We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well located hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Ranked #32 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
112 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A well located hotel.”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The Grand Hotel Miramare is ideal because it is very central to Taormina. The rooms are large and very clean and tidy. From our balcony there were breathtaking views. The hotel is in its own large garden on the side of a very steep hill/cliff with over a hundred steps down to the pool. The setting was ideal. The food was good but there were enormous number of good Sicilian restaurants within the town. They had great character and the food was brilliant and not too pricey.So there was little need to stay in the hotel. The hotel staff were very polite. It is a typical 4 star tourist hotel. It is airconditioned. There were no coffee/tea making facilities within the rooms. This is I believe common practice in Spain and Italy. There were a list of don`ts the hotel did not want. No eating in the room or drinks from outside. From what I was able to gather no one paid any attention to these rules.
For its location it was ideal and very central, The swimming pool was great. There were always enough sun loungers and the pool staff there were exceptionally friendly and hospitable. Definitely a place to return to. There are a large number of hotels in the area to choose from. You are spoilt for choice as you are for the restaurants. Taormina a great place to revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorwichExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    163
    69
    22
    4
See reviews for
69
214
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Location magnificent, set on a cliff top overlooking the sea. 10 minutes walk from the town centre with all amenities. The hotel staff were very polite, helpful and looked after us very well. The room had a superb view and the air conditioning worked well in what was very hot weather. Pool was down the cliff but we soon got used to the steps back up.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnB180853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We had a room with a balcony and the view were absolutely beautiful.
The hotel is set in a great location with a pleasant walk to town center and very close to the cable car station which takes you down to the sea level, the service here is very good, the swimming pool is large and also has the same fabulous views, the breakfast is very good and they do an amazing lunch by the pool. This is definitely one of those hotels that I would return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5epideh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

The location is perfect for staying for a few days in Taormina. The hotel is nice and clean. Reception staff very polite and helpfull. We had a seaviewroom with a nice balchony facing the beautiful bay of Taormina. The room was big and the aircon was working perfectly. Minibar well stocked. Bed was a bit uncomfortable, but ok for a few nights. Breakfast ok, a bit boriing with the same choice of juice, bread etc everyday and no boiled eggs only scrambeled eggs wich wasn't any good.
Didnt visit the hotel bar, noone was there to serve us so we went out for drinks. Pool was ok, a long walk down and back again tho but the service by the pool was very good. Pooltowels and enough of sunbeds for everyone. Lots of small lizzards around the pool and the garden. Bit expensive in Taormina, theres plenty of resturants to choose from within walking distance from the hotel. ATM a few steps from the hotel. For the views i think the hotel is a 5 star resort, but for the room, pool and breakfast... Its more a 3 star hotel in needof some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We've just come back from a week in Taormina in Sicily and stayed at the Grand Hotel Miramare. The hotel is set in a perfect location, on top of the cliff, with gorgeous views, also opposite the bus station (handy for trips), and a 10 minute walk to the shops and restaurants. It was nice and clean, air conditioned, lovely pool and staff were friendly. It is slighly dated, but that adds to the charm of the hotel. The pool bar was good and everything was made freshly for you, the pool attendant was very friendly. The only part that let it down for me, was the breakfast, there was a buffet with alot on offer, but the milk and yogurts were warm every day and the cereal was stale. Also the ceilings were very thin, so we could hear people walking around loudly every morning. Apart from that, I would definitely recommend it to people wanting a quiet, relaxed holiday in the sun.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlep14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The view from our room on the top floor was amazing! Out room was spacious, clean, and had a mini bar and a terrace to enjoy the view. The staff was helpful, and breakfast was very complete, with hot & cold dishes, breads, salad, and delectable pastries. We would stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: Top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MariaRDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at this hotel and loved it! Sure, there are areas of the hotel that could do with a bit of updating but our room on the top floor was great...nice modern bathroom (though would have preferred a walk in shower as the screen over the bath doesn't prevent the floor flooding), our terrace was huge with 4 chairs and table, and the best view ever!! Wonderful to sit with a glass of wine after a hot day out!! Very comfortable big double bed, efficient air con, towels changed daily, bed linen changed every other day. Breakfast is good with all the usual hams, cheeses, bacon, eggs, fruit etc etc but WHY such dreadful juices??? I can go to a hotel in the middle of Vienna and get fresh juice but not in Sicily!! Very strange and we saw other guests grimacing as they tasted it. For such a lovely hotel, it would be such a small thing to change. The staff are lovely especially the Pool Attendant who gives you your towels, sets up your umbrella and lounger and has a great laugh with you. The food down there is good too!!! Would happily stay there again!!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have great views and 904 and 905 have bigger balconies!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#28 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Monte Tauro Hotel
Monte Tauro Hotel
#19 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#24 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare is located only 400 meters from the centre of Taormina, just a short walk away from the funicular and the Greek theatre. The hotel, an old villa, is set within a verdent park and offers a spectacular view of the Messina Straight and Calabria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Miramare Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing