We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Condor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Condor
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Condor for three days in August 2014.

We cannot praise this small, family-run hotel highly enough. The rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean. We had a balcony with a spectacular view over the sea. There is a safe in the room which is big enough for an ipad and a slim laptop. Wifi is free and works extremely well.

Breakfast is served on the terrace. There's a nice varied choice of food.

The staff speak very good English and could not be more helpful and friendly.

It's a short walk into the main town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jazzjazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    294
    70
    11
    4
See reviews for
128
367
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked 2 nights in Taormina and stayed at Hotel Condor a lovely family run hotel. First thing to say is that the hotel is freshly refurbished - the bathrooms and common areas were spotlessly clean and recently decorated. Our room while small - beds were comfortable, plenty of nice towels, air con very efficient and bathroom shower was very powerful and hot.

The views from the terrace on the upper floors are wonderful especially for breakfast or just enjoying a glass of prosecco in the evening. Breakfast in the morning was fine - it would have been nice to have a plate of sliced meats and cheeses available but otherwise fine.

The hotel is listed as a 2* but honestly it is probably 3* standard.

I would highly recommend this hotel as is provided excellent value for money with high standards of customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hotel Condor is a nice budget hotel about a 10 minute walk up from the center. Rooms are very small, clean and the staff is friendly. Although the breakfast is so-so, it is served on their vey nice roof top terrace which is always open. They also have a shuttle for about 8 euro a day to the beach which is so convenient. It's also about an hour from the Catania airport.

Room Tip: Make sure to confirm a few days ahead if you book a room with a balcony. We had booked a room with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelina18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is central in Taormina yet in a quiet street with a very good option for parking. . . if you are driving. Rooms are small yet VERY clean and comfortable. . . esp. the beds. Continental breakfast is very good and the terrace view and morning breeze combine perfectly. Would defenitely stay at this hotel when coming back. Btw the staff are really helpful!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bendermalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My family just spent six days at this hotel and we had a great time.

The hotel is situated 10 minutes away by walking from the busy Corso Umberto. This perfect as it allows you to avoid the throngs of tourists moving up and down the congested street.

The breakfast terrace was great, the dependence was clean with daily towel service that we really appreciated.

The hotel has private parking which was a fantastic benefit as the public 'Lumbi' parking structure is a longer walk away and costs 25 Euros per day.

The family that runs the hotel were charming and extremely helpful.

The only negative thing we can say is that in the dependence the shower had a curtain that was a bit annoying to deal with, but other than that; we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlt5198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for several days in June 2014 and had a good time. The staff were friendly and helpful, the superior room we had was great with a lovely view from the balcony over the bay. We loved sitting on the roof terrace after a busy day site seeing or at the beach and having a glass of wine overlooking the sea. The breakfast were good with plenty of variety and you sat overlooking the bay. The only thing I would have preferred was breakfast being served earlier, it started at 7.30am and it was a rush if you were going out on a trip. A lovely stay at the hotel, would recommend it to friends

Room Tip: Worth paying the bit extra for a superior room with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank poppy01bonnie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I loved this hotel! The staff was so friendly and gave great recommendations for restaurants and beaches. It was very clean and welcoming! The breakfast was delicious and had a big variety of food. I enjoyed my cappuccino every morning that had a smiley face on it every morning. IT was nice and relaxing to sit on the terrace at breakfast and then we would have drinks on there before and after we went out for dinner. Our shower was a bit small and could have used a new shower curtain. But other than that it was great and I enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#12 of 87 in Taormina
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#17 of 87 in Taormina
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#37 of 87 in Taormina
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parc Hotel Ariston & Palazzo Santa Caterina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Condor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condor

Property: Hotel Condor
Address: Via Dietro Cappuccini 25, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Condor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condor Hotel, built on 1968, is owned by the Sparta-Longo family which made the ideal place to spend a pleasant holiday in Taormina in a warm familiar atmosphere. Its location is just 200 meters from the historical centre but away from the noise and the main traffic roads. The hotel is situated within 4 minutes walking distance to the cableway to the beach, the taxi station and within 8 minutes to the Greek-Roman Theatre, the Public Gardens, the panoramic Main Square ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Condor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condor Hotel Taormina
Hotel Condor Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing