We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vello D'Oro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Ranked #74 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Simple but clean rooms.
The location is perfect: near the main street Corso Umberto, and with a big roof terrace with great views over Mount Etna, the Ionian Sea and the old Teatro Greco.
Overall, staff was friendly and willing to help. However, communicating in English was somewhat difficult.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    69
    41
    29
    23
See reviews for
22
108
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Centrally located in the middle of town, with a superb view over the sea, mount Etna and the Greek theater, but very noisy in the evenings due to live music from various surrounding bars (once until after 3:00 in the morning). You will also acoustically "participate" in the toilet "visitations" of all adjacent hotel rooms, and will be woke up by room service preparations in the morning. The breakfast buffet was ok, but it will be closed immediately at 10:00 am; even if guests are still taking food, everything will be immediately removed. We would have been charged to change to a room with better view (20 Euro per day!), so that we stayed in our initial room, which was ok and fairly clean, if you did not look too close. We had to pay additional 50 Euro to park our car in a public parking space - the parking places at the hotel, which were offered online, were simply not available. Taormina is definitely not the place to go, if you are looking for a quiet time - it is totally touristic and noisy. If we ever should be back in Sicily, we will not stay in Taormina again, but chose a place outside the touristic centers along th coast and travel around by car.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank habsud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

It just needs to be said once again. WHAT A VIEW. From our balcony (where we spent most of the time), we could see from the Teatro Greco to Mount Etna. Just staggering.

As for the hotel, the other commentators are right; it's a little dated, we have no idea if the AC worked because we slept with the doors and windows open every night. It is at the top of the town, but it is very close to the main Corso. Let me say again; what a view!

The value was also one of the best we found in Sicily.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

The servicer personal was not there, they took our towels from the balkoney and when we asking why, they have no answer for us , but they told us they will ship them home to us, six weeeks later they never heard about us, do yoy think we get any towels?
Correct, we get no towels
And we will never go back to this hotell again
The island is very buatiful and the people is very friendly, but the hotells? If you want 3 stars, take 4 stars instead, it´s worth it, choose another hotell and get some service. They are not intrested

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

This hotel needs to be updated. Our room was large for a European room, but we had no air conditioning. When we asked about it, we were told it was broken. The breaker box was outside our room and they were all turned off. The weather was nice enough to sleep with the doors open, [windows would not open], but the cafe below our balcony played loud music until all hours of the night. After a day of traveling, we were ready to sleep! The front desk folks were not very friendly or helpful.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ConnieUrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2010

Hotel Vello d`Oro has a perfect a little oldfashioned quiet athmosphere with fine and
pleasant personal both in reception and restaurant.
Besides a great view from rooms and roofterrasse to sea, Greek Theatre, tower,
church and Etna as well.
Inger og Knud Erik, Hårby, Denmark

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikeh053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

The Vello D'oro is not a great hotel but it is in a central location and is clean and stocked with odd but interesting artwork.

The lift wasn't working and neither was the air conditioning. No internet. The hotel website advertises that every room has a safe for which you must request a key, but you will find on checking out that the cost is a euro per night. Not a big deal, but a surprise nickel and dime charge that left a bad taste.

Service at the desk was poor but the guy managing the breakfast was friendly and enthusiastic.

If you have heavy luggage keep in mind that getting to your room will involve many stairs. If the lift is out -- and those wires hanging out of the wall at the elevator control buttons makes me think that this is a semi-permanent condition -- pack lightly or make sure you are in good physical shape.

There are several bars just over the balcony and they all provide music. Expect a cacophony until midnight or so. Remember you can't close the windows because the AC doesn't work.

The scenery from the balcony was very nice if you didn't focus on the construction going on directly in the line of sight. And don't try to watch TV from your bed unless your eyesight is very good because the screen is very, very small.

All in all, this is not a modern service-oriented hotel but it does have some good qualities.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#61 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#62 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.3 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#59 of 88 in Taormina
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#20 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Isabella
Hotel Isabella
#47 of 88 in Taormina
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#35 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vello D'Oro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vello D'Oro Hotel

Property: Vello D'Oro Hotel
Address: Via Fazzello 2, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vello D'Oro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vello D'Oro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vello D'Oro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing