We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an amazing place!!”

Lido La Caravella Club
Ranked #33 of 274 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$97
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Still an amazing place!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have been coming to La Caravella Club for the last 2 years to spend days on the beach. Dominic, Julio and his team were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. It's the best beach I have found in Taormina, not overcrowded and only a 10 minute stroll from the cable car. There is a shuttle service provided by Dominic, however the walk helps with the waistline and views en-route are breathtaking!
Thank you for such a great holiday experience again, I will see you again next year!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    67
    18
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best lunch of all time”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I visited Lido La Caravella Club during our honeymoon in Taormina a few weeks ago, and I can honestly say it was not only the best meal we had in Sicily, but one of the best we've ever had.

Everything was just perfect - Dominic was friendly, helpful and kind, walking us through the specials, joining us for a glass of wine, letting us try his homemade limoncello, and even getting one of his drivers to give us a lift back up the hill to our hotel!

The food was exquisite. The red prawn carpaccio was delicious and unique, the lobster risotto was expertly seasoned and flavoured, and the fresh catch of the day (see our picture!) was amazing, so fresh and tasty.

We would eat there every day!

Thanks Dominic for an incredible meal which we will remember for a long time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Still perfect, still the best”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

2nd time here, were so happy to see Maestro Dominic and the the team again. Service, food, atmosphere…everyhing is good. The best beach/Lido in Taormina. Not so crowdy and close to the city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanilYuzhakov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little Treasure”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a wonderful beach bar/restuarant this place is. The beaches along this coastline are pebbles/shingle so the sun longer is the only real option. The beachboy sorted them out straight away, there's also a towel hire service, (1.5 Euros), which is handy if your hotel doesn't want you taking the towels out.

The beachboy also acts as a waiter all day even bring meals out to your lounger. The view from the restuarant is lovely, very typical Sicilian and all of the big rocks have been cleared so getting in the sea is hassel free.

There are some really lovely dishes on the menu, try the stuffed swordfish, Sicilian style or the clams with spaghetti. There's a good selection of beers and wines, we did like the Corvo Rosa.

We went down in the morning, stayed for lunch and didn't leave until it was getting dark. Tells you all really

Toilettes and changing facilities were clean and functional. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, I even saw the beachboy helping a couple and their dog in and out of their dinghy with no qualms.

All in all I can't recommend this bar enough. If you're lucky enough to be in Taormina then do not miss out on this fantastic little treasure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoetheWedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic day”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We have just got back from Taormina and totally fell in love with the area. We were lucky to have the time to spend one day at the Lido La Caravella Club. We were picked up from our hotel and taken there. This was part of the great service we received. This part of the beach is really peaceful and scenic but best of all was the staff. The owner Dominic was amazing and like all his staff could not do enough for you and we felt totally spoilt. We had lunch there and the food was excellent and we had drinks later on in the afternoon. Prices for the day was totally acceptable for the service we receive and were not overpriced. We were taken back to our hotel and can honestly say it was a wonderful relaxing day and was so disappointed we did not have time to go again with all the sightseeing we had arranged to do. Would recommend this to anyone who is visiting Taormina

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Valsong777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lido La Caravella Club also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Lido La Caravella Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing