We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porta del Tocco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Porta del Tocco Design Suites
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Porta del Tocco”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This is not a 3 star hotel, but a 5 star. It is so well thought out. The room was lovely and well lit. The staff is amazing and so helpful. Loved the breakfast buffet -- freshly baked cakes. YUM! Great location. The place to stay in Taormina!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    43
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
92
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The location first and foremost was superb. It feels like you are in the middle of everything but at night it is peaceful and quiet. The breakfasts are beyond compare, We smelled something wonderful when we checked in and were told it was baked goods being made for breakfast the next morning. My husband tried to practice Italian with the desk staff who were patient and oh so helpful. I would stay here without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckand3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Well located, well designed but most importantly well run by staff who go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable in this intimate hotel. Single room was definitely no more than single but benefited from a little balcony. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al-uks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Porta del Tocco is in a great location, very near the public parking at the very entrance to the city (yes, there's an entrance to the city, and you'll leave your car there as you won't use it while inside Taormina). A few steps up, off Corso Umberto (you will many times walk this main street back and forth, a real delight), and there you are. Staff is friendly and will help with your luggage. The rooms, although small, will impress you if design is your thing. They look fresh, nice, beds are comfy, lighting appropriate but... the ensuite bathroom is right there, separated just by a frosted glass wall. And I'm not referring to a glass door, wich I don't get by the way, but the whole wall. So it lacks privacy, to say the least. If that doesn't bother you, it's a good choice, people are friendly, breakfast is in a way minimalistic but atractive and tasty and the whole atmosphere is welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeyCe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Located in a court just 30 seconds off the main street with the shops and restaurants, this is a great place to stay. It has modern, clean rooms with up to date facilities. Breakfast on the terrace was very good with a wide choice. The staff were very helpful and friendly. While I would recommend this hotel, the rooms are quite a tight squeeze between the end of the bed and the desk and don't function very well if you want to use your computer on the desk. Noise does drift up the from the main street late at night if you have a front room as we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMG2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were a group of 9 friends, independent travellers from different parts of the world and we stayed one night at Hotel Porta del Tocco. The hotel is excellently located right off the main street of Taormina, up a flight of steps.It is newly opened, with modern rooms and facilities. A well laid out boutique hotel but value for money. It was like staying in a 5-star hotel room without paying 5-star prices. The art works adorning the walls make interesting conversation.The young lady in charge, who mans the reception desk is warm, friendly and most helpful. The room rate includes breakfast, which was a delicious spread served out on the terrace. Personal service is the hall mark of this little hotel. The lady's cousin runs a gelato shop down the street called "nicecream" . A stay at the hotel entitles you to a "one-for one" offer at the gelato shop. I must say the gelato and granita that we had were excellent, served by a friendly young man who deserves to be successful. Could have stayed longer at this lovely hotel.

Manjit Kour
Singapore

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manjit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed at this small but charming family run boutique hotel for 6 nights in June 2013. It's one of the friendliest hotels I have stayed in for a long time. We received a warm welcome on arrival and were made to feel very comfortable in the hotel and all staff were only too willing to help. Customer service is sometimes lost in Italy, but not here - the customer was definitely important.

The hotel is in a small courtyard and is a lovely mixture of traditional style presented in a modern way. They have made great use of the space and you will find beautiful ceramics and art are found in all parts of the hotel.

The rooms are minimalist style but contain all the comforts you need - even including a kettle which is rare in many european hotels. All areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was lovely, a wide choice and our host prepared different breads and tarts daily which were excellent.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again in the future. I'm also looking forward to trying the recipe for plum cake!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelainitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Del Corso
Hotel Del Corso
#39 of 87 in Taormina
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 87 in Taormina
884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
Meridiana Hotel Taormina
#65 of 87 in Taormina
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#13 of 87 in Taormina
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sirina
Hotel Villa Sirina
#27 of 87 in Taormina
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#19 of 87 in Taormina
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porta del Tocco Design Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta del Tocco Design Suites

Property: Porta del Tocco Design Suites
Address: Salita Ibrahim, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta del Tocco Design Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porta del Tocco Design Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Del Tocco Design Suites Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing