We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable place right in the center”
Review of Villa al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa al Duomo
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“comfortable place right in the center”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location is just a few steps away from Corso Umberto (the main attraction). The staffs were very helpful. The apartment was clean and spacious with complete amenities.
However, as it is expected all over Taormina, we need to climb several stairs to reach the place. It would be challenging with a big suitcase.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Indah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
42
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alba, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Best location you can have in Taormina, everything closeby, shops, restaurants, parking place, and yet very quiet. I also could easylie walk my dog in the morning going to Parco communale! Very cosy and nice apartment with all comfort. Livio arranged our arrival and all information in a very professoinal way so we really had a great time in Taormina!

Room Tip: Travel light bacause you have to climb some staires!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 461marina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VillaDuomo, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa al Duomo, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear guest, thanks for giving your opinion in tripadvisor. We are glad to reed your beautifull review. Every day we do our best to give a wonderfull experience in ours apartments.
We hope to give to see again to our Villa situated a few step to the Chatedral.
Best regards
Livio and Stefano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
128 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Great location in a beautiful part of town, just off from Pizza Duomo and the main pedestrianised shopping strip Corso Umberto. The location was not immediately clear as the Google Maps location (and their representation of the town in general) is not very accurate. It is however just a few steps away from the El Jebel hotel, to the left of the arch. It is rather quiet due to it being in a side street one block back from Corso Umberto and up a set of stairs. 2min walk to Porta Catania where parking is available and some tours meet. Lots of restaurants close by.

The apartment is very nice, with kitchen, flatscreen TV, sound system and a tablet to use.

It's a good idea to let them know in advance what time you will be arriving as there is no one based on site. There was a little bit of a language barrier but we got there.

The wifi was not working for us however it was not the owners fault it seems. This was getting fixed following our stay so Stefano arranged for us to use Wifi at a nearby hotel.

All in all though we were very impressed with the apartment, it's cosy, quiet and a great base for exploring Taormina.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Very very nice staff....they went out of there way to assist us everyday! Only problem was the apt is misrepresented on the website. Superior apt was supposed to be 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms,kitchen,dining room etc. Actually turned out the superior apt was 1 bedroom upstairs with a toilet ,shower was disconnected and no hot water upstairs.when u walked into the front door of apt Livio took out the dining table and added a double bed( guess that was the second bedroom) there was a full bath/ shower on that level. We were 2 couples sharing a bathroom and had to eat outside( lovely garden thankfully) or eat laying on our friends bed! Just explain each apt better on the websites so there is no confusion......

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
617 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#14 of 88 in Taormina
523 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa al Duomo

Property: Villa al Duomo
Address: Vico Giordano Bruno, 9 | Piazza Duomo, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa al Duomo enjoys an enviable position in the heart of Taormina in a peaceful and exclusive neighborhood off of the Piazza Duomo, a few steps from monuments and the main street. The 19th century house, recently renovated, offers modern comforts with the latest technologies. It's located near "Porta Catania", the beginning of the main pedestrianized street, the central Piazza IX Aprile, the Ancient Greek/Roman Theater, the public car park and the cable car that transports you to the local beaches. The vacation house is ideal for couples that love having their own independence and tranquility, as well as familiesthat would like to rent the entire house. All the rooms are comfortable and are equipped with climate control, heating, linen and hypoallergenic mattresses and cervical pillows. The apartment is also equipped with a Tablet PC, a dock for iPads/iPhones, a satellite TV with over 100 clear channels, free Wi-Fi, a kitchenette, a bathroom with a shower, and a shared garden filled with plants. From June 1st to October 15th, 2015, entrance and a free transfer to Paradise Beach Club in Letojanni, a fantastic beach club with pool, garden, private beach, bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Al Duomo Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing