We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with good views and always a smile”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hotel with good views and always a smile”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A quiet relaxing hotel out from the town of Taormina. It has an excellent self run bus into town. The hotel is well appointed and we had a good sized room with large balcony looking towards mount Etna (all rooms have a balcony towards etna). The hotel is well cared for and in good condition with a swimming pool that helps keep you cool when the sun is out. The staff are always helpful. The only thing was breakfast is a cold buffet only with limited choice but non the less a good meal, a small selection of hot food is available at an extra cost. Well worth using this hotel. We will for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clipps11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    111
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
135
579
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We had a fantastic stay here recently.

The staff were all excellent and accommodating, and gave us a fantastic deal on our stay.

The location is very good - all the balconys look out over Etna and with sea views to the side view.

The room we stayed in was lovely - felt at once special and comfortable. The bathroom could do with a bit of a refresh, as some grouting coming away, and the seal for the shower screen not flush.

Breakfast here is very good, with everything you could want, although when we ordered room service with extra fried eggs for 2 people (at a cost of 4 euro per egg) we were disappointed, as the egg was cold, the yolk was split on one and was most definitely not worth 8 euro! We had lunch here twice, which was very good. We didn't try dinner, as there are so many fantastic restaurants in town, and also one a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Bar prices are reasonable and in keeping with the rest of Taormina.

The shuttle service in to town as well as the arrangements with the beach lidos is excellent.

However my hesitation to give Villa Angela 5 stars is that they lack the extra attention to detail that I would expect from a 4* class hotel - for example turn down service, more attentive cleaning service etc

All in all we had a brilliant stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anon100123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Excellent room, extraordinary view and a lovely place for any kind of visitors.
A little difficult to find the hotel (although we had a car with GPS), but nothing to worry, people is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edgar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welwyn garden city
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous week at Villa Angela. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and what a great choice it was. We stayed in room 305 which was just perfect large comfortable bed fantastic views of Etna and the sea all from our very large balcony which had sun loungers plus table and chairs. The maids did a very good job at keeping the room lovely and clean.

The hotel staff make this hotel really special they are so friendly and helpful and have very good knowledge of the area.The pool was great for swimming and was never crowded so no problem with sun beds. We had lunch most days in the hotel over looking Etna so relaxing and the food was lovely.

The hotel shuttle to taormina was very handy and very reliable we used it most evenings, the town is simply beautiful with loads of atmosphere and many great bars and restaurants.

We hope to visit Villa Angela again in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same view of Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury lancs
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a two week stay at Villa Angela and have had another amazing holiday in Taormina (our fifth visit to this resort but first stay at this hotel).

At the risk of incurring the wrath of the legions of Villa Angela fans, I would like to stress that this review is written as objectively as possible with regard to this being a 4 star establishment, so having said that I sincerely hope my comments are taken in the constructive manner as intended.

As is common with any other hotel, the biggest asset is the staff and without exception the lovely people at Villa Angela are fantastic and really go the extra mile to make you welcome and after only a few days you feel part of an exclusive family. Charlie and Katharine on Reception are great and are always on hand to recommend good local restaurants, bars etc and will arrange tickets to concerts if required.
The waiters are very friendly and provide an excellent level of service....one evening my wife and I were enjoying a quiet drink on the terrace and mentioned to Allesandro that we were walking up to Al Saraceno for dinner. After a few minutes Allesandro returned and said that he had phoned the restaurant to arrange a good table for us; this was typical of the type of thing that the staff excelled at during our stay.

We had e mailed the hotel in advance to upgrade our room to a DeLuxe Superior, on reflection this is something we wouldn't do again as we paid 400 euros for a Queen-size bed with a canopy and a jacuzzi bath, hardly good value for money when you consider that all of the rooms have fantastic views with large balconies equipped with chairs and sunloungers.

Food at the hotel was very good, breakfast was the usual continental standard with plenty of fresh rolls, fruit, cereals etc. The only unusual feature, as mentioned by a previous reviewer was the lack of fresh fruit juice and the charge levied for cooked eggs and other items eg 3 euros for a fried egg, again this observation is made in light of this being a 4 star hotel where you would expect cooked breakfast options to be included as standard. Obviously only a minor point and worth noting that at no time during our stay did we see anyone request cooked breakfast as the food on offer was more than adequate.

Once a week the hotel offer an evening meal,we had cause to complain about my wife's main course which was removed from the bill without fuss. Other guests had a similar experience but again were not presented with a bill so the level of customer service was beyond reproach. There are so many excellent restaurants in Taormina with meals to suit all budgets, also the excellent Al Saraceno is just 10 minutes walk up the hill from the hotel so we would not bother to dine at the hotel again. Having said that, the lunches are invariably excellent with a choice of pasta and fish dishes which are extremely reasonable in price compared to similar meals in town.

My final comment is with regard to the pool surround which is starting to look in need of a little TLC, especially the shower area which looked dirty and could do with cleaning up.

In conclusion, we had a fantastic two weeks as guests of Villa Angela but on reflection I feel that the hotel is in danger of being complacent, possibly as a result of all the positive reviews on this forum. Many of the comments were shared by other guests we spoke to during our stay.With just a little more attention to detail, this could be an amazing hotel, worthy of its 4 stars, as opposed to being the good hotel which I feel it is.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views so you may wish to consider if it's worth the extra expense upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seymoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2011

From the moment I contacted the hotel to make a booking to the time we left, they were very helpful and were able to attend to our every need. All my e-mails were responded to very quickly (which may not seem like much but we stayed at another hotel nearby who I e-mailed 4 times with the same questions and no response!).

The hotel itself has a rustic feeling but is also very modern, the rooms are clean and very comfortable and the balconies have some of the most spectacular views in the whole of Taormina. The pool was also lovely and clean and location nice and quiet. Despite being full it didn't feel like there were loads of people at the hotel and it was possible to feel like you had some privacy so was perfect for a romantic stay.

The hotel checked what time the next guests were arriving so we were able to check out late. They also took care of our bags and let us sttay by the pool until we needed to leave for our flight home.... Which made our stay all the more easy/relaxing.

We really loved staying here, thank you Hotel Villa Angela!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaUK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is the best hotel we have stayed in and we have stayed in plenty of hotels to know what exceptional is. There is a high standard that is set at Villa Angela and a real positive atmosphere which makes just staying at the Villa a highlight. The gardens, decor, beautiful artworks and people working at Villa Angela all play their part in creating a magical place to escape to where you don't want to leave. The rooms are spacious and match the Sicilian decor theme. The balcony is almost as big as the room and overlooks Mount Etna , the sea, the hillside village of Castelmona and the surrounding area.

There is a regular shuttle service which takes you into town and another shuttle service which takes you to a choice of surrounding beaches. We loved Isola Bella Beach but you get the hotel shuttle into town then take the cable car down to Mazzoro and walk 150m. From this beach you can do a Grotto Excursion which costs ten euro and is well worth it.

The hotel offers dinner on Monday evenings and this was our best dinner of our 7 night stay. Once again, the atmosphere that the staff and surroundings of Villa Angela create made certain that everyone was happy and by the end of the dinner all guests were talking to one another and there was plenty of laughter from staff and guests.

Nothing is too much trouble and the staff go the extra mile to make sure you are happy and have your needs met. Charlie at reception is a delight and very helpful. Walter had to come and pick us up after we had missed our shuttle and had such a great attitude toward a situation whereby many people would not have made an extra trip let alone laughed about it!

There is so much attention to detail at this place that you can tell great work goes in behind the scenes. If anyone needs to know what the elements are that make a place special then you must visit Villa Angela.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
1,759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
1,996 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#13 of 88 in Taormina
1,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Property: Hotel Villa Angela
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing