We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and great service”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views of Mount Etna and the Tyrrhenian sea! They have a convenient shuttle to take you to town. Taormina is charming with a must see Greek Theatre. The beach us reachable by a funicula. So much to do and see! The hotel staff are excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarialenaMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

Villa Angela is simply a fantastic hotel with a relaxed, welcoming and friendly atmosphere. I’m usually very stubborn about ‘going somewhere twice’ but I can honestly say I am looking forward to returning to Villa Angela and beautiful Taormina!
Our room was lovely, very clean and nicely decorated with a large balcony and those much admired views! The facilities are excellent with a small but pleasant pool area and restaurant, wonderful breakfasts (so much choice!) and pretty terraces. We felt that it was the staff that really made Villa Angela so special, they were all very approachable and went out of their way to help us when booking trips out or answering questions. The location high on the hill above Taormina was perfect for us, quiet but still within reach of the bustling Corso Umberto via the hotel’s shuttle bus service or the 500 steps (which must be done at least once for the views alone!)
This is a small hotel which was why we chose it, which can work for or against you depending on what you want. We found that this made our stay feel more friendly and comfortable because we were lucky to have some lovely people staying the same week but we could see how, if there were less ‘considerate’ guests there, then it may change the whole feel of the place as, apart from the unavoidable noise of other people in any hotel, you do spend a lot of time around each other; breakfasts, round the pool, at the bar, on the shuttle bus etc.
Many reviewers here have highlighted the views from Villa Angela and I can only chime in with “spectacular”! If you do have some cloud cover hiding Etna (as we did for some of the holiday), set your alarm for sunrise and when you walk out on your balcony you’ll be staggered when she finally appears!
We highly recommend this hotel; you can clearly see that the owner, (who we missed by a couple of weeks – maybe next time!) and the staff take pride in the place and the service it provides. If you’re visiting Taormina, whether you’re looking for relaxation or adventure, Villa Angela is an ideal base!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaRED-75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We went back for our honeymoon after having a unforgettable stay in May.
I was genuinely sad to say goodbye to the staff of Hotel Villa Angela. The warmth and friendliness shown by everyone made our honeymoon so special and fun that I can't imagine not going back.
If you like staying in a beautiful stylish hotel and want to relax, I couldn't recommend this hotel enough.
Oh yeah, of course it has stunningly beautiful surroundings and the best stuffed calamari I've ever tasted on the lunch menu.. Perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I spent 9 days at Villa Angela. Each room has a gorgeous view of Mt Etna. The hotel is perched in the hills but with easy access to the town (Taormina). The decor, the staff and the extra special touches make this a first class stay. Have recommended it to many and hope to visit again

Room Tip: All rooms have views of Mt Etna, no bad choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debcaponetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had a hard time deciding where to say, should I stay in town? Closer to ocean? The Villa is not closer to either, but it did not make a whole lot of difference. The service by Villa Angela makes up for all of it by providing reliable and inexpensive shuttle service to all of Taormina. From before I even arrived, I received multiple emails from Katharine trying to accommodate whatever I needed to make my European vacation special. And she did, everything from room accommodations, to transportation to and from the airport, to late night snacks (check out day, we left at 6am-she had the hotel staff pack a breakfast for us). Her and everyone at the hotel was polite and could not do enough. At the front desk, they have everything that you would need or left behind. The Villa itself sits on the side of a mountain with astounding views of the ocean and Mt. Etna.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms face the water and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LyndaL470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was in Taormina for the third time this time together with my girlfriend. We had chosen a smaller room since the better ones with jacuzzi was full. It was not so good view and not very romantic settings, However we only spent first night there cause the very nice personal helped us so we had the Etna suite in sted for a reasonable upgrade price and we were just so pleased! Amazing view over the bay and ofcourse Etna which had an eruption two times we could watch from our balcony. The staf like many reviews say is terrific and very professional and serviceminded. This hotel is a bit away from Taormina but the shuttles works great (home) We usually walked down the stairs to the city. Also it´s a close but steap walk up to the small cozy village castel mola- which is a must for an even more spectacular view on both sides of Taormina bay. We love Taormina and would love to come back again and stay at Villa Angela. The best of recommendations!

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite or bigger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidtiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This hotel is beautiful, welcoming and everything you could wish for plus more. As a couple it is perfect but we wouldn't have enjoyed it anywhere near as much with children. The setting on a hillside is fantastic, the location is perfect to explore Taormina and also to visit the quirky hilltop town of Castelmola (easy to reach by clean, reliable local bus).

Everything about the week spent there ticked our boxes - lovely pool and comfortable sunbeds with no need to reserve at the crack of dawn! The staff are pleasant, efficient and helpful, always delivering service with a smile. The hotel shuttle bus to and from town was a brilliant bonus and very reasonably priced - we walked down the 500 steps but were more than happy to use the bus to return!

Having seen Mount Etna every day from our balcony (which is actually a terrace with table, chairs and loungers) we thoroughly enjoyed our trip there, almost to the summit. The lovely people we met during our holiday helped to make it so good - staff, hotel guests and tour guides were all amazing.

Cannot really think of any negative comments to make about this place - except perhaps that we so narrowly missed the opportunity to meet the owner and tell him just how much we love his hotel as well as his music...!! Next time maybe......

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
910 reviews
1.0 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#25 of 87 in Taormina
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £139 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing