We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the oneill,s fantastic”
Review of Hotel Villa Angela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Angela
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Taormina
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
1 review
“the oneill,s fantastic”
Reviewed 24 July 2009

just returned from a fantastic week at the hotel villa anglea' manager paul and his staff cound,t made us feel any more welcome. hotels pool&accomadation &food were excellant. and the view of enta from the hotel were stunning. taormina itself was great and hope to return in future

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowOneills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    111
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
135
571
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2009

My husband and I and our 11 month old son, Benjamin recently stayed at the Villa Angela. We were a little concerned that we may disrupt the ambiance of the hotel, but we need not have worried. The staff could not do enough for us, and were so helpful. Our son had his own little seat at meal times and the chef regularly made him small portions of food. Katherine was amazing and nothing was a problem for her, right down to arranging a taxi to pick us up, when we didn't know exactly where we were!

The hotel itself is beautiful and the views are fantastic. The pool is lovely and we were regular visitors! There is a mini-bus service down to the town, which is well worth the 30 euros each (that was for 2 weeks) and sometimes on the morning buses we were the only ones using it - but that was again no problem.

We had a wonderful time in Taormina and met some really lovely people. We highly recommend the Villa Angela Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thekellysDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Picked this hotel largely because of TripAdvisor. Was not disappointed. Beautiful hotel - we loved the room, the breakfast, the pool area, and the service. The views were utterly, utterly stunning - I took at least one photo of Etna every morning at 7 am when it was very clear. Paid about £160 a night for 7 nights through Thomson. A couple of small criticisms: (i) our room had a lovely terrace facing Etna but it was unusable between 1 and 7 pm because no shade was provided; (ii) the expensive (20 euros each!) shuttle bus system worked well but we were disappointed one evening to be told that the 7 pm bus was "full" (it's a 5-minute run, so why not just do it twice if needed?); (iii) water in July is an essential, so I think the hotel should not charge 3 euros for it in the pool area; and (iv) weren't we promised a bottle of Prosecco on our arrival? Taormina was even more beautiful than we expected. I regret not finding D. H. Lawrence's villa; check out his poem "Snake", composed in Taormina and published in 1923.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProfessor34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We recently stayed for 10 days at Villa Angela. During our stay we visited a number of other hotels (also with high rankings on trip advisor) and we still strongly believe the Villa Angela is the best. The pool is beautiful and the views are breathtaking (well worth the trek to get to the hotel).

Tips:
- If you feel comfortable to do so, hire a scooter (approx 30 euro a day). Well worth it and gives you the freedom to visit nearby towns, head down to town etc at your own leisure. If you don't feel comfortable riding on Italian roads, there is a shuttle bus option for guests at 20 euro pp per week.
- Visit Alcatara Gorge and take your bathers (even though they say you can't swim everyone does and the water is crystal clear and very fresh!)
- Visit Isola Bella beach, its the prettiest beach by far and very relaxing to visit for the whole day. All beaches are stone so definitely buy some crocs or surf shoes before you leave (or you can buy some fake ones for 5 euro which are sold at the beach)
- Tirasmu restaurant is fantastic. Ask the hotel for the address. We went to many restaurants and this was by far the best, especially the steak with mushrooms. Just delicious.

Hope this helps. Have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaudiaBrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, Uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Recently returned from a week's stay at the Villa Angela. This is a lovely hotel situated above Taormina town and the views are amazing.

We received a warm welcome and were more than happy with our room, nicely decorated and spacious.
The pool area is on the small side but many guests chose to relax on their terrace so this wasn't a problem. Nice loungers, clean pool and cold water from a fridge if you needed it (3 euros).
TIP!! You have to pay for the water - if you walk up the road, you can get the same water from a kiosk next to the Pizza restaurant at a third of the price. Not a bad saving considering we had two bottles a day.
Breakfast was good (ham, cheese, pastries, fresh fruit etc) but after a week this did get boring. It would have been nice if the hotel had put something a bit different on every few days - something hot. There is only so much ham and cheese one person can eat!
Lunch was also good, a limited amount of choice but fresh and reasonable value for money. We noticed that the food was better when the chef was working. On a couple of occasions he was 'off' and the food wasn't as nice.

The hotel provides a shuttle bus facility (20 euros pp per week) and we used it many times. The walk into Taormina is much easier than we expected. It takes about 20 minutes (if you go very slowly) and the views are stunning. It's not all steps and many many people do it of all ages. The walk takes you right onto the Corso Umberto. Please don't miss out on this walk down to town, you even get to see views of the Greek Theatre.

There were a couple of areas for improvement which may not echo the words of previous trip advisor guests but I am always honest and believe in giving honest feedback.

The rooms were 'cleaned' every day but not thoroughly. The bed was made and towles changed but sinks were not cleaned properly and things like shampoo/shower gel not replaced. Not a major hassle but still noticable.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Paul (Jim's brother) however can be too noticable. Most days as you were enjoying the calm and tranquility of the surroundings, all you could hear was him! He's loud and likes to be heard. Don't get me wrong, he's a nice guy but he should step back a little. Every lunch time he was entertaining people or telling members of staff to do jobs but we actually found his presence annoying. Sorry - but it's a classy little place and he spoiled it at times.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and had a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Razztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton,Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Just returned from 1 week stay at Villa Angela and we would definitely go back.

Arriving at Catania airport is an absolute nightmare on a Saturday,took 2 hours to retrieve the bags as there were 5 different flight arrivals on the 1 conveyer belt and no order was in place so it was a free for all.

The hotel is stunning with the best views in Taormina on offer as each room has the exact same breathtaking views.
Paul and his staff are so welcoming and really do give you personal service and can arrange anything for you.As others have said,the pasta at lunchtime is the best in Taormina giving you a break from the lovely pool and terrace.
Rooms are better than average with great balconies overlooking the sea,towns and Etna,and all have mini bar.
Breakfast was typical Sicilian with meats/cheeses/grilled vegetables.

Taormina,as expected,was absolutely beautiful but extortionate for food and drink,with starters no less than 10euros or local bottled beer at 8 euros so be prepared to spend high.

All in all if you are planning a trip to Sicily,stay at Villa Angela.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hafc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We stayed at Villa Angela for 4 nights upon our arrival in Sicily. What a fantastic experience. Our room, one of the Etna Suites, had awesome views of Mt. Etna and Naxos Bay. At night I could see the red hot lava on the mountain. Katherine and her staff could not have been more helpful. Our luggage was delayed; the staff called all around to check on it's whereabouts. The following day, while we were driving to Catania, I got a call to say that our bags had arrived and that they would be in our room when we got back. My wife inadvertently left some clothes there. When we discovered the loss a week later, I e-mailed Katherine; she had found them and was holding them. She posted them to our home and they arrived within 5 days of the posting.

The staff makes you feel right at home from the minute you arrive and throuhout your stay. If I get back to Sicily, I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockrolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taormina hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Taodomus
Hotel Taodomus
#4 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
Belmond Grand Hotel Timeo
#3 of 88 in Taormina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Schuler
Hotel Villa Schuler
#7 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
0.9 mi away
Panoramic Hotel
Panoramic Hotel
#10 of 88 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angela

Property: Hotel Villa Angela
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 71E, 98039, Taormina, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Messina > Taormina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Taormina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Angela 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super-friendly boutique hotel with only 27 rooms and an intimate, informal atmosphere ensuring that every guest feels instantly at home. Set in a tranquil location above Taormina with spectacular views that stretch from the crystal clear waters of the Ionian Sea all the way to the top of the volcano, magnificent Mount Etna, and up to the picturesque, medieval hilltop village of Castelmola, Villa Angela is a wonderful example of welcoming Sicilian hospitality. Enjoy delicious buffet breakfasts and authentic Sicilian lunches on our panoramic poolside restaurant terrace. With swimming pool and free car park, Villa Angela offers an unforgettable vacation in romantic rooms (all with free wi-fi, air conditioning/heating, furnished balconies and breathtaking views) amidst the warmth and hospitality of a splendid Sicilian residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Villa Angela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Angela Taormina, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing