We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“memorable holiday”
Review of Sirius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sirius Hotel
Ranked #19 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We enjoyed two memorable weeks at the Sirius hotel of Taormina. Our stay was enhanced by the picturesque views of the eastern landscape sloping into the vastness of the Ionian sea at its narrowest approaches of the Messina strait, the friendliness of the obliging staff, the comfortable well appointed rooms and the good selection of well cooked local food served al fresco in the terrace in the balminess of the night under the moon and shimmering stars or the occasional fireworks display of summer festivities of nearby villages along the coast.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ferryman190725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

Hotel is situated on the main road into to Taormina (just after the bus station for those arriving by bus, as we did). It is built on the cliff-side with nice views over the sea from some rooms (not ours) and the pool area. A (very) short walk into the town centre.

Rooms were well-maintained and spotlessly clean. Welcome was warm and friendly (as were all the staff).

Breakfast was great- loads of choice- patisserie, fruit, etc.

Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nibblepibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had a superior room which was very comfortable with great views from the shady balcony, and good air con. Service was very helpful and efficient. Good choices for breakfast. Only drawback is the steep slope from road to small car park and steps down to reception - but the steep slopes mean everyone gets a great view out to sea!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We spent two wonderful days in Taormina at the Hotel Sirius. It is a magnificent location, a little hard to find at first, however well worth the effort. The view is magnificent, within easy walking distance of the town, restaurants and the cable car. Rooms very comfortable; breakfast excellent. As well, the staff were most helpful, particularly Fabiola and Pietro.

Room Tip: Our room was on the side with a balcony, however a room overlooking the pool would give a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

What a top place to visit! This was a return trip having stayed here in 2007. We were wowed then,and vowed to return-although we never return anywhere as the world has too many options! THe hotel itself-rooms,food staff etc. is great-the real x factor is the pool with its proper(3.7m) deep end with views to die for. Look out over the bay or glance sideways to see proper Sicilian Godfather hills and slopes.Maybe the best pool views in Europe!! Pool is never busy either.
Overall a knockout holiday destination,we will go back,again,for certain.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a pool view-the pool is locked at night so no silly revelling!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We went to the Hotel Sirius on the 15th July-26th July 2012. Wow what an amazing experience. The Hotel in itself was off the charts and we were lucky enough to have the most wonderful views over Taormina bay. The staff which I would prefer to call friends that were at the Hotel could not do enough for us, from the poolside bar to the Breakfast Restaurant so polite and if you needed anything you only had to ask. The room was extremely clean and very Italian, food at the hotel was so fresh every morning with a lot to choose from. No failures in any way for myself and my friend, just a small caution to take into consideration for people that are a little infirm or have health problems, the walk out of the hotel was steep but the hotel were more than happy to provide assistance to any needs if the case may have arisen. Taormina itself offered many things to see including Mount Etna full day cruise round the Volcanic Islands from Panarea-Stromboli (From 10am in the morning until 1am the next day). The Sea side was not a place to relax due to the fact that every five minutes you were disturbed with many people offering massage or touristic gifts and it had many large stones to lay on if you did not have a private hotel placement, but it was worth the experience but the poolside at the hotel Sirius was the best in any case. All in all Amazing. If you want a great Restaurant in Taormina please go to Romeo and Juliet they offer amazing traditional Italian food and live music every night very friendly people and great Guitarist. Loved the Hotel and People we met and Taromina.

Room Tip: Junior Suite overlooking Taormina Bay. Its the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I stayed in Taormina with a friend of mine from July 2-6. We arrived at Hotel Sirius to a very steep driveway. We were greeted by very friendly staff who all spoke English. We got our hotel room right away and it was very cute! We had our own terrace with an incredible view which we loved! There was very little room to put our luggage but we managed. The bathroom was very spacious and clean. The town was a 5 - 10 minute walk away. The hardest part was walking up the steep driveway. The breakfast which was included was very good! We looked forward to it every morning. The staff was very nice and the view again was incredible! Just what you want to see while eating breakfast! :) The cable car was right next to the hotel. We took that to and from the beach (Isola Bella). The day we left we had a 8:30 am flight so there was no bus that could take us to the airport until 7:30. We ended up taking a cab which was 100 euros. So, make sure you have a later flight so you can get on the bus to the airport. The hotel knew we had an early flight, they opened up the restaurant (early) and set up a few things for us to eat for breakfast. We thought that was very nice of them! And they also carried our luggages to the cab (up a flight of stairs). Taormina is beautiful and I would go back and stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#32 of 87 in Taormina
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
Hotel La Pensione Svizzera
#14 of 87 in Taormina
851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirius Hotel

Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 34, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £120 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small hotel set in the greenery on the Taormina hill and enjoying a charming view of the bays underneath and of the Calabria coast line in the distance. Almost every room is provided with a balcony overlooking the sea and have every kind of comfort: air-conditioning/heating, direct dial phone, safe, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi. The beautiful beaches of Mazzaro and Isola Bella can be reached in 15 min. either by foot or by cable car(the station is only 200 metres away). The hotel is a few steps away from the centre and the main street, Corso Umberto. Taormina can be reached: by car, through the motorway Messina-Catania A18 (the exit is 2 km away from the hotel); by train (Giardini Naxos train station is 3 km away); by bus(the bus terminal is a few meters away from the hotel); by plane (Catania airport , Fontanarossa, is connected to Taormina by a regular bus service): ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sirius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing