We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to your baptism of Sicilian cutlure at half the price.”
Review of Hotel Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Isola Bella
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 29 September 2012

As echoed by many before - get a room with a sea view otherwise you will be facing a hill and the swimming pool.if u don't you will also miss the amazing sunsets and rises from your room!

Despite the grubby exterior from the street. This hotel is a great little place to stay. The staff were very friendly, attentive and served a good and varied breakfast to suit all.

Some complained about steps which is a little odd as this is not an issue but be warned,rooms with a view are noisey, however, if you are from a city you won't notice.

Some previous commenters are quite negative and need to be put back in their box!

This is a 3 star hotel- its clean, room sizes are good, has a pool, a galley esc bathroom and a Large balcony and all for very little cost!!

This is no grand plaza hotel but in a fabulous town like Taormina, swimming in the sea, eating in the array of lovely family run restaurants and getting the sky lift ( 800m away) at night to watch the night flyby is what this place is about.

Welcome to the Sicilian culture for half the price!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CuratingNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2012

Hotel well within expectations for its class: clean, quiet, good breakfast. We had a partial view of the sea, but that didn't bother us, still was a good spot for a early evening rest eating peaches and watching the fishing boats. The evening staff member (we didn't get his name) was friendly and helpful, gave us a hand with train times and other information. The minor disadvantage is the location in relation to the town centre - you either have to shell out 6 Euros for a round trip on the cable car or do like we did: climb the hill. Which is not that hard if you are in shape, 20 minutes easily.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curupira_enfezado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The best thing for us about this hotel was the stunning view of the sea and coastline from the balcony, especially at sunrise. Otherwise everything was fine without being exceptional.
What we weren't so keen on was the very touristy commercialised location. Even some of the shop signs were in English. Lovely to experience the views for a night but we wouldn't have wanted to stay longer.
Don't try to drive to Taormina - take the funicular railway!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I selcetd the hotel base don teh promising view. Indeed- this is the best (and maybe only) good thing about this hotel.
Well, staff was relativly friendly too.
the hotel is situated about 700 m form the cable car.
it is on a very noisy and busy road
no side walks, so walking to the cable car is slalum between busses and motorcycles driven by locals (!)
parking the car- by the road sidde, if you are lucky it willbe close to the hotel.
the view indeed is fantastic. Isola ebla indeed bela. But, like moses almost, quite hard to get to the beach or island.
teh room was very small, the showerw-toilet willnot suite an slightly oversized person.
Breakfast is just what it takes to make you not complain.

and taormina itself- the most un-Sicilan place we have seen. the only place where restaurnat tried to cheat us, where toursit gets a very rude attitude. for example- as we wanted ot seat for coffee, my, g-d forbid, need the toillte. the owner ran after ehr, knocked on teh WC door and demanded she will comit to buy drinks before she pee...
and if menu say 2.5Euro for Arinci- well, if you sit you add 1.1 euro per each piece! and not mentioned anywhere, of course

Room Tip: take hotel in Taormina town, not by the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Everything in this hotel is similar like in each normal 3-star european hotel. Normal rooms, normal breakfast, clean bed, poor TV, friendly personal. But view from the balcony - is really outstending, fantastic and gorgeous!!!
In our room I could watch this solar performance from my bed (even more - from my pillow!) and it is unforgetable!
Important! Your foto-camera must be always in touch and ready!
The rout to Funicular to get to Taormina was a little uneasy because of no pavement - some italian cars moves very fast! Sity bus stop is near hotel - it is very good and comfortable! Even when we were going from Messina at late evening - our bus was stoped right near hotel - it was nice! And smell of lemon trees around is so pleasant!
Irina from Kiev

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view is a little noisy, but view is so great!, that you will forget this noise. High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We booked this hotel in September of last year and we had a pleasurable experience. If you decide to book, I highly recommend you choose a sea view room, as the Isola Bella is right in front. The first thing we would do when waking up was to enjoy our balcony view, which is amazing.
Just a short walk to the beach,Taormina center and the cable car. Breakfast was basic but the cappuccino very good. Good value hotel with kind staff, would return again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Booked this hotel early on and requested views of the Isola Bella itself. What a pleasure to waken up to that sight every morning! From the moment we checked in till the moment we left, we had a pleasurable experience. Staff always pleasant and always accommodating. Short walk to the beach. The only drawback was the trip on the funiculare each day to get to taormina proper each day, but hey! You can't have both. We got exactly what we asked for and more, so if we ever decide to go back to Taormina (and this was our second time) we'll have no hesitation in going back to the Isola Bella

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the sea. The view is fantastic. The other side faces into the pool, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miketw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#15 of 87 in Taormina
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Borromeo Resort
Borromeo Resort
#60 of 87 in Taormina
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#27 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Grand Soleil
Le Grand Soleil
#52 of 87 in Taormina
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isola Bella

Address: Via Nazionale 196, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £41 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isola Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Bella Hotel
Isola Bella Taormina
Hotel Isola Bella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing