We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Porta del Tocco Design Suites
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Located in a court just 30 seconds off the main street with the shops and restaurants, this is a great place to stay. It has modern, clean rooms with up to date facilities. Breakfast on the terrace was very good with a wide choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. While I would recommend this hotel, the rooms are quite a tight squeeze between the end of the bed and the desk and don't function very well if you want to use your computer on the desk. Noise does drift up the from the main street late at night if you have a front room as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMG2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    42
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
89
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were a group of 9 friends, independent travellers from different parts of the world and we stayed one night at Hotel Porta del Tocco. The hotel is excellently located right off the main street of Taormina, up a flight of steps.It is newly opened, with modern rooms and facilities. A well laid out boutique hotel but value for money. It was like staying in a 5-star hotel room without paying 5-star prices. The art works adorning the walls make interesting conversation.The young lady in charge, who mans the reception desk is warm, friendly and most helpful. The room rate includes breakfast, which was a delicious spread served out on the terrace. Personal service is the hall mark of this little hotel. The lady's cousin runs a gelato shop down the street called "nicecream" . A stay at the hotel entitles you to a "one-for one" offer at the gelato shop. I must say the gelato and granita that we had were excellent, served by a friendly young man who deserves to be successful. Could have stayed longer at this lovely hotel.

Manjit Kour
Singapore

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at this small but charming family run boutique hotel for 6 nights in June 2013. It's one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in for a long time. We received a warm welcome on arrival and were made to feel very comfortable in the hotel and all staff were only too willing to help. Customer service is sometimes lost in Italy, but not here - the customer was definitely important.

The hotel is in a small courtyard and is a lovely mixture of traditional style presented in a modern way. They have made great use of the space and you will find beautiful ceramics and art are found in all parts of the hotel.

The rooms are minimalist style but contain all the comforts you need - even including a kettle which is rare in many european hotels. All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was lovely, a wide choice and our host prepared different breads and tarts daily which were excellent.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again in the future. I'm also looking forward to trying the recipe for plum cake!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelainitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Although in a quiet courtyard this hotel is minutes away from the main street. It is family run with 7 modern rooms. Our room had a balcony with a view Mount Etna in the distance. Rooms were spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfasts with delicious home made cakes. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jilly278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I have very mixed feelings about this small luxury place.
Location is absolutely excellent just off the Corso Umberto which is the main shopping pedestrian street in Taormina from one city gate to another which is very practical when you have a car so you can park at Porta Catania public parking (it will cost you around 15.00 euros for 24 hours) and then come to the hotel by foot (5 minutes).

We had booked a room with a spa bath but being used to travel in the US, I thought we would have both a spa bath AND a classic shower...My mistake. Everything is decorated in white and blue ceramic which is nice but have a kinf of cold feeling to it, a bit unpersonal. The bathroom is super design and looks beautiful at first but ends up being rather unpractical in my opinion.
Trying to shower normally in the spa bath resulted in putting water absolutely everywhere, bath was extremely slippery, you have nothing to put your things on and you don't really know where to hang your towels once wet. If you leave your belongings near the sink, it will get wet either when you shower or either when you turn the water off.
Room is on the small side but the bathroom being separated by glass walls, it gives the impression of a bigger place than what it actually is. You cannot open windows or even open the big white curtain as the big floor to ceiling window of your room is directly on the litttle street and people are passing by and exploring all sorts of little streets in Taormina...
Another thing quite useless and unpractical are the bedside cubes which are too far from the bed sides so if you put your book, phone, watch, whatever, you cannot reach them from the bed, what's the point? LOL
Lots of nice and luxury amenities such as Hermes little soap and beauty kit.
Room key was a magnetic card so we were a bit surprised when we were asked to leave the card at reception everytime we left the place, errr, usually these kind of keys are made so they are "anonymous" so we didn't really get why we had to leave it everytime.

I am surprised to read from another reviewer that this place has agreements with a beach club and another hotel so you can use their pool because it has not been mentioned to us though it sounds important ;-)

I absolutely loved the breakfast, in my opinion, the BEST BREAKFAST in 12 days in Sicily! The only place where fruit juices were really good, nice glasses, jams, cakes, delicious coffee, we loved breakfast especially because you can take it outside, on a quiet little terrace. That felt really luxurious ;-)

All in all a nice little place for a romantic weekend getaway but I insist on the fact that the bathroom is gorgeous for a catalogue, but unpractical in real life.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ramblingdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

As good as the best reviews suggest. Very friendly, helpful service. The room was very smart, and surprisingly quiet, as we were only a flight of steps from Corso Umberto, right at Porta Catania. The tiny balcony, of room 105 giving a view of Mt Etna. The breakfasts beautifully presented and delicious.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank OzziePete313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Highly recommend this small hotel. Service is outstanding. The small hotel has agreements with a beach club and another hotel for use of their pool. We used this service to get to the beach and had a relaxing afternoon in the sun.
Breakfast was sweet and savory- homemade cake each day. Delicious.
Owner was friendly, welcoming and service oriented.
Rooms are tiny but well equipped.

Restaurants we liked: il Duomo and Nicoldi.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel5612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#37 of 88 in Taormina
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
868 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Taormina
Hotel Villa Taormina
#23 of 88 in Taormina
209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#17 of 88 in Taormina
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#61 of 88 in Taormina
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta del Tocco Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Tocco Design Suites

Property: Porta del Tocco Design Suites
Address: Salita Ibrahim, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta del Tocco Design Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porta del Tocco Design Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Del Tocco Design Suites Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing