We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andromaco Palace Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 June 2009

We have just come back from a week at the Andromaco palace hotel, and we were pleasantly surprised at how clean and friendly this hotel is. The owners English is not too good but that adds to the charm of the holiday. We did feel at first it was a bit of a hike into the town of Taomina but you soon get used to it and it helps to burn off the pasta that you eat.
I am a very poor sleeper and found this hotel quiet both inside and outside with the most annoying thing being the birds chirping in the morning.
The pool is very clean and well kept, there is no pool bar but there is a bar at reception and there always seems to be someone around to get you drinks.
Breakfasts are basic, but that suited us just fine, although we'd love to know what the red liquid we drank every morning was? There was always cereals, tinned peaches, bread rolls, cheese ,cakes, yoghurts and eggs.
I emailed the hotel before we arrived to ask for room 306 or 206, 306 was already promised but they reserved 206 for us and we had a lovely view of the bay and the cable cars.
Please be aware that there is alot of walking involved as there is no parking in Taomina.
We were told to visit Castelmola and it was well worth the drive, we went early eveninng and the views were breathtaking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinklady45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    61
    37
    12
    15
See reviews for
52
67
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

Stayed in room 205, a very spacious room with a great sea view. The room is kept spotlessly clean and I'm sure that the maid waits for you to go out before cleaning (I hate being kicked out of bed by maids!) Air conditioning is included in the price. The staff are friendly and helpful. If I had one thing to wish for in the hotel then it would've been a fridge.

The walk into town can be a little painful in the heat but it really isn't that far and gives you a little justification to all of the eating and drinking that you'll be doing in Taormina (make sure you try a crepe or a waffle from the seller in the main square at night!)

  • Liked — The room, the price, the staff
  • Disliked — The walk into town (not too far though), no fridge.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CR170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2008

Stayed 1 week june 2008, lovely hotel with very friendly helpful staff. Had room 105 which we would definitely recommend - large shady balcony with views of pool and sea (paid extra for this). Hotel spotless, breakfast reasonable, able to get drinks all day from bar upstairs and lunch on request. Pool area clean and very quiet, plenty of sunbeds to go round. 10 min walk to centre which was tiring in 40 deg heat but MUCH nicer to be slightly out of heaving town centre. Best price 3star hotel I could find in Taormina. Would highly recommend.

  • Liked — views, staff, cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fox81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We booked room 306 there (thanks for the hint) and had a great view over the sea and Taormina. Note that there are also similar views to get from adjacent rooms also from rooms adjacent to 206, but their balcony is much smaller and does not go around the corner. The hotel staff was really friendly but if they advice on booking a car locally do not go for City cars as they have only old bangers (despite advertising new models). But I can not complain as I did get the room without paying the extra for a sea view. The room itself was modern and the bathroom was good with a great shower and bidet. It would have been nice if they have a kettle in the room to make coffee or tea. The swimming pool was very clean. Breakfast is limited to good coffee (choice espresso , cappuccino etc), but not great rolls with either meat or cheese or eggs available but not a choice of them. There is no lift in the hotel and the walk to Taormina (15 min) is along the road without pavement which has Italian traffic so beware. At the end of the holiday we found some saver shortcuts to the town centre starting from the Anthony church. So if you do not like walking do not go here. Generally, we had a great holiday here but as this hotel serves breakfast only note that going out in Taormina is not cheap. The cable car in Taormina is not far from the hotel (10 min) so a quick swim in the afternoon near Bella isla is feasible. If you go on an organised trip to Mount Etna (3 hours) be aware that they do not take you all the way to the present eruption. You better hire a car (parking is free at the hotel) drive to Etna before 9 am and get a guide at the bottom of the cable car for only 10 euro’s more. You will be trekking to the eruption and walking down to the bottom of the cable car (5-6 hours). Also note that this hotel is a lot cheaper than most in Taormina.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank dorus1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

Stayed at this lovely small hotel this summer, found it to be friendly and welcoming, staff were pleasant and no request was too much trouble. I do agree that the room you are allocated would make every difference, I would have been disappointed to have had one of the interior rooms, we had a large room at the back looking onto the courtyard but I understand that the sea views were impressive, yes breakfast is simple but this suited us fine, we stayed by the pool a couple of times for lunch and this was lovely, again simple but who can eat too much in all that heat. The entire place was spotless and in good repair. It is a short walk to the centre of Taormina (about 10mins in trainers and a lot longer in heels!) Taxi's are approx 8-10 euros depending on the time of day and there is a small local bus. Taormina itself is lovely lots of great little places to eat and some bars and clubs but nothing tacky. would recommend the resort and hotel to anyone

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank lostforwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ratby, England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2007

Just back from Andromaco and so pleased we had a room with seaview (206) after reading previous reports. Room was quite spacious for 2 people, kept spotless by friendly cleaner every day, shower room/toilet very good (definately no nasty smells!). Balcony was private, large, on 2 sides of hotel, beautiful views overlooking pool, sea and old town, including Greek theatre (lit at night) and castle. Breakfast was good and adequate, typical Mediterranean food; bread, biscuits,jams, cereal, fruit, all in ample supplies, cheese and ham on request, and lots of fruit juice and lovely coffee, as well as tea. All served by friendly accomodating staff in lovely bright airy room adjacent to pool/terrace. Nice pool with jaccuzzi at side with plenty of sun loungers. Reception staff friendly and helpful with good understanding of English. We preferred the 'out of town centre' position as it gave a feel for community way of life and was probably alot quieter than being in central location, but it did mean a 10 minute walk which is quite hilly to get into centre, and some of the roads needed caution due to the local traffic as there weren't always pavements. Taormina eating expensive!

  • Liked — Views and position
  • Disliked — hills and steps
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMChevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

Booked this hotel via Cosmos, but contacted the hotel direct and asked for room 206 after reading a previous revue and was glad we did. Looking through some of the doors of other rooms while they were being cleaned looked rather small & dark. Room 206 has a good view and very large balcony, and unlike some other revues did not suffer from sound problems. This is possibly because this room and the one above & below appear to be a recent extention which may have been built to a better standard. It has a small freeform pool which was kept spotless & jacussi[€1 charge] however it has no shallow end and would be dangerous for children & non swimmers and has no life guard. Breakfast was fresh coffee, rolls, sometimes apples, sometimes cheese, cake or tart or cereal. However Sicilians it would appear have breakfast out and have coffee & some of the most wonderful cake on the planet. It was about a ten minute walk to the edge of the main pedestrian town centre area and although there is no pavement we did not find this a problem and have experienced a lot worse round the bay of Naples. In all it was a nice very clean hotel, staff were polite & helpful, pool & surround was good & very clean.[We had it to ourself most mid to late afternoon] but could be dangerous for children. Room 206 was great with good view. The area around the hotel was nice & quiet and we always had a good nights sleep with no disturbance. Breakfast was very typical 'Continental' & the coffe was great. We would stay here again & Taormina though expensive it a wonderful place to visit and we will be back.

  • Liked — Room 206 has large balcony & great views, Pool was spotless
  • Disliked — breakfast could be more varied
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#15 of 87 in Taormina
512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#37 of 87 in Taormina
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 87 in Taormina
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#60 of 87 in Taormina
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#25 of 87 in Taormina
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andromaco Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andromaco Palace Hotel

Property: Andromaco Palace Hotel
Address: Via Gaetano Martino, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Andromaco Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east coast of Sicily, the l'Andromao Palace Hotel has a hillside location in the picturesque town of Taormina. The Hotel offers rooms with beautiful view of the sea, easily accessible. The property open all year round and features a charming outdoor swimming pool with sunbeds and beach umbrellas, a bar, elegantly furnished lounges and private parking facilities. Due to its location, the property is the ideal place to discover Sicily's rich cultural and natural heritage. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, all rooms are furnished in a classical style and have private bathroom, hairdryer, TV sat, direct dial Telephone, heating, air conditioning, balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Andromaco Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Andromaco Palace
Andromaco Palace Taormina
Andromaco Palace Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing