We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an awful hotel with few redeeming features, certainly no 4*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Miramare
Ranked #29 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2009

We left after 3 nights rather than have our whole holiday ruined. What we soon realised is that the Miramare is on the wrong side of town, opposite the bus station. All the decent hotels are at the opposite end. The whole hotel exudes tiredness and drab. The rooms, albeit with lovely views, are sad, with horrible orange covers and old furniture. Wherever you look there is white plastic even down to the bathroom stool. We didn't even bother to go down to the swimming pool. The dining room is so awful and run down with only passable food, and there are no waiters anywhere apart from in the dining room. So you can't have a drink and there are no facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blue3890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stayed for a week on the second leg of our honeymoon. (First week stayed at San Francesco al Monte in Naples which was wonderful) This wasn't wonderful but it was OK. Didn't mind the 183 steps down to the pool - and back up afterwards but as there are no facilities to make a drink in the bedroom (illegal apparently) I would have thought there might have been some provision for having a coffee/tea in the hotel without going all the way down to the pool but no and there is no room service so the four stars look a bit shaky! The room was fine, the balcony large, the view terrific, the air con very efficient, the staff pleasant enough and the breakfasts quite nice. Didn't have dinner here as too many great places in town which though expensive are mainly fun and not as expensive as the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We returned just after a 11 night stay. only breakfast;
Personal: very friendly;
Room: superior room with sea view, bathroom showercap made bathroom wetty if using to much waterpressure - but clean - cleaning staff start at 8 in the morning "parlare" loudly so you do not need a waking call;
Beds: good (hard) matresses;
Pool = free fitness - climbing 196 stears;
Very good location to visit Taormina, 5 min walking to the centre, 3 minutes to the "busstation"
Restaurants: Grand duca, taormina, la dracena
Lido at Giardini naxos: lido Romantica - good sand beaches good food;
I would recommand this hotel - but keep in mind it is the south of Italy so do not expect the same service as in the north;

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank FrankDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed in hotel Miramare from 22 - 29 August with husband and 2 children (aged 12). I think we must have had the smallest rooms in the whole of Taormina (704 and 705) and also the blandest. Musterd yellow walls and a tomato red nylon bedpread greeted us and to say we were disappointed is an understatement. No artwork on the walls, very dark furniture, 2 very narrow windows (sea view but you needed to hang out of the window to actually see the sea). If I thought the room was disappointing, the bathroom was an even bigger disappointment. The size of a broom cupboard with a shower tray and filthy shower curtain stuck in the corner in between the mini loo and bidet.
There was 1 very narrow shelve above the sink and that was it. No space to put anything so we ended up emptying our washbags in the bidet. Not having anything to put your soap/shampoo on in the shower (except for the floor) is not great either!

Found staff rather surly and far from welcoming and the atmosphere in the hotel more dead than alive. Dining/breakfast room in desparate need of updating and felt more like being in the dining room of an old people's home than a supposedly 4 star hotel.
We had 1 diner included in our hotel stay but the thought of having to spend an evening in that stuffy place (probably on our our) rather put us of our food.

Nice pool and pool area but make sure you have everything you need as you only want to go up the 196 steps once a day!

Very disappointing beach at the bottom of the cable car. Stones, stones and more stones and we had the misfortune to go down on the Sunday and there was literally no stone left to sit on. We eventually found a piece of cement where we put down our stuff and I persuaded my children to go for a swim. More stones in the water than on the beach so getting in or out of the sea was not easy to say the least. We found a sandy beach though about half an hour up to coast by bus which was ok if you like huge crowds and row after row of sun loungers about 10 cm apart.

All in all quite an experience not to be repeated. Taormina is lovely and the views are great but don't go in August. Absolutely packed and never seen crowds like it!


Family Dee, London

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jojo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

My husband and I are just back from a weeks stay in Taormina. The Miramare has a lovely pool with fantastic views and the hotel is very convenient for access to the towns shops and restaurants. The only drawback was that our bathroom had a very small shower and no bath. It's only a small thing, but if it's required, it might be worth requesting at the point of booking.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B6071VOalisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Stayed at this hotel with my wife and two teenage daughters on B & B from the 9th August up to the 12th Aug.
I was given room 200 which was the senior suite, two bathrooms and a verandah to die for!! The view from our terrance was absolutely stunning overlooking Letojanni reach and Isola Bella.
The location is perfect, quiet yet with walking distance of Corso Umberto where you can find all the restaurants and retail outlets.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

On arrival I didn't like the room- I book a standard room but it seemed to be tiny and dark and looked even smaller because of the ceiling of the terrace as we had a view from the window. When I claimed at the reception I was provided with a free upgrade with a sea view. The personnel was nice and helpful. Breakfast was served on a terrance but not open so it was a bit hot during the breakfast, breakfast was rather simple but enough. Nice garden.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita-Margarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
688 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eurostars Monte Tauro
Eurostars Monte Tauro
#26 of 87 in Taormina
793 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#31 of 87 in Taormina
500 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Miramare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Miramare

Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 27, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £143 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Miramare 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Miramare is located only 400 meters from the centre of Taormina, just a short walk away from the funicular and the Greek theatre. The hotel, an old villa, is set within a verdent park and offers a spectacular view of the Messina Straight and Calabria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Miramare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Taormina
Grand Hotel Miramare Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing