We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet hotel close to the sea of Taormina”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taormina Garden Hotel
Ranked #38 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel just a few meters from the beach of Mazzaró, the most beautiful bay of Taormina. We could not ask for better... Staff very polite and helpful, rooms comfortable and clean with all necessary comfort. Nearby there is also a cable car that connects the hotel in just a few minutes from the city center, very chaotic and noisy during the summer. This hotel provides everything for a comfortable stay, calm and quiet

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walldoreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in Taormina Garden Hotel for our honeymoon and could not have been happier. The staff were really friendly and helpful, our room was bright and clean and the breakfast was good. The beach is just a few minutes walk away and the main town a 3 minute cable car up. We recommend this hotel and will be returning next time we travel to Sicily.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra-Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We recently spent 3 nights here at the end of our Sicily tour. There are only 11 rooms which the owner, Dario, is updating. We had room 9 which, although next to the breakfast room, was quiet, not sure if it would be in the high season if all rooms were occupied, but we had no complaints. It was quite a large room with a large double and a single bed. This room is also under the carpark but that was of no concern either. We were given a warm welcome and Dario and his staff were very helpful and always polite.
This hotel is in a very good location, a short distance from the cable car to the town centre and the small beach. It may be next to a busy road but we were not bothered by the traffic noise at all. There are 17 steps down to reception from the road and, although there is no handrail, I had no problem with them - even after a shower of rain. It may only be a 2 star hotel but the service and everything else about the hotel was higher than this would suggest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We enjoyed very much our stay in Taormina Garden Hotel- an excellent location and with parking! Not far from the beach and very helpful and friendly staff. We recomend! The garden is very relaxing, breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed there couple of nights, however the hospitality, comfort was excellent.
Great hotel for the value. Of course there is a great deal of ToDo's around the hotel, so there is never a dull moment.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterBassiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nighst in early October and were very disappointed
1. Car park is difficult to enter off a very busy road. It is extremely small - you hand your cars keys to a member of staff who then packs your car into the very limited space available.
2. Reception is down an outside flight steep flight of potentally dangerous stairs with no handrails or any other means of support or illumination at night.. When we arrived they were wet and one of our party felt unsafe on them and needed a helping hand down.
3.We had booked rooms 3 months in advance at full price. My wife and I were allocated room 5 which I can only liken to a prison cell. It had one small window which was so high that it could only be opened by standing on a chair. It was impossible to see out of it even when standing on the chair. It had no curtains not that loss of privacy was an issue at that height.
4.The very tired miniscule shower room had no windows or any appaent means of ventilation.
5. My pillow was very lumpy and felt as if it was filled with tennis balls. I didn't discover this until a got into bed so had to get dressed again to go to reception to ask for it to be exchanged and guess what- the hotel had no spare pillows and their solution was to stuff a towell inside the pillow. I would have been out of luck if I had needed two pillows.
6. Bedside light was so dim that it was imppossible to read by it.
7. Ah well they have wifi, lets have a look at that. No - it doesn't extend beyond reception. .
8. Breakfast was minimalist but adequate.

On the plus side apart from the difficulty of entering the car park, the hotel is well positioned close to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the cable car up to the main town.
The staff were very friendly and helpful within their limited resources and have saved this review from giving the hotel 1 star rating.

All in all very dissapointing and poor value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 and rooms under the car park at all costs and take anti mosquito spray with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RodandMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarioB319, Proprietario at Taormina Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Mr/s , Thank you for stayed at the Taormina Garden Hotel.

We are very sorry to read your opinion so negative, and in all honesty I’m not believe that all was bad . So personally I would like to clarify a few points on which they disagree sharply.

Being that Taormina is a busy tourist town and where park is extremely difficult and expensive, We are very lucky to have a private parking totally free. In other hotels charge approximately 10.00 / € 20.00 per day .
We demand the keys of a cars to avoid that customers that are not used to driving on our roads, could damage while maneuvering the other cars.
In the picture you can see very well the stairs, among other things, we consider it our mascot , all customers photographing our stairs because is very special being entirely decorated with Caltagirone ceramics . Considering that you would have difficulty walking the stairs would have had to take care to choose an hotel much more easy to access.
As for the rooms comply with all applicable regulations and standards that imposed by law for the 2-star hotel . The bathroom in reference have a window fitted up the toilet but maybe you haven’t made the case.
I want to clarify that our pillows are in goose down fabric covered anti-allergenic as where used in past time.
The buffet breakfast, contains sweet and savory dishes. Local cheese , ham cooked and raw, salami , mortadella , Yogurt and variety of cakes, marmalades , honey, cookies, biscuits , croissants , mini temptations of various flavors , milk, coffee, cappuccino, chocolate, cereals and much more that I’m not put into the list, all served by competent and professional staff, for a two stars .... the breakfast buffet is richer than the average of category.
The service of free Wi- fi is available in common areas including terraces and reception and is well indicated that it is not available in the rooms , but we're gearing up for that too. Soon possible it will be available in the rooms.
I find it difficult to conceive that everything is in disarray also your description.
I want remind you that we are only two star hotel and anyway from owner I do loading your review. It 's always a good starting point to improve.

Sincerely .

Dario Barona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

After reading all the reviews here, I expected much more. First of all, the price is excessive for the quality of the rooms and the installations. The only good thing to mention is the location (walking distance from main beaches in Taormina) and the service as people in reception were very friendly. Rooms are wide, but dirty, old fashioned and our one smelt horrible, as if it had been closed for a year. The smell lasted during all our stay (two days). Bathroom is very basic. The garden is nice, but nothing spectacular. If booking in advance, surely you will find better alternatives in Taormina or surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
412 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#52 of 87 in Taormina
44 reviews
0.8 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#64 of 87 in Taormina
312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#63 of 87 in Taormina
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taormina Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taormina Garden Hotel

Address: Via Nazionale 155, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £41 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taormina Garden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taormina Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taormina Garden Hotel Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing