spoke Italian! The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and warm shower. The continental breakfast was nice, although the same for the entire week. The location of the hotel on the Corso Umberto was excellent and the proximity to the piazza, which is fantastic for people watching, was just a few footsteps away. This hotel was above and beyond our expectations, particularly considering what we paid, and we would definitely book a return visit. The only drawback is the fact that parking is some distance away in a pay and display car park, however, Taormina is a medieval town and so this is the norm wherever you stay. A plus point of this is you will never be disturbed by traffic noise at night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C41GBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is right in the middle of the action on the Corso Umberto. That said, I had no trouble with noise. The room was clean and decently sized. Breakfast was ok and the staff was helpful when asked. I booked this as part of a conference and chose it because it was at the cheaper end of the scale. It was about what one might expect given that.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ronbdavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Hotel Isabella sits on the main pedestrian thoroughfare of Taormina in the center of the town. The reception staff simply couldn't have been more... hospitable, nor ready, willing and able to offer whatever assistance could render your stay more enjoyable. When we checked in our room was somewhat warm and the staff immediately brought us a desk-top oscillating fan to make us more comfortable {we'd had a long journey from the Midwest of the USA}.
My wife and I were treated to a more than adequate room on the top floor of rooms; ours was equipped with a king-size bed and balcony overlooking the sea in the back of the hotel. I'd likely recommend a back of the building room - if possible, as the Corso Umberto can be rather... loud at night. Our room was clean and comfortable, as well as a good value. The morning breakfast buffets on the roof-top terrace provided a more than adequate assortment of meats, cheeses, fruits, juices, breads, cereal, yogurt and the coffee was most pleasantly served. If you're looking for a central location, superior service, cleanliness and a highly good value, look no further than the Hotel Isabella, Taormina. If you intend to be out and about during the days and into the evenings there's no reason to look for more than this lovely/charming hotel on the Corso Umberto.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SavyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We booked this hotel to stay 1 night in Taormina. The location is good and the breakfast is ok. But the so called manager ruined our stay with his rudeness. We had booked a superior room and paid extra for this. When we got to the room there was no AC on, we switched it on and waited and waited……… The “manager” came to the room with some glasses we had asked for and we told him that the AC was not working. He said it took at least a couple of hours before it would work and he was sure it was ok because in was centralized and no one else had complained. We left the room and came back after 4 hours and the AC was still not working and we told the “manager “ again, and said this had to be fixed otherwise we could sleep there as it was a very hot day. We came back around midnight and the AC was still not working and to make a long story short, we told the night receptionist about it, and he did not do anything. As the town was fully booked we could not go to another hotel.

The next morning the “manager” was back and said among other things when we complained again:
- You could have walked away…… (the town was full and he knew it)
- What is the problem; I keep my room at 27 degrees…..
- It is only one day of your holiday that has not been good……

After a lot of arguing we got a 40 % discount on the room rate, he started at 10 %. So if your are in for an expensive bad night sleep choose this hotel with small rooms and bad light in the even smaller bathroom.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanneVetaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for couple nights and staff were very friendly and polite, rooms very clean and decent size and fantastic views from the rooftop breakfast area.
Can't get past the location, right in the middle of the main street, and could hardly hear any outside noise.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictorV89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#16 of 87 in Taormina
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#20 of 87 in Taormina
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#15 of 87 in Taormina
582 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Taormina Palace Hotel
Taormina Palace Hotel
#54 of 87 in Taormina
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isabella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isabella

Address: Corso Umberto 58, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £64 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isabella 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 stars hotel in the historical center. Open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isabella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isabella Hotel Taormina
Hotel Isabella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing