We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view”
Review of Hotel Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isola Bella
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous view”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The best thing for us about this hotel was the stunning view of the sea and coastline from the balcony, especially at sunrise. Otherwise everything was fine without being exceptional.
What we weren't so keen on was the very touristy commercialised location. Even some of the shop signs were in English. Lovely to experience the views for a night but we wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.
Don't try to drive to Taormina - take the funicular railway!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    138
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
48
172
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I selcetd the hotel base don teh promising view. Indeed- this is the best (and maybe only) good thing about this hotel.
Well, staff was relativly friendly too.
the hotel is situated about 700 m form the cable car.
it is on a very noisy and busy road
no side walks, so walking to the cable car is slalum between busses and motorcycles driven by locals (!)
parking the car- by the road sidde, if you are lucky it willbe close to the hotel.
the view indeed is fantastic. Isola ebla indeed bela. But, like moses almost, quite hard to get to the beach or island.
teh room was very small, the showerw-toilet willnot suite an slightly oversized person.
Breakfast is just what it takes to make you not complain.

and taormina itself- the most un-Sicilan place we have seen. the only place where restaurnat tried to cheat us, where toursit gets a very rude attitude. for example- as we wanted ot seat for coffee, my, g-d forbid, need the toillte. the owner ran after ehr, knocked on teh WC door and demanded she will comit to buy drinks before she pee...
and if menu say 2.5Euro for Arinci- well, if you sit you add 1.1 euro per each piece! and not mentioned anywhere, of course

Room Tip: take hotel in Taormina town, not by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gadsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Taormina hotels

Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Everything in this hotel is similar like in each normal 3-star european hotel. Normal rooms, normal breakfast, clean bed, poor TV, friendly personal. But view from the balcony - is really outstending, fantastic and gorgeous!!!
In our room I could watch this solar performance from my bed (even more - from my pillow!) and it is unforgetable!
Important! Your foto-camera must be always in touch and ready!
The rout to Funicular to get to Taormina was a little uneasy because of no pavement - some italian cars moves very fast! Sity bus stop is near hotel - it is very good and comfortable! Even when we were going from Messina at late evening - our bus was stoped right near hotel - it was nice! And smell of lemon trees around is so pleasant!
Irina from Kiev

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view is a little noisy, but view is so great!, that you will forget this noise. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We booked this hotel in September of last year and we had a pleasurable experience. If you decide to book, I highly recommend you choose a sea view room, as the Isola Bella is right in front. The first thing we would do when waking up was to enjoy our balcony view, which is amazing.
Just a short walk to the beach,Taormina center and the cable car. Breakfast was basic but the cappuccino very good. Good value hotel with kind staff, would return again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked this hotel early on and requested views of the Isola Bella itself. What a pleasure to waken up to that sight every morning! From the moment we checked in till the moment we left, we had a pleasurable experience. Staff always pleasant and always accommodating. Short walk to the beach. The only drawback was the trip on the funiculare each day to get to taormina proper each day, but hey! You can't have both. We got exactly what we asked for and more, so if we ever decide to go back to Taormina (and this was our second time) we'll have no hesitation in going back to the Isola Bella

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea. The view is fantastic. The other side faces into the pool, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miketw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We really like this hotel. The rooms are smaill but very clean and the staff is great. It was so nice to have the bar in the lobby after a day of sightseeing. We really enjoyed the view from the deck. Our room faced the wall of the pool in the back of the hotel but there was a small balcony. We went to the deck to see the view. The breakfast was good, nice choice of foods and they replenished it on a regular basis. We spent a day at the beach in front of the hotel, had to walk down alot of steps but it was worth it. The beach is rocky and we rented chairs for 5 euros each and we had them all day. My husband and son had a foot massage on the beach for 10 euros, they said that it was good. There is also a restaurant on the beach which was good.
We took the funivia to Taormina which was a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel. The town of Taormina was beautiful and very busy.We were glad to go back to the quiet at the hotel. We visited the Theatre which was interesting but I think that we should have purchased the audio. One night we took a cab back to the hotel and I think that it was 20 euros.
There are 3-4 restaurants in walking distance to the hotel.
If you would like a small hotel with beautiful views away from the town this is the hotel for you. I would return to this hotel if I get the opportunity to return to Sicily

Room Tip: The front of the hotel offers sea views.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mump52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We arrived at Hotel Isola bella late at night and was immediately given our room keys to rest after checking in. Woke up the the most beautiful sight : Isola Bella, right in front of our balcony!!! What a view!!! Breakfast was good by Italian usual sparse breakfast of a coffee and a cold crossiant!! It had a huge spread of cold meats and coffee, bread, crossiants, eggs and DIY freshly squeezed BLOOD ORANGE JUICE !!! Yummmmm!!! The staff were helpful, giving us directions on how to walk to the cable car station (10 mins walk away) to taormina. We met later an older couple, presumably the owner, and they were so so kind and lovely. We initially intended to stay just one night and move on, but because the hotel was so lovely, with such an amazing view from their balcony, and such great value, we decided to stay 3 nights, to soak up the beauty and enjoy Taormina on a slower pace, while enjoying all the hotel had to offer. My husband and I even bought pizza on one of the nights and enjoyed it on our balcony, watching the starry mediterrean sea below us, drinking cheap but great Sicilian wine and cheeses bought from the supermarket...it was magical!!! It's truly a good value hotel with great helpful and kind staff!!! Will definitely stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Pay a little more to have the centre balcony room facing directly to Isola Bella. There are two on e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellernot2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
#3 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#33 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Mendolia Beach Hotel
#44 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#40 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isola Bella

Property: Hotel Isola Bella
Address: Via Nazionale 196, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isola Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Bella Hotel
Isola Bella Taormina
Hotel Isola Bella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing