We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding lunch - still thinking of it”

Lido La Caravella Club
Ranked #20 of 305 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$97
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Don't look at the menu - listen to Dominic (the owner) and you will get a meal to remember for a very long time. Unbelievably fresh raw fish delicately prepared, octupus salad that blew us away and then delicious pasta and risotto.
Free shuttle pick up and return, charming location and service from an age gone by.
We returned a couple of days later for a superb repeat performance - what better recommendation can i give.

Thank you Dominic for a grand time

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nickcaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 180 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Dominic is an AWSOME host . He is so cool chilled and laid back . He makes you feel relaxed and happy with nothing too much trouble. We had a wonderful lunch of the freshest seabass. We also started with the seafood risotto, we couldn't choose so we had both. I love the fact that the menu specials were based on the freshest ingredients they could find at market. We had planned to leave after lunch but Dominic offered us some sun loungers on the beach to relax and enjoy the sun. How could we refuse. It is now 6.30pm and we still haven't left. We also had amazing massages on the beach and Dominic has offered us a driver to take us back to our hotel as a cab was too long a wait . What an amazing guy and an amazing place. Don't miss it. Even the freshly squeezed orange juice is from oranges from his wife's garden. Superb!

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LeylaGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Arrived early and sat on the beach with a lovely breeze with glass of Prosecco then sat down for dinner. Dominic the owner sat us and reviewed the menu and specials. We choose the specials that started with a shrimp carpaccio with watercress gray sea salt ,olive oil and orange zest. Perfect balance of favors. The shrimp was not overpowered and the taste was fresh. Then a fresh octopus salad with lemon and olive oil was perfect. The pasta was tagliatelle with tomatoes, procinci mushrooms, and olive oil. Pasta was fresh and soft and good balance of favors . Main course of baked sea bass with served whole and served tabled side with tomatoes , capers ,olives I think again the preparation allowed the freshness of the fish come through and did not overpower the dish. We had a Sicilian Chardonnay (Alcesti) that was excellent. It is a little out of the way from town but well worth the adventure. What more can I say great evening with excellent dinner.

Date of visit: May 2014
Thank 206davidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Excellent beachside location with super fresh fish. Service was very good. Marinated fish was outstanding. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: May 2014
1  Thank 337MG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The owner's personal attention created a memorable experience. From the beginning of our dinner (which was considered lunch by Sicilian standards) to the end, the service and recommendations of the staff (and the very attentive owner) were excellent. The appetizer and entrees were outstanding, and we met the chef. The prices were moderate and an overall great value. The wine was excellent and the limoncello (on the house) was Dominic's (the owner) personal recipe, and far better than any other limencello we had in Sicily. I highly recommend Lido La Caravella Club.

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lido La Caravella Club also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Lido La Caravella Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing