We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grazie Hotel Condor!”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #26 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Grazie Hotel Condor!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Absolutely loved Hotel Condor. Hotel Condor was the first hotel we stayed at during our trip to Sicily, so we didn't know what to expect. What a perfect introduction! The owners/staff were super nice and super charming. We asked question after question during our stay--about where to eat, where to go, swim, do laundry, etc. and were always answered in detail and with the greatest pleasure. The hotel itself is a short uncomplicated walk up from the bus station, which makes it very centrally located and close to the main street, Corso Umberto. Our room was clean and cheerful, and everything worked perfectly. The breakfast on the terrace was wonderful, no complaints. Thanks again to the owners/staff who made us feel so at home!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roganddrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    297
    71
    11
    4
See reviews for
130
370
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

What can we say, Hotel Condor was great. We had a great room no rooms as there were 2 and each room had it's own bathroom and the water was hot in the shower. The location was fantastic close to the Greek Theatre,shopping,the cable car and restaurants. The beds were a little bit hard but other than that nothing to complain about. Cafe Santa Lucia which was just down the street was great. We would recommend hotel Condor.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with your family we would recommend room number 52, as it gives privacy to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Beautiful views on the terrace, nice and clean rooms, great breakfast, free wifi that actually works! What made it superior, however, was the service, particularly from Ileria, the front desk staff, a real sweetie who was helpful in every way. Only negative were some drunken kids on the street making late night noise with their car stereo for a few minutes, but the hotel has no control over that. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebaron007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rovaniemi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This was our second time in Hotel Condor. As our previous stay everything was great! Especially the owners and all the staff in Hotel Condor were extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you very much for everything you did for us! We will come back some day!

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibson56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frtrip
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The sea view on the Taormina bay was the reason why we choose this hotel.
We booked an apartment with sea-view : two bedrooms, each one clearly mentioned on the website with sea view, living room and kitchen with sea view.
Upon arrival, none of the rooms had sea view, none of the bedrooms, nor the living room : see pictures.
We are told that it is an error on the hotel website. Indeed, the description of the rooms on the hotel website is not the same depending on the language Italian, French, or English !
We therefore asked whether the hotel can correct his mistake by proposing us sea-view rooms.
The manager showed us a communicating room with sea view, available for our stay. When we said we were ok, the manager says we have to pay the double price of our original booking !
The hotel made the mistake, they have rooms to correct their mistake, but the customer has to pay double the price to have the mistake corrected! This is just unacceptable.
The error on the website is still not corrected several months later, giving an idea of what this hotel does with customer remarks.
Everything lets the feeling that the hotel seeks to take the maximum, giving the minimum.
Our rooms were outdated, furniture like recovered from the grandmother house, the bathroom equipment was in the cheapest plastic.
The cleaning was not done properly. The bathroom was dirty.
Same thing to park the car: they proposed a “place” for 10 euros per night, a so small place, once parked you cannot open the car doors, and you must leave your key for someone to park behind you. You cannot pay the park at the same time as the room, a separate payment is required, in cash and without invoice.
The breakfast perfectly reflects this state of mind: few choice, little food, no fresh fruit , bad bread, low-cost cheese & ham, industrial orange juice diluted with water (however there is no shortage of oranges in Sicily! ), and no restocking for the last comers, even when it is still breakfast time.
The Wi-fi is presented on website as being in the whole hotel, public areas and rooms. This is not true: there is wi-fi only near the reception desk.
If you like hotels that give you something, don't go there.

Room Tip: Call before to verify the exact nature of your room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank frtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcellospta, Direttore at Hotel Condor, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Sir
You wrote your review after 5 month from your stay and maybe you don't remember very well.
But I would like to answer point by point.
First, you have posted the same photos that you can see in our web site at the moment of the reservation (no surprise at your arrival, you found what you have booked, including furnishing).
No where in our website you can read that the apartment is with sea view at the four side, this is impossible because the apartment is in the city, not on the rock in the middle of the sea where you can enjoy the sea view at 360 degrees, (you have posted the photo of the rooms at the four side of the accomodation).
We proposed to you our family room, with no extra cost, this room is only with partial sea view. You have decided not move in it, because you could use the the kitchen in the apartment and the view isn't better than in the apartment.
About the parking: In Taormina the parking on the street is forbidden, it's only for resident with a permit. We have an agreement with a parking area near the Hotel with extra cost of euro 10,00 a day, you can choose to park in our parking or at the public parking at euro 16,00 per day.For safety reason we ask the keys of the car, if you park in our parking.
You pay for the parking at the Hotel, at request we ask a receipt of the payment at the parking and we can include on the invoice, Just ask.

About the breakfast:
We have included the breakfast in Hotel, (the apartment it's not in Hotel and usually isn't included). We serve continental breakfast in our panoramic terrace, with choice of coffee espresso cappuccino tea, etc., made with coffee bar machine.
we serve at table cheese, ham, small croissant, and two different quality of fresh bread from the bakery, also we have a small buffet where you can find same, home made cake, cereal, boiled eggs, fresh fruit of the season including oranges when is season (September is not season, but we think is not our fault).
We suggest you to come in Sicily from December to May to enjoy our sweet oranges.

About Wi-fi We don't understand why you can use only near the reception, our computers at reception work by cable not wi-fi.
We have a wi-fi signal dedicated only for guest use, with one wi-fi bridge every three room and 1 only for the terrace and one computer for guest use for free, where our gust can print boarding pass.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The Hotel Condor is a bit off the beaten tourist track, but only a 15 minute walk from the Corso Umberto and so very convenient. The room rate for a room with a view was very reasonable. The bed was comfortable, and the whole place was clean and pleasant. The shower was a bit cramped by North American standards, but comparable to most of the other higher end places I stayed on the trip. There was good waterpressure, and daily clean towels. Its relatively small and has more of a home feel to it. The elevator is miniscule but good for getting a couple of suitcases up and down.

The view in the forground is the bus station, but its quite a bit down hill and can bearly be heard. There is a nice view out to the water and some shade in the morning on the balcony. The neigbourhood dogs did bark quite a bit, but it was still nice to be able to leave the balcony doors open and enjoy the nighttime air, rather than depend on the air conditioning.

The staff/owners were very friendly and helpful, it was nice to have an option to pay either cash or credit card. The morning continental breakfast was quite decent with a variety of cereals, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, cured meats, cheese, juice and coffee. The breakfast area was at the top of the hotel as well, and had a pleasant view, and nice breezes.

I would certainly stay there again and definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a reasonably priced, well located and comfortable place to spend a few days.

Room Tip: I chose a room with a view, it was a small bit more expensive, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CDNBearYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenthon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hotel is well located, the service is good. The view from the hotel is nice. It's a good quality price compared to other hotel in the area. Keep in mind it's a 2 star hotel, so, it's not
Fancy by any mean. overall, We enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaness1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#16 of 87 in Taormina
520 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#17 of 87 in Taormina
825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#12 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
53 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Property: Hotel Condor
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing