We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must come to Hotel Villa Angela”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This is such a lovely hotel. Staff were so friendly and helpful when we arrived and throughout our stay. Breakfast was excellent and always a good variety. Recommend eating at the hotel on a Monday night and trying some of the fantastic lunch time dishes they provide, food was superb. Views were fantastic of Etna and the town below and at night it was just so picturesque. Standard and cleanliness of the hotel and rooms was outstanding. Taormina is a beautiful place and has certainly gone down as one of our favourite Italian destinations. Would highly recommend a visit and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Angela
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 911 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

This was my second stay at the Villa Angela Hotel, and I was not disappointed again. Despite being towards the end of the season, it clearly never showed on any member of staff, for their dedication and professionalism were always paramount to make my time there extremely comfortable and blissful. The hotel is well situated, away from the buzz from the town. The views are truly breathtaking and all rooms face Mount Etna. The food is delicious and service top class, nothing is ever trouble. The breakfast has a great choice of various foods to please anyone's palate. Lunch was equally the same, and when diner was on, it was a feast of Sicilian food. Nothing better than having a meal on the terrace while being wrapped into the wonderful fragrances from the stunning garden. For those who do not yet know, yes Taormina is built on the mountain face, and the hotel is perched nearly on top of the town, hence the magnificent views and peace. However, the hotel provides an excellent shuttle service, all day and well into the evening.
I would recommend anyone to stay at the Villa Angela.

Room Tip: All rooms face Etna, so it does not really matter were you are in the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrispecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Well not sure quite where to start, having been to sicily many a times and have thourough knowledge of resort and a lot of hotels i can hand on heart say that villa angela as at the top! the number 1 hotel in my oppinion in taormina, you will be greeted with incredible customer service from all staff members who go out of their way to help you and give you info whenever you wish. you are always greeted with a smile from the hotels restaurant staff and once again they will go out of their way to assist you and cater to any special requirements, but the cream on top of the cake is the location, you Cannot!!! beat the views from this hotel, waking up every morning to spectacular views accross the coast towards catania and siracusa and the most active volcano in europe, mount etna!!! there are some lovely hotels in taormina but the villa angela goes that extra mile. massive thank you to Charlie, Katherine, Ada and Mario on reception. Angelo, Clara, Alessandro, Walter, Enrico antonio, andrea and Salvatore in the restaurant and to all the hotel maids. thank you and i will be back soon!!!! :-) ps Jim you should be proud you have a fab hotel and a fab team

Room Tip: Email requests in advance, all seaview rooms so you cant go wrong!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElenaMcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We absolutely loved this beautiful hotel and highly recommended it.
All rooms have amazing views of Etna and the beach Giardini Naxos.
The sunset on Mt Etna is so romantic, and also the night view is very very beautiful.
The staff are friendly, professional and helpful (Katherine and all other staffs !), always with a smile.
Breakfast is so good, with nice local produce and of course with really good cappuccino.
Taormina is a very beautiful town, but there are so many tourists in the centre.
So we found that this hotel location was peaceful, calm and cool.
We will return.

Thank you, Jim !!

Room Tip: All rooms with nice views of Etna & sea.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeiKako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Upon arriving at Villa Angela I was totally smitten with this beautiful hotel. Myself and my boyfriend were warmly greeted at the hotel reception area upon arrival and provided with all information we needed to know about our stay for the week ahead. It was my first holiday away with my boyfriend and what a perfect choice we made in choosing this hotel! Our suitcases arrived in our hotel room before we did ourselves and upon opening the doors to our balcony we were greeted with the most magnificent view of Mount Etna and surrounding area. On day two of our holiday getting ready for a nice meal out my boyfriend got down on one knee on our hotel balcony and proposed (and of course i said yes) i couldn't think of a more perfect, intimate, romantic place to do it! We informed our wonderful rep Lisa of our exciting news and that night a member of staff from the hotel knocked on our door with a bottle of Prosecco on ice and two flutes! The staff were very friendly and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. Going down to breakfast each morning was a treat and a perfect way to start the day! sitting on the terrace overlooking the pool area with the views of Etna just took my breath away! there were many choices of breakfasts on display from cooked breakfasts to the freshest fruit and a selection of fruit juices to the frothiest cappuccinos. The hotel was spotlessy clean throughout and staff always had a smile on their faces. I would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff and our rep Lisa who made our stay at Villa Angela such a special one. Unfortunately a week wasn't long enough and as soon as we have saved enough money we will surely be returning. So its not farewell it see you soon and by that time i will be a Mrs!

Room Tip: They are all facing a perfect view so take your pick
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

What a fantastic place! Staff were so helpful, accomodating and friendly. Breakfast was a delight -serve yourself from a great selection of roasted veg, cheese + cold meats, eggs, olives, sun-dried tomatoes, pastries, breads, fresh fruit, yoghurt, lots of tea options, a variety of fruit juices -and really good coffee. The room was lovely, cleaned daily, bed comfy, and the view from our veranda was breath-taking.
We found all the staff to be very attentive and they gave good information on what to do and where to go in the area, and also how to get there -and back.
I have to mention their spinach and ricotta ravioli with pistacio pesto. You really have to try this! The Ravioli Club {formed during this visit} recommend it. Seriously wonderful -a treat for the tastebuds. I will return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is the pilgrimage Simple Minds fans make as the hotel is owned by the singer JIm Kerr. Stayed for 3 nights last November as part of a joint 40th birthday trip. Hotel is about 45 mins from Catania airport and taxi booked through hotel was waiting for us. Upon arrival at Villa Angela were met by extremely friendly manager Charlie and front desk has some SImple Minds memorabilia around .

Rooms are very spacious and all have large terrace with incredible views towards Mount Etna . In my room found happy birthday note signed by JIm and signed photo from the band which was nice touch. My mate also found the same in his room.

Didn't get to use pool or sunbathe due to season but imagine it would be amazing here in summer. Staff here made our few days so special and couldn't do enough for us. Other reviewers say the
same about the staff and it really is true, JIm has a team to be proud of here.

Shame restaurant was only open on Monday night when we were there as food was fantastic. On other nights went to nearby Saracino restaurant up the hill and the other into Taormina itself.

Taormina is a beautiful little town with great shops, chic restaurants and bars and the best ice creams ever!. Don't take shuttle down, walk up the hill past the Saracino before taking path down into town as views are amazing over the town and the Greek theatre which is worth a visit too. Would love to see Simple Minds play in there which they have in the past!. Near here are some lovely public gardens which are really nice to relax in.

Taormina is an expensive place so expect to pay a bit more for a drink etc but don't let that deter you from going as you won't regret it. I will return. Cheers JIm.

Room Tip: All rooms have amazing views of Etna and down into Giardini Naxos
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,835 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#11 of 87 in Taormina
979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,341 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atahotel Capotaormina
Atahotel Capotaormina
#15 of 87 in Taormina
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £146 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing