We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect.”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2011

Good location - a nice 5 mins walk away from the centre, (a little uphill when returning to the hotel), very friendly and helpful owners and staff, some of whom spoke very good English, a lift, very clean with a spacious shower, powerful air conditioning, good breakfast high up on the roof terrace. I enjoyed my stay there.

I booked a room with a sea view, which is exactly what I got - with a little balcony. It was lovely just to sit on the balcony for a few minutes and soak in the peace, warmth and view either before or after visiting the overwhemingly touristy centre of Taormina. The only thing which spoilt this a little was that the view included a rather ugly concrete roof of what appeared to be a tunnel at the bottom of the cliffs. It's a shame because otherwise this little hotel was perfect.

I would return to this hotel and I can strongly recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza-Jane29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

The Hotel Condor was wonderful. The family Sparta' went out of their way to make our stay outstanding. The restaurants they recommended were truly memorable. There were three couples staying here and it couldn't have been better.....good showers and comfortable rooms. It was close to the city center but just enough away to have quiet and privacy. Thank you so much for our very special time we had at Hotel Condor! Allan and Nancy Miner

Room Tip: Our room down a few stairs was quiet and a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We were here in May-June 2011 for our honeymoon, and it was everything we could have hoped for and more. The staff (especially Ilaria ) were so wonderful--friendly and helpful to a fault. Our room was large, clean, light, and modern, and the bathroom was HUGE, modern, and very well-maintained. We had a gorgeous sea view and balcony too. The bed was firm but comfortable, there was a shutter on the balcony doors so that it wasn't too light, and there was also a very efficient AC system for if it got too hot. We slept well for our entire 10 night stay. The room also had a safe. The hotel's free wifi was a great asset too, allowing us to view our wedding pictures while away!

Breakfast was just lovely, with rolls, biscuits, cake, ham, cheese, and the yummiest croissants ever. There was also cereal, eggs, and fruit available. We enjoyed the juice and, even more so, the delicious cappuccinos. Tania who serves breakfast was so nice, and never once seemed annoyed at our tardiness to breakfast (we tried to be earlier, but routinely turned up just 10 minutes before breakfast ended!) Breakfast runs til 10, too, so no really early mornings. Three of our ten mornings we had to leave the hotel before breakfast began at 7:30, because we were going on trips, but the hotel kindly provided us with our breakfast in a little bag. The view from the breakfast terrace is just lovely over the valley and the sea. There's a lovely sun terrace on the roof too, with the same view.

The hotel's location was perfect for us. It was about a 10 minute walk to Porto Messina and the start of Corso Umberto, and about 10-15 minutes to the bus station. We didn't mind this little walk at all, because it took us away from the crazy business of Corso Umberto, gave the hotel a great view as it was further up hill, and meant the area was quiet and tranquil.

The price couldn't be beaten either. We booked on Booking.com and paid just 98 euros a night for the room and breakfast--a real steal in Taormina.

We would highly recommend the hotel to anyone. Just a few little examples serve to show the special touches that make this hotel superior. First, on arrival, we were given a map of the town on which Ilaria helpfully showed us the major attractions and told us a bit about them. Even better, the hotel even had a walking tour that they provide, which we did the following day and which was a perfect introduction to Taormina. Second, on first booking in January, and then again a few days before we arrived, we contacted the hotel to confirm our booking--the emails we got from Ilaria and Marcello were so sweet and kind and made us SO excited that we booked there, and we weren't disappointed. Finally, in our room on arrival was some lovely fresh fruit, and we were given a bottle of wine because we were on our honeymoon. These special touches make the Hotel Condor a real cut above.

Room Tip: Use booking.com, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenaP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

This was our first stay in Taormina and Hotel Condor was a great choice - convenient location close to the historical centre, very quiet, with excellent breakfasts served on the terrace, not to mention the help we received form Ilaria, Marcello and others when we needed to know anything about Taormina and around.
If we go to Taormina in the future, Hotel Condor will be our preferred place again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Taormina was the last stop on trip to Italy and it was a great ending. After the high prices we encountered in Rome and Venice for rooms that were tiny , I couldn't believe the price we were quoted for a superior room with a balcony and ocean view. I figured something had to be wrong with it . But there wasn't. For 98 euros, we got a spacious room, huge bathroom, little balcony and a fantastic view right over the gorgeous blue water. We had a great big tiled shower with a window that even overlooked the sea!
Breakfast was served on the rooftop terrace - what a way to start the day. We started the day with cappuchino topped with a smiley face. There was a nice selection to eat as well .
The hotel was a little bit out of the main area of town but that made it very quiet and we did not feel it was at all an inconvenience to walk 10 minutes to the main drag of Corso Umberto. There were a couple restaurants and a grocery store close by, as well as the Greco-Roman theatre ruins.
The owners were always very friendly and helpful as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissCocoWestbrookCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

could not fault this hotel, staff, location an value for money were 10/10. would recommend you stay here anytime. Unfortunely we only stayed for 4 days in Taormina. definately stay longer next time

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gusbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Very harrowing to get to the hotel, but worth it in the end. Friendly English speaking reception. Room a bit small and bathroom very dated but clean.
we found breakfast very good, the best croissants I've ever tasted.
We recommend (tip from reception ) "Tiramisu" restaurant, a few minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsrothuizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#24 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#17 of 87 in Taormina
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sirius Hotel
Sirius Hotel
#18 of 87 in Taormina
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £67 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing