We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous! Absolutely fantastic in every”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Appartamento IONIO

Giovanni
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Giovanni
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
52 reviews
Giovanni
vista Tirreno
Giovanni: arrosto misto per gli ospiti
I nostri prodotti
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Taormina, Province of Messina, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danish first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Phyllis B
West Point, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous! Absolutely fantastic in every”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in October 2016

I absolutely love this B&B! Giovanni and Rosaria have made a beautiful home and our wonderful hosts. They are warm welcoming friendly and absolutely lovely people. The apartment is beautiful and has everything you could need location is just perfect. The views are wonderful The Gardens and the grounds are beautifully kept and it is just Paradise! My only regret is that I did not get to stay longer. On my second day there I felt like family and immediately became very fond of Giovanni and Rosaria who are wonderful people and Fabulous hosts. they have created such a beautiful place for their guests I highly recommend staying here. This is a secret paradise in Taormina and I absolute top notch establishment. B&B finestra B&B finestra Sul Mari Taormina a Air B&B fantastic find, thank you for a wonderful time at your home and thank you for having me as your guest. I will be back next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiede
Fermanagh
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and genial hosts”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Giovanni and Sara are absolute gems, very warm and tried to be helpful at all times.
We had the end apartment with the little garden with grass, garden furniture, outdoor barbecue and sink. The views from outside were absolutely fabulous. The villa is perched on a very steep hill with Taormina and Castelmola overlooking it. It is very well maintained on the exterior. The inside was a little tired and could do with a little modernization without detracting from the overall ambience. There was a lack of cupboard space inside but it is manageable.
The kitchenette is a bit of a disaster. It is clean and basic and that in itself isn't a problem. There is no space anywhere and every time I tried to get something out all the pots fell on my head. The gas two rings are a bit antiquated but I did get the hang of it after a couple of days. There is no microwave, small stand alone grill which isn't very good. No space for small kettle which had no automatic cut out mechanism, so you had to pull the plug out from the wall to switch off! There is a fridge freezer, small sink, no washing machine. The fan has only one speed (the other 2 selections do nothing). There is a good air conditioner. The bed is good. Clean towels twice weekly. Hair dryer in the bathroom. The shower was fine and plenty of hot water. Taormina is a very small, cosmopolitan town and very lively. A mecca for the rich and famous. Parking in town is a nightmare. Not suitable for people with limited mobility. There are a couple of very attractive beaches to be found but they get very crowded at times with parking a serious challenge. This was early October. The drive to Giovanni's is pretty scary with many hairpins but perfectly doable. Giovanni is an ex chef and they can provide you with a meal - 3 courses with wine 20 euros per person and very enjoyable. Taormina is not a cheap place to stay, so eating out can be pricey for the budget-conscious. You can find places such as pizza at a good price. There is also a rotisserie where you can buy a cooked chicken to take away - enough for 4 people. There is good supermarket with a red sign "Alimentaire" on the main drag through Giardini Naxos and we found Lidl a short way beyond - both with good prices. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. Accommodation in this area is not cheap even in October. Giovanni and his lovely wife, the views and the patio garden score 5, but the apartment inside scored three for me. A car driver is essential - it is a very long walk to town. Beware Italian mosquitoes are ferocious eaters - show no bare flesh outside after nightfall. Neither Giovanni nor Sara speak English but then we don't speak Italian but you can get by with the non verbal communication which is fun. And Sara is very mobile savvy and can soon bring up a translator on it.
Things to do nearby? Taormina and Castelmola of course. Driving in is possible, but good luck in finding the sat nav route out again!! Try Etna (of course) but from Piano Provenzana. The fairly easy access sandy beach at the South end of Giardini Naxos. And also just hunt inland from Naxos and find some remote town, get out, walk and take in the atmosphere. Stunning Savoca, a few miles to the North - The Godfather was filmed here. And you're only an hour and a half from Mezzina and the easy and regular ferry access to the magic Aeolian Islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden, Views, the owners
Liked least: Kitchenette
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montrealg...
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnifique”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I stayed 5 nights in the Ionio room. We had a very large terrace with a complete outdoor kitchen (BBQ, sink and gas cooker), table with chairs, 2 deck chairs and even a swing. The view on the see was magnificent. The surroundings were very calm so we could have dinner far from the agitation of the city (we made great economies by cooking for ourselves instead of going to the restaurant everyday).
Giovanni is very generous. You simply have to show interest for his garden and he will give you some of his products (eggs, basil, lemon, strawberry, etc.).
You will need a car to get there. Etna is a 1h15 rive. Taormina is a 5 minutes drive, in the mountain.
Lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The complete outdoor kitchen.
Liked least: The indoor and outdoor furniture are getting old.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
England
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Bellissimo”
Reviewed 27 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a fantastic four days here in the hills above Taomina. As the apartment is a bit tricky to find,, Giovanni met us at the railway station in Taomina and we followed him. The view from our apartment (tyrannos) was lovely and it had everything we needed to make our stay special. Car essential. Things to do: we drove up Castelmoro and to the south refuge of Mt Etna and took the cable car to the first stage, both we would recommend. Then there is the beautiful island (looks like it's been taken from a disney film) which is worth a visit but do take beach shoes as the stones are sharp. Other beaches are nearby. The icing on the cake for us was the meal that Giovanni cooked for us. He was a chef in a previous career and makes good use of his skill to bless his guests. Beautiful place and we loved our visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seaside location but not in a touristy area
Liked least: The hairpin bends up the hill took a while to get used to!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maturecou...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extreamly enjoyable”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My Husband And I Had a Most Enjoyable Stay at Finestra Sul Mare, The View From Our Terrace was amazing we could not have wished for anything better and Giovani and Rosario were so helpful, but the language barrier was a problem. I would advise that a car is essential, and we found it very expensive, an unexpected expense, but the property was too remote to be able to walk to Taormina.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the tranquility
Liked least: Inconvenince of position
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David894
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful place run by lovely people”
Reviewed 10 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We loved our 3 night stay at Finestra Sul Mare and wished we could have stayed for longer. We had the room 'Ionio' and it was a simple, lovely room complete with kitchenette, en-suite and a wonderful terrace boasting an orange tree and sea view.
Giovanni and his lovely wife were so warm and welcoming and made us feel very comfortable but also allowed us a totally private experience.
Finestra is out of the way of the hustle and bustle of Taormina centre but still only a winding 10 minute drive from town. You will be hard pressed to find better value for money in the area and I would not hesitate in recommending this accommodation to anyone looking for a base to explore Taormina and the Northern Etna area. My only criticism would be that the pillows were a bit hard but hey, not the end of the world!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Ciao David,
grazie di tutto.

Grazie anche per il consiglio dei cuscini.... provvederemo immediatamente.
Grazie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing