We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not engage”
Review of Vello D'Oro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vello D'Oro Hotel
Ranked #75 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not engage”
Reviewed 3 October 2010

The servicer personal was not there, they took our towels from the balkoney and when we asking why, they have no answer for us , but they told us they will ship them home to us, six weeeks later they never heard about us, do yoy think we get any towels?
Correct, we get no towels
And we will never go back to this hotell again
The island is very buatiful and the people is very friendly, but the hotells? If you want 3 stars, take 4 stars instead, it´s worth it, choose another hotell and get some service. They are not intrested

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    74
    46
    29
    24
See reviews for
23
116
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This hotel needs to be updated. Our room was large for a European room, but we had no air conditioning. When we asked about it, we were told it was broken. The breaker box was outside our room and they were all turned off. The weather was nice enough to sleep with the doors open, [windows would not open], but the cafe below our balcony played loud music until all hours of the night. After a day of traveling, we were ready to sleep! The front desk folks were not very friendly or helpful.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank ConnieUrso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Odense, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Hotel Vello d`Oro has a perfect a little oldfashioned quiet athmosphere with fine and
pleasant personal both in reception and restaurant.
Besides a great view from rooms and roofterrasse to sea, Greek Theatre, tower,
church and Etna as well.
Inger og Knud Erik, Hårby, Denmark

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikeh053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2009

The Vello D'oro is not a great hotel but it is in a central location and is clean and stocked with odd but interesting artwork.

The lift wasn't working and neither was the air conditioning. No internet. The hotel website advertises that every room has a safe for which you must request a key, but you will find on checking out that the cost is a euro per night. Not a big deal, but a surprise nickel and dime charge that left a bad taste.

Service at the desk was poor but the guy managing the breakfast was friendly and enthusiastic.

If you have heavy luggage keep in mind that getting to your room will involve many stairs. If the lift is out -- and those wires hanging out of the wall at the elevator control buttons makes me think that this is a semi-permanent condition -- pack lightly or make sure you are in good physical shape.

There are several bars just over the balcony and they all provide music. Expect a cacophony until midnight or so. Remember you can't close the windows because the AC doesn't work.

The scenery from the balcony was very nice if you didn't focus on the construction going on directly in the line of sight. And don't try to watch TV from your bed unless your eyesight is very good because the screen is very, very small.

All in all, this is not a modern service-oriented hotel but it does have some good qualities.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjdaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

I agree with most of the reviews of this hotel. We were there in late September, so the weather had cooled and we did not need air conditioning, so I can't comment on that. Our room was clean and very simple, and that was not a problem because when we were in our room, we spent much time on the balcony. We had no problem with the check in desk and I would like to complement the staff working the breakfast area for their help and friendliness. The breakfast does include ham, cheese and eggs. We paid 10 Euros for a taxi to get us from the bus to the hotel, since it was raining pretty hard when we got there in the evening. They are on a one way street, so the cab does drop you further from the front door. We ate at the hotel restaurant shortly afterwards and would say that the food was ok. But the rating of this hotel is about the overall experience, so I bumped it up from 3 stars to 4 because of the awesome views. We had a balcony and the views were just awesome, especially when it starts getting dark and you can see the lava from Mt. Etna, and the sea with the towns lit up to the east of it. That will always stay in my mind, along with the ringing of the bells from a nearby churches.

  • Liked — The view!!!
  • Disliked — Could have free interent access.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cafcolonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2008

Good stuff first: The view is out of this world from some of the rooms (we were lucky enough to get one with a great balcony) you can see everything from the ampitheatre on your left, the Piazza below all the way to Etna on your right (including the orange lava at night). We were gobsmacked by the views from our balcony and stood for over an hour after our arrival trying to take it all in.

Bad stuff: Other than the views I cant think of one thing the place has got going for it. From reception area all the way through the building and the rooms look very tired and dated. It's like a set from a 70's movie and I suspect its not had a penny spent on it for the last 30 years. Air con is poor also.

If I ever went back to Taormina I would choose a hotel with a pool though as Sicily baking hot and we had to get a bus to a private beach club to pay for access to a pool/beach.

  • Liked — View Incredible
  • Disliked — Entire interior tired and dated
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank nicolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2008

I have just returned from a 6 night stay at this hotel; great location, fabulous artwork, but unfortunately *not* cheap or cheerful I'm afraid!!! Arrived at the back entrance and rang the intercom- no greeting and had to haul luggage up to the 4th floor alone. No welcome from reception staff - they were hit and miss -on the whole really miserable and no basic courtesy. The room we had was quite spacious and sparse - not a problem- but very basic ie wardrobe, desk , chair &small tv. Old & shabby decor (eugh! woodchip walls!) which is a shame given the original features of the ceramics school and the gorgeous sculptures & paintings on display. Breakfast left a lot to be desired:cheese, ham &cereal,crusty bread or croissant. Thank goodness for coffee!!! However...the breakfast staff were pleasant, amenable and professional!! Nice breakfast terrace too. The location is so central -pro and con's to this. Easy to walk everywhere from the hotel , but the noise at night from the live music in the restaurants below was very irritating and LOUD!!! Roof Terrace is lovely;great view out to the sea or across to Mount Etna with it's glowing lava flow, Although we did have to wait over an hour for the bartender to appear. This hotel could be AMAZING but is stuck in a 30 year time warp. Expensive for a basic service but you are paying for the location. €5 a day for refigerator rental €1.50 a day for safe rental which is excessive as these would be basic amentities in most 3 * places. Air con was controlled by the desk - but after 6 days we had gotten used to it. On the whole you don't get what you pay for but you do get a great location!

  • Liked — the location & roof terrace views to mount etna and the coast line
  • Disliked — the live music noise from bars and restaurants. The sparse rooms.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#64 of 87 in Taormina
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Corallo
Hotel Corallo
#52 of 87 in Taormina
156 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Andromaco Palace Hotel
#56 of 87 in Taormina
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Chiara
Hotel Villa Chiara
#53 of 87 in Taormina
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
President Hotel Splendid
President Hotel Splendid
#62 of 87 in Taormina
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vello D'Oro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vello D'Oro Hotel

Property: Vello D'Oro Hotel
Address: Via Fazzello 2, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vello D'Oro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vello D'Oro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vello D'Oro Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing