We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little restaurant with delicious fresh fish and not expensive”

Trattoria - Pizzeria Santa Lucia
Ranked #74 of 263 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant with delicious fresh fish and not expensive”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stumbled on this restaurant while wondering the back streets of Taormina. The owner and chef showed us the freshly caught fish in his fridge and he cooked it for us to perfection. The food was so good that we decided to have the following night's meal in the same restaurant. The second meal was even more delicious than the first. We only spent 2 nights in Taormina, otherwise we would have eaten there again. The restaurant is located straight up the hill after you pass through Porta Messina. You walk through another Porta on your right and the restaurant is just there at Via Cappuccini 8. Try it -you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fairsyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    47
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good we went back”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited here one evening and was impressed by the friendly service and delicious local cuisine. Although very small, there was a good choice on the menu and there were locals dining. Because the first experience was so good we went back on our last night and were remembered by the staff. They invited us into the kitchen to see the local catch of the day, and again the food was just as good and tasty as the first time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice little traditional place off the beaten track .”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This is a nice local restuarant just uphill of the east end of Corso Umberto, past the city gates at the intersection of Vio Timeo and Vio Capuccini.
The menu has a nice seletion of traditional pizza, pasta, meat and fish dishes mostly in the Sicilian style. There is a small outside terrace with a half dozen tables, with a roll out awning to keep off the sun and rain. Most of the patrons seemed to be locals, with a few tourists as well.

The menu prices are much lower than those along the Corso Umberto. The portions are generous and the food was very tasty. My pasta, beer and coffee came to much less than on any of the places in the toursit areas. The service was timely, friendly, and helpful.

I enjoyed it thoroughly and would have liked to have been able to try it again, but it was closed for the religious holiday, the second time was by.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CDNBearYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“A good pizza at Santa Lucia.”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

As our hotel was on the same road we walked past this pizzeria every day and noticed it was popular with the locals. So, on our last day, we decided to have lunch there. It seemed to take a long time to cook our pizza, but when it came it was very nice. There is seating inside and some outside alongside the road which isn't too busy with traffic. Prices were reasonable and there were plenty of other options on the menu and the local wine was fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cowbridgelady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arenthon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor experience”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We ate lat night in this place that was recommended by our hotel....worse food I have ever had since a while. Everything was really too salty. The pasta, the tomato soup. Service was nice but slow....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vaness1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria - Pizzeria Santa Lucia also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Trattoria - Pizzeria Santa Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing