We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fusion restaurant...sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Plage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Plage Resort
Ranked #41 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fusion restaurant...sensational”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I returned, it can't be avoided! It's still a fantastic hotel! I can go on, but one thing I didn't write about in my last review was the food. Yes the waiter was a jerk, but the staff were impeccable this time.
Fusion restaurant is outstanding!! Even if you don't stay at the hotel, eat here! It's wonderful!
I ate the freshest swordfish, cooked two different ways...mouth watering! And the pasta is amazing!
The chef Simone and his team are super talented. We had no idea what to have for desert, and he sent out his new creation ( I have no idea if this is on the menu) called 'Etna'. It was a strawberry concoction that literally exploded in your mouth!! Haha :-)
Along with wonderful food, and yes, it's not cheap...is the wine selection. I have become a huge fan of Sicilian wines, especially the Chardonnay.
Mario is the man! He has an impressive selection of wines, and selected one for us that was in our budget and was excellent.
And if you like your drinks mixed NY style, not Aussie style...you will be impressed!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    117
    65
    38
    49
See reviews for
87
287
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The separate rooms (bungalow) concept is ideal for privacy and that sense of being alone in this wonderful location in front of the Isola Bella. Staff is very cordial and helpful. Breakfast was very enticing and the Fusion restaurant for dinners wass amazing. Highly recommended to anyone.
Thanks for the wonderful stay. We really enjoyed it.
David and Ritianne from Malta.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidZahra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

We went here in October 2012 for our honeymoon and WOW! When you arrive through an automatic gate you are met by a porter to carry your bags down some steps and through a well-designed tunnel where you reach reception. I asked my wife to wait outside and went into reception where Giuseppe was waiting with a large grin on his face. He was expecting us, and confirmed that they had made some "special arrangements" for our first night of our honeymoon. He walked us round to our private bungalow, it was dark at this point but we could hear waves lapping on the beach. They also arranged at this point for dinner to be brought to our garden. When my wife opened the door to the bungalow, even though I knew about the special arrangements, we were both blown away. The whole room had been scattered with rose petals, and a bottle of champagne on the side waiting for us with a congratulatory note from the staff. Our bungalow was large, neat, clean and well presented. The garden was amazing with a hammock, table and chairs, sun loungers and the best of all a clean and hot Jacuzzi. In the morning when the sun came up we saw actually how amazing this place was. Dinner and breakfast could be eaten overlooking the sea and Isola Bella. The beach was quiet, private and clean. The staff at the hotel would bend over backwards to help, even to the point that I had run out of cigarettes and the restaurant manager gave me a pack of his own free of charge. To finish off our honeymoon we booked dinner on the beach which blew our minds. Our own table within feet of the lapping waves, torches lit the way and we had our own waiter standing by. The food was out of this world. I would certainly recommend this hotel to couples and we cannot wait to return again and again for anniversaries. We are not the sort of people who would return to the same place no matter how good it is, but this place is so heavenly that it must be the exception to our rule.

Room Tip: The bungalows with sea view are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This hotel was a 100% satisfactory experience! If I would come back to Taormina it would be to stay longer in this hotel than the one day I only had this time. The location is just amazing. The service is great. The breakfast out on the terrace is simply a dream and the restaurant is good. There is free wifi and a small but clean and modern gym. Take a bungalow directly on the seaside. The other bungalows may not have a sea view. The bungalows are not big but have all the comforts and the little gardens with lounge chairs, hammocks and in some cases jaccuzi are great. The beach is a pebble beach. The swimming is great. To Taormina centre it's a 5 minute walk to the cablecar and then 5 minutes with the cable car. It's faster than by car. Taormina itself is a nice but noisy tourist town so I wouldn't want to stay inside the town.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalow directly on the seaside as they are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JNKetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in a bungalow with a garden view. Location wise- hotel is great, right on the very picturesque beach of isola Bella. Cable car is about ten min walk away which was also very convenient for getting to town.
The restaurant was also absolutely fantastic -tasty food, polite staff and lovely sea views. Restaurant is a little pricey, however it is well worth the extra.
The bungalow was very cute, modern and very clean. The staff even turn up twice a day to clean and freshen up the room- super service!!! Definitely recommend hotel - 5* luxury! One minor downside is train runs along back of hotel- however this did not bother us during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

5+++stars! An absolutely fabulous resort! I'd stay here again and again. The staff was friendly, polite and always helpful. Great location, quick walk (up a small hill of course) to the cable car.

Our room was awesome. It was cleaned and then cleaned again with turn down service. Always fresh towels and crisp clean sheets. We had a great little sea/garden view villa. Perfect little outside area to unwind and pretty private.

The restaurant was excellent as well for both lunch and dinner. Great selection and even a kids menu.

The beach, although a bit rocky and crowded, was still beautiful and relaxing.

Also, I read other reviews that the train that runs behind the hotel was bothersome. It wasn't at all, actually the quietest train I've ever heard and the sound of it passing lasted 6 seconds.

Definitely a must stay in Taormina!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunLover0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We were looking for a Beachside location to have the quintessential mediterranean holiday.
La Plage certainly fulfilled our expectations for location and amenities. The hotel is right on the best beach in Taormina. The beach is privately controlled , however day visitors can rent an umbrella and chair for about 25Euro. ...free for Hotel guests.You still have many hawkers and woman offering foot massage , but these aren't that bothersome. Don't forget your reef shoes as the beach is pebbles, but the water was clean and refreshing. Hotel staff were great and spoke English. The breakfast ( included in the rate)was on the terrace and was ok but the offering of cereals were poor with no muesli and if you are a Green Tea drinker the only option was Green Tea with mint. Fruit also was limited to basic varieties which for the price should have been better. We received an upgrade to a Superior room which gave us a bath and a little more room. Our first night was spent in a Bungalow which was cute but small . The shower needed a good clean to get the mould off the bottom of the walls but otherwise the room was clean and the bed and linen good quality. My wife had a facial at the spa and this was excellent ...but expensive of course .The train line passes right next to the resort , but this does not bother you after the first one , unfortunately the train line is built right along the beach so any beach side location has to contend with this .Overall we had a great experience but it really is a 4 star resort charging 6 star prices due to the location.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for ...your choice of Garden or Beachside Bungalow ..Beach side is best but eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
Grand Hotel Atlantis Bay
#30 of 88 in Taormina
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
919 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#4 of 88 in Taormina
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Plage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Plage Resort

Property: La Plage Resort
Address: Via Nazionale 107/A | Isola Bella, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Taormina
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
#24 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — La Plage Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your La Plage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plage Hotel Taormina
La Plage Resort Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing