We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #7 of 87 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We came to Villa Angela last year and had to return this year it would be rude not too! We are returning in 2015. It would be difficult to find a more relaxing hotel. The staff definitely make it. Thanks to everyone especially Katharine, Mario, Sam, James and "Benny Hill". Great location, stunning views. Fab breakfast, lovely lunches. No hassle just a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

We had the added bonus of going to see Simple Minds at the Amphitheatre - was a fantastic evening. We met some fanatical fans at the hotel and had a great evening.

We can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Bring a travel kettle with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MargSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (935)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 935 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

As per all the below reviews, I would wholeheartedly recommend a stay at Villa Angela. Stayed here for a week in late July with the family and found it to be an oasis of calm and peace. Positioned nicely above the bustling town, it provided just the right amount of distance - easy to get into town and the beach via the excellent and friendly mini-bus service the hotel puts on - far enough away to provide a base for calm days round the pool. Beautiful views over the sea and of course Etna. Wonderful service from all staff especially the incomparable Katherine and Sam. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. Its great location up on the hillside gives stunning views of the coastline and of Mount Etna, which was grumbling away during our stay and made an incredibly spectacular sight at night. Fabulous breakfast every day, including Sicilian specialities. The staff are all friendly, helpful, attentive......just what you want for a relaxing break. We stayed in the Leonardo da Vinci suite which is lovely; jacuzzi bath, double balcony, loads of wardrobe space and enough room for a dance! But beware of the size of the spirit measures in the bar......very generous to say the least!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies overlooking both Mount Etna and the sea. The Leonardo da Vinci suite is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at Villa Angela for 5 nights at the end of our honeymoon and it was just perfect! we stayed in the Leonardo Da Vinci suite as a honeymoon treat and it was definitely worth it! It has 2 balconies, an amazing Jacuzzi bath and a bottle of Prosecco was waiting for us in our room - thank you. The views over Mount Etna are breath taking! Breakfast is lovely and there is a wide selection. We had lunch a couple of times too and it was great - especially the pasta. The pool is lovely and there was always space to sunbathe. The staff also come round the pool every so often to see if you need drinks. The staff are what makes this place brilliant! They go out of their way to help you e.g. booking restaurants, trips up Mount Etna and are very polite without being pretentious or OTT. A big thank you to Ada, Mario, Sam and James :)

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of Mount Etna so you won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rach129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Enjoyed a blissful stay for one week 21-28 July. Stunning views of the sea and Mount Etna from our balcony - Etna is very active at the moment so the lava was a spectacular sight after dark. The staff (including the taxi transfer service they use) are exceptionally friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they are happy to recommend local restaurants and attractions. They arranged an excursion for us of Inspector Montelbano locations. As fans of the TV series we loved seeing the beautiful scenery and familiar buildings. The hotel itself is clean, airy and stylish with a relaxing pool and bar. The shuttle minibus to/from the town centre is very useful and must have saved us a small fortune in taxi fares. Don't be put off by its location above the main town - the centre of Taormina is extremely busy and it was fantastic to return to the calm of the hotel. Our stay also coincided with a Simple Minds gig at the Teatro Greco (the most stunning venue anywhere) = icing on the cake!!

Room Tip: All rooms have stunning views from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Villa Angela for two nights in June. The views were spectacular. The service and people were so helpful and friendly. They recommended a restaurant L'Incontro, (which was excellent and the owner who was serving us was wonderful to us). The shuttle was great having a ride after walking all day & getting back to the hotel in the evening. Charlie was great-very informative and always willing to give a helping hand-nothing seemed to be a problem.
Excellent hotel & property. Again the views are unbelievable. Very happy with our stay at the Villa Angela! Thank you!

Room Tip: Room with a view and what a view! (I think they all have the view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Villa Angela enjoys the best views out of any hotel I've ever stayed in. The scenery of Mount Etna is breathtaking and each terrace enjoys stunning views over the volcano. Whilst we were there we were lucky enough to see a small lava flow on Etna in the evenings. The rooms are really elegantly designed and very comfortable. The pool area was great to relax for a few hours and very peaceful.

The staff were great and especially Katharine who helped us out so much in the run-up to our trip. She was so helpful in offering us advice on the next part of out holiday and booking us on a trek around Mount Etna. The hotel even offered us a complimentary bottle of prosecco on our arrival to celebrate our wedding anniversary. They offer a really warm and hospitable service to guests.

I can't comment on the shuttle service as we walked to and from Taormina in the evenings. It's a pleasant 15 minute walk down to the town. The walk back up is reasonably challenging though and takes about 20 minutes. We found it an effective way to burn off the pasta and wine so if you're reasonably fit it's good fun. A taxi back up will cost €15.

Villa Angela is also well situated for a trip to Castelmola. Buses travel there but the walk up to the town is great and you will get amazing views over the south of Sicily and across to Italy. It's about 25 minutes walking up there and 15 or so back to the hotel.

The only slight disappointment we had was with the breakfast, which was average. Although again, you quickly forget that as you enjoy it on the terrace overlooking Etna.

Would definitely stay again if returning to Taormina. Grazie!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank djsage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#6 of 87 in Taormina
1,895 reviews
1 mi away
VOI Grand Hotel Mazzaro Sea Palace
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#5 of 87 in Taormina
917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#8 of 87 in Taormina
1,380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Excelsior Palace Hotel
Excelsior Palace Hotel
#21 of 87 in Taormina
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range: £166 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing