We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great wine, the best service!”

Osteria RossoDiVino
Ranked #7 of 263 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neptune, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, the best service!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband stumbled upon this place the night before I arrived in Taormina and had such a great experience he insisted we have dinner their one night together.

We made a reservation for that Sunday and it did not disappoint!

The sisters who run the restaurant are top notch! They are extremely knowledgeable about wine and you are able to pretty much order anything by the glass. We basically had them pair our wines with what we ordered.

First, the menu is written on a chalkboard. It changes daily based on the freshest ingredients. We opted to try the eggplant parmesan as a antipasto. It was absolutely delicious. For dinner, seafood was definitely the gameplan with seafood. I ordered the spaghetti with anchovy and breadcrumbs. Anchovies were so fresh they tasted nothing like what we get here in the US. My husband had the seppia ink pasta with ricci. It was absolutely to die for!

The dessert was equally amazing - panna cotta with fresh strawberries!

But like I said, the food and wine are only part of it - The sisters that run this place bring the whole experience together! I really hope to return here again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    836
    192
    68
    35
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tbe”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect lunch, perfect surprise dinner, Grate service with knowledge and passion for their work wonderful atmosphere, vest food quality, lovely people.. Price according to the service and quality... CO&JLJ

Helpful?
2 Thank josipa l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tucked away and delicious”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In a town where obtaining great food is easy to be one of the best is a true achievement. Couple that with being tucked away behind the main streets, charming service and a truly fantastic local wine list what more could you want

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickcaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We where lucky to find this restaurant on the recommdation of our hotel. The restaurant is run by two efficient and charismatic sisters who do the order taking and serving The food is excellent and the service equally as good. It is an open and modern kitchen that believes in using fresh ingredients, some modern twists on the old standbys and great taste. Compliments to the chef. In a tourist town we were happy to fine new innovative cooking in a nice setting with wonderful service

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Really good but you pay for it”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Eating here was a proper experience which certainly added to the meal. The daily menu was on a chalkboard in Italian so one of the proprietors helpfully talked us through the options in great detail. Everything was nicely done and the service was excellent.

The food was of high quality and expertly cooked.

We followed their recommendation on the accompanying wine - again excellent.

As some others have said on this site, it is not a cheap meal, certainly Taormina prices and then some and therefore "value" would be the only slight negative we would have with it but if you are looking for quality food this is the place to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Cubs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria RossoDiVino also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Osteria RossoDiVino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing