We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class personified”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Our second visit to Sicily and our second stay at this unspoilt gem of a hotel. Myself and my girlfriend spent a week at Villa Angela and it was even more relaxing and enjoyable then we had hoped. We decided to push the boat out this time and booked the Leonardo De Vinci suite for our stay, this is the pinnacle of Sicilian style and splendor with a Jacuzzi bath that’s as eye opening as the views you get of Etna from either of your two balconies.

Villa Angel is fast becoming the choice of hotel for any visitor to Taormina as its reputation grows for offering a polished and tailored service that far exceeds other premises in the area, the personal touches and extra effort of the staff to meet bespoke requests from their guests means that everyone goes away feeling like they are the only people staying in the hotel. Katharine, Charlie, Mario, and all of the other staff are the epitome of professionalism, and to boot, genuine and happy people who bring a spirit to Villa Angela that I expect far exceed anything that the owner could have possibly hoped for when he first opened the hotel.

The number one spot on Trip Advisor beckons for Villa Angela and you will be hard pressed to find anyone that would begrudge them that accolade once achieved.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooFranks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Villa Angela is good in terms of its staff, their friendliness, attentiveness etc but there is much about it which is not so good. The building, for example, is cheaply built, finished and furnished and is on a handkerchief sized plot of land a long way from the centre of Taormina and up a steep mountain. We were independent travellers and paying E250 a night, B & B, for a 'junior suite' as no standard rooms were available (we now think these were all block booked by tour operators), and were upgraded to the Leonardo da Vinci suite, the best room in the house. This was large and comfortable with 2 terraces but toe curlingly badly furnished in excruciatingly bad taste - we think this was a deliberate attempt at high kitsch but, frankly, it was just tasteless. We didn't like being so far from the centre of Taormina as one had to rely on the hotel's shuttle (this worked quite well and the hotel drivers were friendly and kind) and because one had to book outward and return journeys in advance to be sure of a seat, this cramped one's style. Breakfasts were OK but not brilliant - coffee from an urn was almost undrinkable and the linen on the serving tables was unchanged and stained all the time we were there (3 nights). One morning we were amused to see kitchen laundry drying on a rack close to our breakfast table. Outside the breakfast room there were laundry trolleys stuffed under the stairs near the lifts and this was rather unsightly. All in all the hotel was amateurish but, as we have said before, friendly. The pool was small and uninviting with little room for guests around it. In fact we noticed that in the morning it was in deep shadow so would not have been suitable in any case for sun bathing. We did not find an occasion to use it. The town of Taormina is pretty and unspoiled even by the numerous visitors and numerous gift shops. The architecture within the town is fine but as soon as one ventures further, everything touched by man is cruddy. We found 3 days at Taormina more than enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful week at the Villa Angela.We have stayed in many hotels all over the world but this is definitely the best we have ever stayed in.The staff treated us as friends from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.We were made to feel special and valued.The views from the spacious balconies are second to none.The location of the hotel makes the experience much quieter than in the centre of town,but town is easily reached by the excellent shuttle service from the hotel.The rooms are beautifully designed and comfortable.The staff who look after the rooms do a great job.The food is very good and reasonably priced and the Al Saraceno restaurant is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel with panoramic views,very good food and excellent service.We visit Taormina every year and would now not consider staying in any other hotel.We would unreservedly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Taormina.We have already booked to return next year and can't wait!The Villa Angela is a beautiful gem on a beautiful island.Ian and Julie Simpson

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanJulieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

A quiet relaxing hotel out from the town of Taormina. It has an excellent self run bus into town. The hotel is well appointed and we had a good sized room with large balcony looking towards mount Etna (all rooms have a balcony towards etna). The hotel is well cared for and in good condition with a swimming pool that helps keep you cool when the sun is out. The staff are always helpful. The only thing was breakfast is a cold buffet only with limited choice but non the less a good meal, a small selection of hot food is available at an extra cost. Well worth using this hotel. We will for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clipps11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We had a fantastic stay here recently.

The staff were all excellent and accommodating, and gave us a fantastic deal on our stay.

The location is very good - all the balconys look out over Etna and with sea views to the side view.

The room we stayed in was lovely - felt at once special and comfortable. The bathroom could do with a bit of a refresh, as some grouting coming away, and the seal for the shower screen not flush.

Breakfast here is very good, with everything you could want, although when we ordered room service with extra fried eggs for 2 people (at a cost of 4 euro per egg) we were disappointed, as the egg was cold, the yolk was split on one and was most definitely not worth 8 euro! We had lunch here twice, which was very good. We didn't try dinner, as there are so many fantastic restaurants in town, and also one a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Bar prices are reasonable and in keeping with the rest of Taormina.

The shuttle service in to town as well as the arrangements with the beach lidos is excellent.

However my hesitation to give Villa Angela 5 stars is that they lack the extra attention to detail that I would expect from a 4* class hotel - for example turn down service, more attentive cleaning service etc

All in all we had a brilliant stay here and would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anon100123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Excellent room, extraordinary view and a lovely place for any kind of visitors.
A little difficult to find the hotel (although we had a car with GPS), but nothing to worry, people is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edgar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We have just returned from a fabulous week at Villa Angela. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and what a great choice it was. We stayed in room 305 which was just perfect large comfortable bed fantastic views of Etna and the sea all from our very large balcony which had sun loungers plus table and chairs. The maids did a very good job at keeping the room lovely and clean.

The hotel staff make this hotel really special they are so friendly and helpful and have very good knowledge of the area.The pool was great for swimming and was never crowded so no problem with sun beds. We had lunch most days in the hotel over looking Etna so relaxing and the food was lovely.

The hotel shuttle to taormina was very handy and very reliable we used it most evenings, the town is simply beautiful with loads of atmosphere and many great bars and restaurants.

We hope to visit Villa Angela again in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same view of Etna.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank georgie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,899 reviews
1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 87 in Taormina
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £125 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing