We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is very expensive and overcrowded in August!”
Review of Hotel Isola Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Isola Bella
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed at isola bella hotel which was poorly furnished, fixtures all leaking though clean and very complicated parking.The staff in the restaurant could b nicer to people. Breakfast passable.

    • Value
1  Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is quite basic and needs a refurb but it is in a good location if you are looking to spend most of the time on the beach. It has a great pool and the breakfast is quite good if you go early as it runs out quite fast. The biggest let down for me was that the bed was so hard i found it hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellyh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Nice views from front of hotel no view at the back as hotel is on the side of the cliff. If you are a person that struggles with LOTS of steps and slopes you need to stay in a hotel in the centre of the town up at the top of the cliff as you have to walk up a hill to catch the cable car (€3 each way). And the beach is down 150 steps too. Helpful staff at hotel, good breakfast. Ask for additional pillows as they are paper thin, the shower cubicles are minuscule, even my friend who is tiny struggled with the size. If you want a clean cheap place to sleep with a good breakfast this is ok. If you want anymore than this stay somewhere else.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Jellybabycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Nice, quiet, clean and small hotel. Parking very hard but breakfast will make up for it. Beach too packed and cannot walk coz of the large pebbles! Also bathroom and furniture very old!needs refurbishment badly

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is by no means average, it is a few great aspects and a few bad ones. The main attraction for this hotel is that it is very close to the beach, and **some** of the rooms have a beautiful sea view. The negative aspects are access to the rest of Taormina and the tiny bathrooms.

Location:

The hotel is located along a road that follows the coast. Beautiful scenery, but no sidewalk and very limited and awkward options for parking. You can easily walk to a couple of beaches that are right across the road.

Normally this should be a great place for strolls, but strangely enough, outside the old town core, Taormina turns out to be not very pedestrian-friendly. There are stairways that cut through the many switchbacks in the roads, but the pedestrian walkways are often in disrepair and sometimes closed.

A big minus for the hotel is that you also have to walk -- along a busy road with no shoulder or sidewalk -- to the cable car that takes you to the center of Taormina and the central bus station, where you would typically arrive from the airport.

You can also walk to the city, but it is either back alleys or along several winding roads with no shoulders or sidewalk. If you plan to stay out late, check the cable car schedule, or be ready to take a cab or walk about 40 minutes to 1 hour.

View:

The sea views are gorgeous, but make sure you get a room with a view. The rooms on the other side of the building are facing a steep hillside. I have seen less depressing views out of airport motels facing the parking lot.

Accommodation:

In my experience, the room was clean and kept that way by a very conscientious and generally friendly staff.

My biggest complaint is about the bathrooms. I concur with another review, this was possibly the smallest shower I have seen to date. The bathroom had a sink, a bidet, a toilet, and a shower, all in the space of an American powder room.

What is more annoying about this ridiculously tiny bathroom, is that there was plenty of unused space in the room. Tripadvisor should come up with a rating system for these unnecessarily tiny European bathrooms.

The furniture and the air conditioning were probably from the time the hotel was built (1970's), but that is ok, they were in good working order, including a rotary phone (make sure you show it to your kids, this is probably their only chance to see one).

Other:

The staff was friendly, respectful and knowledgeable. Fairly standard but nice breakfast buffet. Good, complimentary wifi.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a rom with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiklosH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed is a tiny single room with The Worlds Smallest Shower Room - it was actually impossible to turn around in the shower with the door closed.... Room was old but clean. Small balcony with stunning view of Isola Bella. Buffet breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaxPleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Least favorite stop in my 2 week trip to Italy. The town was too crowded and felt a lot like New York, just too busy. My room in this hotel had a cockroach problem, which the staff was not too concerned with. They were small, but still unsettling. They seemed to come from the cracks in the bathroom. Pass if you are touring Italy, leave this place to the locals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barntotheish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
Hotel Baia delle Sirene
#40 of 87 in Taormina
259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sole Castello
Sole Castello
#65 of 87 in Taormina
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Calipso
Hotel Calipso
#1 of 1 in Mazzeo
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mendolia Beach Hotel
Mendolia Beach Hotel
#46 of 87 in Taormina
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Soleado
Soleado
#24 of 87 in Taormina
545 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Condor
Hotel Condor
#26 of 87 in Taormina
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Isola Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Isola Bella

Address: Via Nazionale 196, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Price Range: £41 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Isola Bella 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Isola Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Bella Hotel
Isola Bella Taormina
Hotel Isola Bella Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing