We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Ranked #28 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect location! ”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two weeks on our honeymoon and both absolutely loved it. The location was excellent!

The rooms were kept immaculately clean and our sea view was breath taking. The decor felt like old school Sicilian which we prefer to the overly modernised styles.

The breakfast buffet was plentiful and staff were always friendly.

The pool was simply amazing! Quiet, great views, relaxed atmosphere and plenty of shade. You have to scale 180 steps to get to it but we didn't mind that at all as the views on the way are gorgeous and the walk back up helps to burn some of those holiday calories! Lunch at the pool bar was pretty decent too!

My only teeny tiny gripe would be not being allowed to bring water to the pool. You are forced to buy 3 euro bottles from the pool bar and in such heat where you need at least a bottle each for a full day of sunbathing, this seemed a little unreasonable.

Water aside, this hotel was perfect for us and I would strongly recommend it to anyone without any walking difficulties!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    173
    70
    22
    5
See reviews for
75
234
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were upgraded to a room with a balcony free of charge on arrival by a very nice receptionist.
Taorimina centre is only a short walk from the hotel.
The bus station is just outside of the hotel where you can catch a bus to many places at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brimarall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stunning views every which way, and only 10 minutes walk from the wonderful centre of Taormina. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful. Everything felt like a holiday from the minute we walked in. The gardens are stunning, fantastic coloured trees and all sorts of fruit, all overlooking the pool.

If you have trouble with steps (i.e. lot of steps) then you won't love the wander down to the pool, but if not, it's well worth it, and also a good way to work off the huge breakfast!

We couldn't have asked for a better position in Taormina, particularly since we were more keen on the town and the mountain than the beaches (which were overcrowded and stoney), but it's only a 5 minute walk to the cable car for a visit to the sea.

Saturday night the whole town parties late into the night so we were kept awake (by the town not the hotel) so for that night either get some earplugs or go out and join them!

The gardens in Taormina are incredible and we certainly recommend a cocktail (pricey but worth it) at the Grand Hotel Timeo as the sun sets.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel’s position a few mins walk from the main street and overlooking the sea is perfect. We found the staff welcoming and helpful, everything is spotlessly clean and our room was spacious with a large terrace and panoramic views . We sat out there every evening before and after dinner, it was divine.

The pool and gardens are beautiful with a nice mix of shade and sun. As others have said it is reached by 187 steps, so this should be taken into account.

A wide offering at breakfast of fresh fruit salad, breads, cheeses, ham, pastries in a lovely room overlooking the gardens and the sea.

We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we wanted to try some of the many lovely restaurants Taormina has to offer.

The bus station across the road is convenient. We took a local bus to Castelmola, and enjoyed the ride up the hairpin bends to the lovely views from the top.

This is a good value hotel in a beautiful town.

Room Tip: I think there are a few rooms facing the road, but most are overlooking the sea, as the hotel is bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MisInformed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our first introduction to Sicily,its people and culture will remain a wonderful holiday memory.From the moment of our arrival at Hotel Miramare,we were greeted with smiles and super- efficiency by all the staff who really treated us as very welcome guests.Our room was perfectly positioned with beautiful views of the bays as indeed is the hotel itself.We visited during a very lively week-the Taormina Film Festival and International Ferrari convention.The little town was vibrant,cosmopolitan and over a glass of Sicilian wine or an espresso, one could watch a very glamorous world go by...all mentally invigorating! The Miramare is situated just a walk away from all the activities and is a peaceful haven to retreat to for an enjoyable, evening dinner in the restaurant.Super menu,super service,super food and lovely,attentive waiting staff.Breakfast is a delicious,continental array to please any palate and starts the day on a relaxing note.Days out can simply be booked across the street at the bus station OR reservations will happily be made by hotel reception staff.Life couldn't be easier! Our holiday was everything we hoped for,thankyou Miramare it really was GRAND...

Room Tip: Request a room with full balcony ,overlooking the bays.There are beautiful views from the higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very old but very nice hotel, hotel has soft renevation, garden of the hotel beatiful,
all the rooms has balkony and sea view rooms were, clean and comfortable breakfast was good, staff was old but very kind.

Room Tip: If you would like to use pool you have to sellect down stair rooms , but upstair rooms sea view is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruthin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Hotel was perfectly situated and gave fantastic views over the bay and beyond. The hotel staff were always friendly and seemed to work extremely hard. There was a lot of steps down to the pool but it was a pleasant walk. The pool staff always greeted you with towels and a smile. The room had a great view and was always kept clean. It would of been good to have a coffee making facility in the room but that is only a small consideration. Overall it was a good Hotel and what we expected.

Room Tip: Book a balcony and sea view. Better on the top floor Don't expect a good internet signal away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#22 of 87 in Taormina
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#21 of 87 in Taormina
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Diodoro
Hotel Villa Diodoro
#30 of 87 in Taormina
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#23 of 87 in Taormina
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Property: Grand Hotel Miramare
Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare is located only 400 meters from the centre of Taormina, just a short walk away from the funicular and the Greek theatre. The hotel, an old villa, is set within a verdent park and offers a spectacular view of the Messina Straight and Calabria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Miramare Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing