We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Villa Angela for two nights in June. The views were spectacular. The service and people were so helpful and friendly. They recommended a restaurant L'Incontro, (which was excellent and the owner who was serving us was wonderful to us). The shuttle was great having a ride after walking all day & getting back to the hotel in the evening. Charlie was great-very informative and always willing to give a helping hand-nothing seemed to be a problem.
Excellent hotel & property. Again the views are unbelievable. Very happy with our stay at the Villa Angela! Thank you!

Room Tip: Room with a view and what a view! (I think they all have the view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    105
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
129
551
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Villa Angela enjoys the best views out of any hotel I've ever stayed in. The scenery of Mount Etna is breathtaking and each terrace enjoys stunning views over the volcano. Whilst we were there we were lucky enough to see a small lava flow on Etna in the evenings. The rooms are really elegantly designed and very comfortable. The pool area was great to relax for a few hours and very peaceful.

The staff were great and especially Katharine who helped us out so much in the run-up to our trip. She was so helpful in offering us advice on the next part of out holiday and booking us on a trek around Mount Etna. The hotel even offered us a complimentary bottle of prosecco on our arrival to celebrate our wedding anniversary. They offer a really warm and hospitable service to guests.

I can't comment on the shuttle service as we walked to and from Taormina in the evenings. It's a pleasant 15 minute walk down to the town. The walk back up is reasonably challenging though and takes about 20 minutes. We found it an effective way to burn off the pasta and wine so if you're reasonably fit it's good fun. A taxi back up will cost €15.

Villa Angela is also well situated for a trip to Castelmola. Buses travel there but the walk up to the town is great and you will get amazing views over the south of Sicily and across to Italy. It's about 25 minutes walking up there and 15 or so back to the hotel.

The only slight disappointment we had was with the breakfast, which was average. Although again, you quickly forget that as you enjoy it on the terrace overlooking Etna.

Would definitely stay again if returning to Taormina. Grazie!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank djsage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Villa Angela was a great place to stay.The property was clean ,what ever we ask for or needed the staff assisted immediately.
The staff were very helpful and really made us feel welcome.Even though this property was was high up on the hill it was a bonus as Taormina can be quite hectic and at just a call the shuttle was available to take us down .It only took a few minutes.
Being up high was breathtaking with the view of the beauty Mt Etna watching her glow each night there was serenity eachtime.
The pool was great overall a fantastic stay.
Thankyou to all the staff of Villa Angela.

Room Tip: Definetly Mt Etna suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat_Rome-around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watton at Stone
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I cannot really add to all the other glowing reviews this hotel so richly deserves. It is just amazing.
A lovely pool, the best view we have ever had from a hotel bedroom, Great food and above all superb service.
We are just recently back from a week there, which ended our three stop tour of Sicily and it is no reflection on the other two hotels when I say that this was by far the best.
It is an exciting drive up the hill when you first arrive but certainly worth it.
I think Walter, from Argentina, will be managing director soon!
Thank you to all of you.
The restaurant directly up the hill from the hotel is excellent.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same with the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We picked this hotel on 3 factors - location and view, the fact that it had a nice pool (rare in Taormina) and the excellent Tripadvisor reviews (ignoring the few reviews that are impossible to believe having stayed there!). It turned out to be a simply stunning hotel, a real gem.

The booking process was very efficient, friendly and helpful and many thanks to the exceptional Katherine for all her help with this and throughout our stay and especially with organising trips to Stromboli and the sunset trip to the top of Etna - neither of these should be missed as they were just amazing, especially being so lucky to have both volcanos erupting !

The hotel has a lovely relaxing, tranquil ambience about it, created largely by the position, the view and the outstanding staff throughout. The pool is great, never a problem with sunbeds, and quiet and peaceful with lovely views. The food and service in the restaurant is great with tables on the veranda enjoying those stunning views.

The shuttle down into Taormina is regular, hassle free and works really well and there is also a really good value shuttle down to the beach at Mazzaro (includes reserved sunbed and bar service), which is well worth going to for a day and to walk along to the pretty Isola Bella.

There are plenty of good restaurants around with our particular favourites El Saracino, very handy as just a short walk up the hill behind the hotel and again with those stunning views, Rosso Peperonato in Taormina, La Taverna Dell Etna in Castelmola and our particular favourite, Il Barcaiolo for lunch down at Mazzaro beach. All are outstanding. Villa Angela opens up its restaurant just twice a week in the evening and is also great so don't miss the opportunity to eat there as well. Shatulle in Taormina is a nice cocktail bar.

Taking the local bus (5 mins), bus stop outside the hotel, to the pretty cliff top town of Castelmola near the hotel is also well worth doing - its a lovely spot with a great cocktail bar in Bar Turrisi as well as the above mentioned restaurant.

The wifi was great and easy throughout the hotel and our room had a lovely, massive balcony with sunbeds and chairs to enjoy those lovely views. All rooms I think have those balconies.

Like all great hotels it is the staff that make it all work and in addition to Katharine many, many thanks must go to Ada, Mario and Charlie on reception, Sam and Clara in the restaurant and James and Walter in the bar. They are an outstanding team.

Sicily is a lovely island, Tarmina a great place to enjoy it from and Villa Angela is definitely the place to stay. Enjoy !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andynjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have recently returned from a week long stay at Villa Angela and we had an absolutely amazing time. We stayed in room 105 on the first floor which was spotless and well appointed. The view from our balcony ( and from pretty much everywhere else in the hotel) was spectacular. As others have said, it is a bit of a trek down the many steps into the town but the hotel's shuttle bus service is regular and reliable and we made good use of it. We had dinner in the hotel on one of the nights that the restaurant was open and we thought the food was excellent. The bar prices were also quite reasonable. It does have the feel of a family run hotel as all of the staff are so friendly and welcoming. No request is a problem. There is absolutely nothing I would change about this hotel, it was excellent in all respects and we hope to return. Taormina is a busy town with lots of shops and lots of great places to eat. Everything we ate during our holiday was delicious. There is a restaurant just up the hill from the hotel called Al Saraceno, we ate there a couple of times and loved the food and fantastic views. We spent a lot of time relaxing but there is plenty to do in the area. We travelled with Thomson and did their "godfather tour" and a day out to Siracusa, we would highly recommend both. Overall it was a great holiday and we are already missing Sicily and Villa Angela.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GemmaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We were recommended the Villa Angela and it came up to all our expectations. The hotel location is superb on the hillside overlooking Taormina, the sea, and with a terrific view of Mount Etna.
The double room we had was lovely with a great balcony to relax on, the pool area is super with plenty of beds for everyone and the food was very good. Although they only provide dinner twice a week we found that the night we ate in the hotel was one of the best evening meals we had. The lunches offered both snacks and a full lunch and the choice for breakfast was just what we needed.
We found the staff especially Jim Kerr's family excellent, we even met Jim Kerr senior who was great fun and they could not do enough to make our holiday special.They arranged a super trip with Angelo to Mount Etna, we saw parts of the volcano tourists do not normally visit.
We found the shuttle bus service to the town first class, not being in our prime the walk into town, which was very steep, was more than we could mange so the shuttle bus was invaluable.
We liked everything about Taormina, the restaurants, the wine and the beach and we are definitely planning to go back again as there are a number of things we did not have time to see. Overall an excellent weeks holiday we super weather in a superb location.
PeterS Sussex

Room Tip: The weather in July and August gets into the 40's so if you can travel outside of this time the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Domenico Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Property: Hotel Villa Angela
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing