We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of a facelift, but better value than most hotels in the area”
Review of Hotel Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Isola Bella
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“In need of a facelift, but better value than most hotels in the area”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel, which we'd booked because it was one of the very few in Taromina in our price range which had decent enough reviews! It wasn't an unpleasant place to stay, but the hotel could definitely use some revamping/modernising. The air-conditioning units are from the dawn of time - giant boxy things that sound like a semi-trailer and need to be left on continuously to have any effect. I wouldn't stay here if you're a larger person - the shower in our room and our friend's was ridiculously small. I'm 5 foot tall and small build and I found it difficult to wash my hair without banging my elbows on the walls. We'd booked a double room, but got two single mattresses pushed together and covered with a double sheet (same for our friend). The wifi is intermittent, but a decent speed when working. The breakfast is decent - the croissants and cakes are delicious. Location is good if you want to walk down to Isola Bella, and not a problem to get up to Taormina town either - it's less than a 5 minute walk to the bottom of the cable car which takes you up to town for €3 each way. All in all, the hotel is a good, clean place to rest your head at a much more reasonable price than others in the area.

The hotel offers a free shuttle bus to their sister resort Copacabana, which is on the beach, and to hire sunloungers and umbrellas there at cheap rates (€6 a sunlounger). We were led to believe that Copacabana was on the beach at Isola Bella, but it's actually more than a 5 minute drive away to a normal bit of beach. You have to book the shuttlebus and your lounger/umbrella at the hotel before you go. We were glad we hadn't booked umbrellas, as the hotel wanted us to pay extra for this, but when you get there, the umbrellas are actually attached to the loungers, so you can use them anyway! the beach is nice, in that it's much less crowded than Isola Bella, but about half-way through our stay there, the tide/winds must have changed, and a whole lot of gross rubbish started to wash up in the beautifully clear water, which was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank little_kate87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    138
    88
    29
    19
See reviews for
48
174
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

we drove from Sferracavallo to Taormina, an amazing place to visit. out of a 2 1/2 week visit this turned out to be our most expensive place we stayed by 40 - 60 euros and for that price it seemed a little worn down. from tiles being damaged to the bathroom being musty.
the staff was very helpful and accommodating.
the view from the hotel and our balcony was magnificent.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mipa22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Beore choosing Isola Bella I have read tons of reviews, and I was conscious or the fact the hotel had no other oustanding feature more than have the best view of Isola Bella.
And so it was. Isola Bella Hotel is in many ways a damm ugly property. A squary concrete block typical of early 70s savage land exploitation, building. The hotel was probably the result of massive tourist development during the period in Italy there was no law protecting special landscape.
Despite all that I went, and obtain to stay in one of the "room with the view".
I must say the view was breathless specially at sunrise, but that was it effectively.
The price/value equation was OK, but nothing can be done to the uglyness of the Hotel.
Other remarks, personnel was extremely nice, breakfast very decent, and all in all also very clean. Accessing Taormina from the hotel can be done in various way, walking, cable carrier (be aware only open during summer season), bus, or your on transportation.
The room with the view comes also with a lot of noise from the "strada Nazionale" and the rail just underneat the road.
I would not recommend this Hotel unless you need a place to stay for one , or two nights.

Room Tip: Its up to you, but if you come to this hotel make sure you the view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked this hotel knowing it would not be 4 star luxury, but the view is one of the most important things for us and I guarantee you will not be disappointed with this fantastic view. It's a very clean hotel and well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The rooms facing the ocean do offer a spectacular view. There is no denying that. However the rooms themselves are tired and in much need of an update. That rotary phone seems to be from 60’s! The bathroom was narrow and cramped.

The first night we stayed was very windy and we slept with the balcony window open. All we could hear were the rough seas and it was very relaxing with perfect temperature. The next night it was calm but the train and road traffic required us to keep the window closed, but the noise levels were acceptable.

Breakfast was acceptable with fresh squeezed OJ a highlight, though the burnt coffee wasn’t well received. Parking is very much luck of the draw. We arrived late and scored the last spot in front of the hotel along the road. We had to leave the keys to the car at reception. If that spot wasn’t available I’m not sure where we would have parked. Never used the pool.

I think if you are going to spend most of your time at the beach the Isola Bella is a decent option. However, if you are spending most of your time in town, I’d get some place either closer to the lift or up at top.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MALTA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2013

The hotel is in the best position for Taormina with a impecable view ,very close to the beach and a very helpfull great staff and the breakfast was superb and lots of to choose from.i definitly go back and recomand it to all.

Room Tip: Room are great to sea views and if you are 3 or 4 take the top floor rooms in floor 6 with a large t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anubis071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem. I couldnt believe the value. The room was charming clean and spacious with no less than three balcony windows opening out to different views. Breakfast was fantastic and the staff were warm and helpful. Maria was a particular delight. When I was unsuccessful in obtaining a meal late at night she generously brought me a range of snacks along with my glass of wine. Parking was not a problem and this hotel is directly across from Isola bella. I imagine in the summer that it would be a delight to simply cross the road and be able to paddle in the water. This hotel was fantastic value and I highly recommend it. It is easy enough to get up to high Taormina and this hotel give you the wonderful experience of Taormina without the hefty price tag.

Room Tip: Sea view of course! Corner room gives three different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElinyaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.2 mi away
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
Jonic Hotel Mazzaro
#3 of 4 in Mazzaro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#33 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Baia Azzurra
Hotel Baia Azzurra
#2 of 4 in Mazzaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Mendolia Beach Hotel
#44 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Plage Resort
La Plage Resort
#40 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isola Bella

Property: Hotel Isola Bella
Address: Via Nazionale 196, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isola Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Bella Hotel
Isola Bella Taormina
Hotel Isola Bella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing