We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a pleasure”
Review of Hotel Villa Riis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Riis
Ranked #76 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a pleasure”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

My family, friends and I, a total of 11 people stayed at this hotel. It was our last hotel during our trip to Italy this past June. We stayed at two previous hotels, one in Sorrento and one in Rome and after Taormina we stayed in Palermo. All of which were great in their own way. Hotel Villa Riis, to us, was in great spot. It was a perfect start to each day and night in Toarmina. We didn't spend a ton of time at the hotel as we of course wanted to explore the area, but the hotel was always a joy during the time we were there. The pool out back was very nice and sadly I was only able to make use of it one of the days I was there, but that's because we spent most our time exploring the area. The service was great, everyone was nice and very accommodating. They were having trouble with their WiFi during our visit but were kind enough to let us use their computer when we needed it. Overall we were extremely comfortable in this hotel, and it was actually my favorite hotel of the trip. If I were to travel back to Taormina I'd be more than happy to stay at Hotel Villa Riis again. I miss Italy and most definitely miss my trip to Taormina! And tell Monika at the front desk Joe from Connecticut says hi, she couldn't have been any nicer!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    57
    22
    35
    81
See reviews for
47
111
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

After a long tour of Sicily, Taormina and the Villa Riis was supposed to be our grand finale! Sadly nothing about this place was in the least bit grand. Having booked a room with a sea view, we were initially shown to our room on the ground floor with a stunning view of the car park. Our stay therefore began with a complaint! We were then transferred to a room with a sea view but a miserabale room it was: damp; drab; tired; tiny; and in urgent need of re-furbishment.

While we unpacked, our children went to play on the tennis court only to find a dead mouse at the entrance to the court, as well as a court covered in mould!

While we waited in reception, before exploring Taormina, imagine our surprise when we overheard the owner talking to his mates in a abusive and demeaning manner using thoroughly foul language about his manager. He plainly assumed we could not understand Italian, but sadly for him we are all fluent in the language. We were utterly shocked.

I am not at all surprised, but saddened, to read of other travellers' tales of unrefunded payments. This seems to be a regular occurance: we too suffered the same fate. Through oversight on out part, we paid twice for our stay. There after our requests for repayment were met with a string of pathetic excuses. Fortunately for us one payment was effected with a credit card so we eventually recovered one payment leaving the credit card company to take the matter further.

Our instinct tells us that it would be difficult to do worse in Taormina...one to avoid!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hulot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

we spent three nights in Villa Riis and we are more than satisfied. Excellent location right in the centre of Taormina. Service was perfect, rooms clean, furniture a bit used. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VVN_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had booked the Hotel Bristol and were transferred to the Riis - we were at the end of the season and the hotel was mostly empty. Our room had a bad smell coming from the ventilation, the shower was impossibly small, the fitness room was in a state of total disrepair, there was garbage on the walkways outside... Staff was friendly but this hotel was in need of repair.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neuchatel_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

not meant to stay here but once we saw the inside we were totally smitten and stayed 2 nights
forget the 4 stars we are traditionally used to speaking as a native of ireland and immerse yourself in a superb sicilian experience, the charm of this hotel rises up to greet you once inside, the staff are a breath of fresh air, extremely helpful and as its at the entrance of a pedestranised street the location of this hotel is excellent
the pool is below floor level with a glass lift to it!!! the breakfast is as one should expects in this wonderful climate and the views from the dining room spectacular
sit back and relax at the pool while gazing at the garden as it casscades over the cliff , on which the hotel is perched

Room Tip: most rooms have the balcony looking out over the sea but double check first!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband and i stayed at Hotel Villa Riis for our honeymoon, and had a wonderful time. the room was large and comfortable, the pool was perfect and private, and the consierge- Monica was incredibly helpful and sweet as could be. the Hotel is situated at very beginning of the main street, so we always had the beautiful walk through the small and very expensive town proper. we absolutely will be returning to this hotel the next time we're lucky enough to come back to Sicily. thankyou so much, Hotel Villa Riis!

Room Tip: get the ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whatever1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

My wife and i booked for 1 night with Villa Riis but soon realised it was too far away from Palermo. Upon booking the Villa Riis for 1 night i phoned back 5 minutes later to cancel booking. They had already ran my credit card and said they would refund the 200 EU back to my account as it was a booking six weeks in advance. They have never refunded my money 5 months later and i am taking legal action over this. This hotel has no credibility and they are fraudsters. Beware dont dare book with them!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank liamtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#61 of 88 in Taormina
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taormina Park Hotel
Taormina Park Hotel
#54 of 88 in Taormina
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#28 of 88 in Taormina
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
0.2 mi away
Mediterranee Hotel
Mediterranee Hotel
#59 of 88 in Taormina
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Riis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Riis

Property: Hotel Villa Riis
Address: Via Pietro Rizzo 13 | Sicilia, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Riis 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vill Riis is a 4 - star , Baroque style hotel in the real centre on Taormina, only 10 meters from the main avenue Corso Umberto. All rooms are facing the Golf of Taormina and the lovely, always green park and on the right one can enjoy the view of the Mount Etna. Clients can enjoy an amazing sunset on the hotel's terrace while taking a sip of the local wines and listening the relaxing music.During the hot days our clients can refresh themselves in the outdoor swimming pool or they can simply relax by the pool or in the pool-bar. For the lovers of active holidays there is a tennis court which is surrounded by the trees and so offers a refreshing shadow while one is playing. Hotel Villa Riis collaborates with the City of Taormina and the Taormina Art so we are always informed about what is going on in Taormina and we keep informed also our clients by apdating our web site each day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Riis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riis Hotel Taormina
Hotel Villa Riis Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing