We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to have a pleasant dinner”

Trattoria piazza Badia
Ranked #74 of 274 Restaurants in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Porto, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Nice place to have a pleasant dinner”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We recommend the gamberoni and sitting at a table outside watching people strolling by. Sometimes the locals play and sing for the tourists. The waiters like to have a conversation but they are not pushy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tulicreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    92
    41
    17
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
louth
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely little find”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Ate here first day what a great find. Service quality of food. Helpful accommodating Giovanni very helpful and friendly service . Definaty going back the lobster linguine was lovely and theixed seafood starter fresh and plentiful

Helpful?
Thank LMWITHEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Magnificoa”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I usually plan our Holidays around trip adviser ratings for hotels food etc.
We also usually try as many different places as we can on holidays,
However so glad we broke the rules here, if we had not taken a chance visiting the Trattoria Piazza Badia which had at the time of writing ratings well outside the top ten, we would have missed three superb meals.
Overlooking one of the main squares & the Palazzo Corvala plus the Church of Saint Catherine
the location is atmospheric and lively yet tranquil at the same time.
We also usually follow the golden rules on holiday of eating off the tourist track where all the locals go, we have all done that haven't we, found a place surrounded by flies above an open sewer or refuse tip and kidded ourselves that we had enjoyed a fabulous meal and saved a few pounds euros etc.
But this Trattoria is also one of the prettiest we visited in the Town so you might expect sky high prices, but this was not the case, the prices here are more than competitive plus has the bonus of holding a more extensive menu than most places in Taormina.
So onto the food we tried Pizza, various Pasta Seafood and meat dishes & all were exquisite,
as was the service provided by Raymond and his young very good looking young colleague (the missus told me to put that in)
Professional in all that they did yet unobtrusive friendly and warm they helped make all our meals a special occasion.
So well done to all the staff here from the manager & the chef down I believe you are well on the way to making your mark in a highly competitive sphere in Taormina.
So give it a try folks tell them Neil & Sheree sent you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“True Sicilian!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My first trip to Sicily and my expectations were high. Badia did not disappoint me. The food was authentic, delicious, fresh and Sicilian not a wanna be! I highly recommend this restaurant. They are conveniently open late, their grilled vegetables are amazing, and the sweet almond wine after a delicious meal is the icing on the cake!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LySandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very nice place”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

a typical Sicilian restaurant very colorful, the fish is good and the pasta to the Taranto and seafood are wonderful! The waiter was very nice and friendly, and the view of Church of St. Catherine and the Palazzo Corvaja make the atmosphere very romantic..
Lunch is not expensive given that the fish is of excellent quality..I highly recommend this place

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosso V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria piazza Badia also viewed

Taormina, Province of Messina
 
Taormina, Province of Messina
 

Been to Trattoria piazza Badia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing