We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, close to Taormina shopping.”
Review of Sirius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sirius Hotel
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Hawaii
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, close to Taormina shopping.”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel in a beautiful location. Just wish there was more parking available. Very friendly staff and nice buffet breakfast. Room was sufficient. Heard the neighbors leaving in the morning. Overall, a great deal.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cscotta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    172
    47
    11
    13
See reviews for
68
249
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just returned from a week at the Sirius Hotel as part of a Thomson package. Very convenient for the town and cable car to the beach this hotel is set on the cliffs with magnificent views out to sea and along the coast. Referring to a previus review we were in room 133 and found the size perfectly adequate with a built in wardrobe and drawer unit big enough to take all our clothes. The room was a little dark due to the covered balcony outside but we did not find it a problem. Breakfast was good although the choice somewhat less if you had an early meal to catch a flight or go on a trip. We ate dinner 3 nights in the hotel and the meals were good although not much in the way of vegetables - perhaps thats an Italian thing! The staff were all pleasant and helpful , rooms were clean and the gardens beautifully kept and full of flowers. The steep drive and steps down from the road to reception was unexpected and difficult to manage if you have any mobility problems as one of our party did but really that is our only criticism.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladyingreen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We've just returned from a very nice stay at this hotel. The hotel is perfectly situated on the edge of town, near the bus station and the centre of Taormina. The pool area has lovely views across the bay, and the pool itself is a good size with plenty of sun beds (towels free), and a bar serving food and drink (plus resident cat). Our room was on the 1st floor and was quite small, and although had a sideways sea view, the balcony was a disappointing size - there was one table and two chairs but only one of us could comfortably sit there, but since we didn't spend much time in the room, it didn't matter to us. The beds were comfortable, hot showers always available and towels changed when you left them on the floor, so basically everything we needed in a hotel room. Breakfast was fine, although sometimes certain foods ran out, and took a time to be restocked, but this may have been because there wasn't always enough staff at breakfast on occasions. The gardens around the hotel were beautifully kept and the hotel tastefully decorated with a classic style flavour. The majority of the guests were of the older generation - we felt quite young in comparison (and we're middle aged). The reception staff were polite and helpful. The waiters were also polite but perhaps they all could take a tip from the hotel porter, who was also helpful, but smiley with it. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and if we were to return to Taormina, would very likely stay here - we would probably upgrade to a sea view though, as these rooms looked bigger.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very nice in that hotel which has a wonderful view on the sea and is very well located to visit tarmina . Swimming pool is very nice and large . Rooms are ok even if lateral one can be a bit dark . Dinner on the terrace was great . The only bemol is on the service where you feel that tourists are numerous enough for the team not doing all the efforts of amabilty they should do.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is great in regards of location and facilities (best pool I've been in Sicily). The building is really nice and breakfast is ok (staff did their best, only 2 guys to serve breakfast to a full place!?).
The first negative comment I have to make is the hours of opening of the pool. The pool closes at 18 h (6 PM). So forget about enjoying the pool after visiting other places in Taormina. Once you go back to the hotel, the pool area is closed.
Another negative point is regarding the rooms (we booked a double standard and a junior suite). We were really disappointed. No bathtub only a small shower in really small bathrooms. Rooms were clean but not spotless (italians should make use of vacuum cleaners).
We stayed at the first floor which has an exit to the pool but actually the pool is one floor down yet so we were not bothered by the noise.
At the reception the staff was ok just don't expect all the warmth you probably thought about when you paid the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view. Taormina is such an exotic place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1969PuntadelEste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed at Sirius Hotel in Taormina with a group of friends during for one night in August 2013. Had I known when I planned my trip how amazing this hotel was, I would have stayed for a week!!

Everything about Sirius Hotel is FANTASTIC!! The view is phenomenal. The pool is beautiful. The women that attend the front desk are so kind, friendly and helpful! The pizza served at the pool is better than any pizza you can find in the United States.

We stayed in a quadruple room which had plenty of space, a huge closet and a nice bathroom. The room, and property had the feel of an Italian home, not a hotel. It was charming and welcoming.

Overall, I would recommend Sirius Hotel to anyone traveling to Sicily. I only hope I am lucky enough to return and stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a magical week at the Sirius Hotel!

On arrival someone met us at the top of the drive to take our cases down to reception, which was excellent as the drive slopes down and then there are steps to reception. The receptionist was lovely and took us through all the information we needed and our cases were taken to our room. (At the end of our stay our cases were driven to the bus station, where we picked up our transfer coach).

Our room, on the first floor, was fabulous - on the first floor corner, with a lovely balcony with fantastic views - in fact you can sit in bed looking across to the sea. It is lovely too to watch the cable cars pass by every quarter of an hour! The room furnishings were absolutely lovely and the bed firm and comfortable. Sheets and towels were changed regularly and our cleaning lady kept our room beautifully. The bathroom with shower and bidet was lovely. Our A/C was really quiet!

We were on half board - breakfast was lovely with cappuccino and hot chocolate offered at breakfast, fresh melon (and apple??) juice, orange etc - a great assortment of meats, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, including scrambled, yoghurts, fresh fruit, croissant to die for cakes/pastries, rolls etc - what more could you ask for? At breakfast we chose what we wanted for dinner, which was lovely, giving us the chance to look forward to our meal.

Dinner was taken on the terrace, overlooking the sea, with views even across to the Italian mainland, with twinkly lights coming on as night falls! There is a good wine list and lovely food. I had a different fish as my main dish each evening, but my husband had a range of meat dishes - starters were great including lovely risottos - perfect! Wine will be kept for you if you don't finish the bottle. What was so lovely was to be served by the waiters and not have to be up and down to a buffet as in so many holiday hotels these days!!

We had pizzas on a couple of occasions for lunch by the pool, though usually we went into town to try out local restaurants and recommend Le Botte. Drinks by the pool are a little costly but very convenient.

The pool is kept beautifully and the poolside is clean and tidily kept and hosed clean regularly. There always seemed to be sun beds available and towels can be collected at the poolside.

The staff are all lovely - the hotel is beautifully presented, what more could you ask for? We thoroughly recommend the hotel and would say, don't be put off by hearing about the steps to reception and the sloping driveway, it really isn't much of a problem.

We will certainly be back!!

Room Tip: Do book a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Willowslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
0.7 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Paradiso
Hotel Villa Paradiso
#22 of 88 in Taormina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#14 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sirius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirius Hotel

Property: Sirius Hotel
Address: Via Guardiola Vecchia 34, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a small hotel set in the greenery on the Taormina hill and enjoying a charming view of the bays underneath and of the Calabria coast line in the distance. Almost every room is provided with a balcony overlooking the sea and have every kind of comfort: air-conditioning/heating, direct dial phone, safe, satellite TV, mini-bar, hairdryer, free Wi-Fi. The beautiful beaches of Mazzaro and Isola Bella can be reached in 15 min. either by foot or by cable car(the station is only 200 metres away). The hotel is a few steps away from the centre and the main street, Corso Umberto. Taormina can be reached: by car, through the motorway Messina-Catania A18 (the exit is 2 km away from the hotel); by train (Giardini Naxos train station is 3 km away); by bus(the bus terminal is a few meters away from the hotel); by plane (Catania airport , Fontanarossa, is connected to Taormina by a regular bus service): ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sirius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirius Hotel Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing