We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is clean, comfortable and in a great location, close enough to the town and all the hustle and bustle but also far enough away to be peaceful. The staff are lovely and could not be more helpful right across the board.

Fabulous views over the bay (if you can opt for a sea view as it is stunning) and the gardens are wonderful, I loved looking up at hotel from the pool as it is just beautifully kept, lush with plants and trees but not in an over manicured way.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view with balcony to enjoy the stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    171
    70
    22
    5
See reviews for
75
231
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel which was in a good location, particularly if you get the bus from Catania airport to Taormina, as the bus station is a one minute walk away. Great views of the sea. A good breakfast and great pool despite the many steps down to it. I found the staff very pleasant and above all, would recommend this hotel for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulFHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north west
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Can honestly say one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. If you're expecting modern then you will be disappointed but it is charming and has everything you need for a great holiday. The staff were brilliant and helpful especially the pool man, the bar man, and the restaurant staff - in fact everyone from the gardener to the receptionist. The room was lovely and clean and we had fresh towels every day - the maid was not obtrusive and always waited til we were out (we are late sleepers and have found in other places they knock several times then give up on us for the day). The view at the back of the hotel is amazing over the sea and worth the extra cost - you can watch the sunrise and reflect on the sea. We also paid the extra for the balcony.
The breakfast was lovely and there was a large selection (cooked items, fresh pastries, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, different cold meats, cheeses and breads). All with juice or tea/coffee. The pool bar served lunch and possibly the best pasta I had all week! The staff down at the pool could not have done more for us. (You also get towels down there). It was never overcrowded but be warned it is a lot of steps but worth it. It was very peaceful - there were some children but they played quietly and it was quite calm.
Its tucked away from the hustle and bustle but only a short walk to the Corso Umberto or the cable cars. Its also right next to the bus station.
Really, really loved it here and would happily go back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecz456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great location great view.
Rude and useless receptionists, do not trust those beach deals you get at the reception, they are not organised properly and We lost a morning of sun waiting for a bus that was supposed to pick us up at 9 showed up at 9 30 saying they were full and that we had to wait another hour or 2 for the nextbus, after that we went to ask explanation to the receptionist which washed his hands saying it was not their service, so it wasn't the hotels fault and suggested me to find another way my self to reach the beach( great costumer service skills!!!!). great breakfast and pool even though you need to do a 200 steps staircase to reach it. the Mattress was awful, the tv so old I couldn't believe this model still existed. Definitely not a 4 star hotel! P

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alext85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Lovely friendly Hotel in Taormina with good views (away from the hustle and bustle of Taormina), but only 5 minute walk into the town. If you request a room with a terrace/balcony and sea view you will be overlooking the pretty beach of Isola Bella. The hotel is very peaceful, staff extremely friendly and helpful, breakfast is good, as are the lunches at the lovely hotel pool bar with friendly service. However there are nearly 200 steps down to the pool - even though there is a lift part of the way down. It wasn't a problem for us and we enjoyed the exercise and the views, but if you don't want to walk back up (quite steep) then this hotel is not for you. Added bonus, if you are flying in to Catania Airport and transferring independently to Taormina, there is a bus direct from the Airport which stops at the bus station in Taormina, which is 2 mins from the back of the hotel - only 8 Euros. Trips to Mount Etna and various other places also leave from this Bus Station so location is spot on.

Room Tip: Request 2nd floor room with front sea view and terrace (could also ask for one with no trees blockin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juwit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in this quietly grand hotel. Enjoyed it mightily. The staff are friendly and attentive, and as we stayed half board we didn't have to bother with going out for two trips to eat (lunch and dinner) glad we did as the evening meals were excellent each time with a choice of mate, fish, pasta etc.
Breakfast was an extensive buffet with various breads, pastries, cereals and fruit and of course, bacon, scrambled eggs and grilled tomatoes for those Brits craving a cooked start to the day!
The pool although down 184 steps was never busy so that was a bonus. I would say this hotel is perfect for a quiet stay - we had stunning views of Isloa Bella, Messina and Calabria across the Med-wonderful!
Taormina itself is rightly known as the pearl of the Mediterranean - stunning views and an atmospheric Greco-roman amphitheatre at the top of town. Worth a visit -you won't be disappointed !

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

There are stunning views of the sea, the staff are really friendly and don't overly pester all the time. The pool area is quiet with stunning views. The hotel is just outside the centre on Taormina (about a 10 minute walk) where there are loads of restaurants and shops (although the shops are very expensive). The room was very well air conditioned, a good size and always clean. This hotel is best suited for adults and couples, if you are a family with younger children it is probably not the right place as there is little entertainment for them. It is best suited to couples who want a peaceful break.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
457 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#29 of 87 in Taormina
929 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#23 of 87 in Taormina
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#24 of 87 in Taormina
738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare is located only 400 meters from the centre of Taormina, just a short walk away from the funicular and the Greek theatre. The hotel, an old villa, is set within a verdent park and offers a spectacular view of the Messina Straight and Calabria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Miramare Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing